We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for an Aman..”
Review of Amanwana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amanwana
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moyo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I have now stayed at most of the original Aman resorts including all the ones in Bali. I have even skied at Amangani which I rate as one of the best ski hotels in the world (read my report). When I was in Northern India, I visit the Aman for tiger viewing and it was unique too, like most Amans.

However, this Aman is a touch disappointing. Here is my rating in bullet point form so you don't waste time and make the right decision to spend your hard-earned savings:

a) Accommodation: tents are spacious for tents. But they are dated and need refurbishment/replacement. Canopies are worn and interiors are dated. What is worst is that there were all varieties of insects especially large ants that enjoyed sharing our bed at night.. if you detest creepy crawlies, this isn't your type of resort!

b) Food: good but nothing special. The chef tried his best to cover all tastes and was v nice. But nothing that stuck out and booze was the typical high prices.

c) Recreation: I know there is an Aman boat you can enjoy but apart from that, there's really not much to do here. There is a small beach and pool area (where you can have nice lunches) but apart from that, that's it! Having said that, some people like doing nada so if that's you, then enjoy the solitude and peace...

d) Service: this was good as for all Aman resorts. Staff try their hardest to keep things clean though this is naturally a challenge in this jungle outpost!

Overall, this was a pretty unimpressive resort. It's quaint but should be part of a longer trip where you can also stay at one of the fantastic Amans in Bali. Also, don't come in winter time when it's cloudy every day and is constantly raining. That will make this location pointless..

Personally, I prefer Amanpulo in the Philippines which is spectacular and truly benefits from it's secluded location. Go check that out as well as the alternatives in Bali..

Room Tip: If you really must come to stay here, then try to get a tent right by the beach..
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Titillator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Amanwana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 53 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

What a great boat! If you’re contemplating a luxurious cruise in an exotic locale, you can’t go wrong booking. The staff and accommodations are superb, the water is flat (I get seasick, so this is a blessing), and the diving, especially on the last day (if coming from Moyo) is unbelievably fantastic! You can dive as little or as much as you want. I dove non-stop and I took/passed the advanced diver course (courses are offered on the boat).

Attached are some pictures to help cast the flavor. I was on the Komodo itinerary. I saw one dragon, but it was at the village kitchen, not in the wild. Visiting Komodo Island is the equivalent of a visit to the villagers' botanical garden followed by a 100 meter dash through their knick knack dragon shopping gauntlet. If you specifically choose this itinerary to see dragons, prepare to be disappointed. If you choose this itinerary because you want to experience great diving, a great manta ray snorkel experience, and the potential to see dragons, come on board!

Thanks Gaz, the staff, Aman, and my friends for a great (and really fun) experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScotterP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I was travelling with my son in late 2012, love the setting and the beach front tent room is unique setting. It's really a great experience to Visit Moyo Island, Choice of menu for Lunch or Dinner could be extend. otherwise Perfect.

Room Tip: Beach Front Tent room is recommeded
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Made A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The hotel was wonderful great staff. The tents on the beach we loved we had unit #16 right next to the water. Perfect location. My advise is to go away from the front lobby a bit but then you have to walk more so your call. The GM was wonderful super informative and friendly. The waterfall hike was amazing. It was our honeymoon but not our first time at Aman's. Food was fresh and good housekeeping staff perfect. The one negative was the cost of the flight to get to Amanwana

Room Tip: Room on beach better view :)
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmm641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

During a 2 month trip thru Asia my girlfriend and I spend 5 amazing days at Moyo Island. From the arrival to departure the staff of Amanwana led by the GM Livio could not have been more attentive and focused on nothing else but to make the guests happy . The tents are well kept , spacious and better then many 5 star hotel rooms I have stayed in . Excellent food but the highlight was an Italian dinner cooked by the GM just for us . Thank you Livio and his crew . We would come back in a heartbeat if it wouldn't be half around to world to get there

Room Tip: The oceanfront tents
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flyingplumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyo Island
26.4 km away
Samawa Transit Hotel
Samawa Transit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sumbawa Besar
45 reviews
17.5 km away
Samawa Seaside Cottages
Samawa Seaside Cottages
#1 of 24 in Sumbawa
39 reviews
0.0 km away
Sunset Moyo Bungalows
Sunset Moyo Bungalows
#2 of 3 in Moyo Island
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 km away
Kencana Beach Cottages
Kencana Beach Cottages
#3 of 4 in Sumbawa Besar
16 reviews
26.4 km away
Hotel 99
Hotel 99
#2 of 4 in Sumbawa Besar
12 reviews
0.0 km away
Davi Homestay
Davi Homestay
#1 of 3 in Moyo Island
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanwana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanwana

Address: Moyo Island 84301, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Moyo Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moyo Island
Price Range: $834 - $1,406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanwana 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanwana (peaceful forest) is the only resort located on the island of Moyo, a nature reserve east of Bali. Set on a beach in a secluded cove overlooking the Flores Sea, Amanwana is a wilderness hideaway with accommodation in luxury tents. The protected marine park offers some of the best scuba diving and snorkelling in Indonesia. Amanikan is the camp's 32-metre coastal cruiser which hosts adventures to Rinca and Komodo islands where the legendary Komodo dragons can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amanwana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanwana Hotel Moyo Island
Amanwana Hotel Sumbawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing