We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb”
other travellers have booked this property
Tranquility. Found.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tranquility. Found.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Tranquility. Found.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cherence-Le-Roussel, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sightseer...
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I'd never been to France before or driven abroad but no worries it was great, stayed at La Herpiniere for five days, excellent good accommodation I already knew Debbie and Robin but they couldn't have been better hosts or done more for us, the gardens are superb and being set in the countryside was so peaceful and quiet. Well located for touring Normandy and surrounding area . For a nice relaxing break you couldn't beat it.
Would I go again, certainly

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Thanks. It was lovely to see you again and hopefully we will meet again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
car0lineg...
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect getaway.”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Wonderful country location and a very cosy, clean and homely gite - a perfect base to explore from and to relax in. A gorgeous garden surrounds the property giving a lovely outlook which adds to the charm. Debbie and Robin were the perfect hosts and it was nice to have them nearby to answer any questions. We look forward to returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2017
Thank you Caroline and Paul. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyMer...
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
“''Beautiful homely gite in tranquil setting''”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Perfect base to explore the region in any season with many attractions on your door step including St Malo and Mt St Michel. It took us under 2 hours from Cherbourg to reach with no tolls to pay. We were made very welcome on arrival with our two dogs. The gite is homely, well equipped and very privately set in stunning grounds. The perfect place to unwind and and enjoy the tranquility. Would recommend to anyone!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again. Good luck!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina L
1 review
“Fantastic, cute home from home gite with everything you need in a rural location.”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Lovely clean well-equipped gite, warm, cozy and home from home. Owners were really friendly and really helpful and accommodating. Lovely rural location, so pretty, quiet and romantic. Great location for stargazing too. A must if you want some time out and peace.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2017
Thank you for you comments and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meander88...
1 review
“A wonderful property in the heart of rural Normandy with great hosts”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in July 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful week staying at the beautiful La Herpiniere and seeing lots of the Normandy countryside. The gite, a former farmhouse with stone walls and beamed ceilings, is very comfortable, peaceful and well equipped with everything you need from kitchen appliances to outdoor games equipment.

Debbie and Robin were wonderful hosts, answering all our questions ahead of our stay, calling to see if we were OK when we got lost on the way and giving us a guided tour of the extensive grounds and their fruit and veg garden - our daughter loved feeding the fish in the pond and keeping an eye out for the bunnies roaming the grassy acres around the cottage in the mornings.

There is plenty to see and do in the area - we regularly visited the heated swimming pool in nearby Mortain before enjoying great value lunches at Hotel de la Poste and L'Abbaye Hotel.

The excellent weather meant we spent a few afternoons on the sandy beach at Jullouville and visited Mont-Saint-Michel, as well as joining the locals at the horse races at nearby Vire.

All in all our week at La Herpiniere was very relaxing and we would love to return.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you all again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing