We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,155)
Filter reviews
1,155 results
Traveller rating
595
410
99
36
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
595
410
99
36
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun squaremonte casinovalue for moneyopen planrooms are smalltsogo sunbreakfast was excellentenjoyable staybusiness tripeasy accessone night staywedding anniversarypiazzamontecasinotheatretoiletteatro
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 1,155 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

I stayed here for ten nights on an extended business trip. The rooms are well-appointed, quiet, and comfortable. As a business traveler, I particularly liked the positioning of the desk such that you could look out the window as you worked. The breakfast was quite nice, as were the dinners I enjoyed at the hotel restaurant. The proximity to dozens of other restaurants, a casino, shops, and even a small bird-centric zoo, make this a great place to stay if you don't want to drive everywhere. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms offer better views, facing the complex is better, but a bit louder.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BSchug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of your ten night stay at Sun Square Monte Casino.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all that Monte Casino complex had to offer.

We sure hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Sun Square Monte Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We only spent one night at the hotel but the service was excellent: courteous and professional. The room was in pristine condition and I loved the personalised welcoming note. I would definitely recommend SunSquare as superior value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank schaller2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Sun Square Monte Casino.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and found everything so welcoming.

We sure hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Sun Square Monte Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I cannot compare the service of this Tsogo Sun Hotel to any other, there merely was no service, not even to mention room service. Definitely not the welcoming stay we are used to. My 3 night stay changed to 2 nights.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank 414jeanettea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Jeanette,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Sun Square Hotel.

Unfortunately being a limited service hotel, we do not have porters to assist you with luggage to your room. We do however have luggage trolleys available to try and assist with this.

I understand that as a single parent with a baby this would have been inconvenient to you as you had more than just one piece of luggage and a pram that needed to get to your room.

We will ask security to alert us from the parking lot as to when they see guests need someone to assist them like in your case.

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Sun Square Monte Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Overall a good stay - except for the noise from. The Piazza for kids entertainment outside room window ... Great for Families.. SUFFOCATING OVERPOWERING aroma from fresheners used in corridors and common areas .. Instills a headache .. Very small lifts cLose too fast.. Very good for live theatre and entertainment Lots of choices of restaurants coffee.. fee shops etc etc . No need to drive at night in Jhb

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Raaz253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Sun Square Monte Casino.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We do have rooms that are not facing the slightly more noisy Piazza for guests who prefer a very quiet room. We will gladly allocate you one of these should you stay again in future.

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Sun Square Monte Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Absolutely fantastic stay.In the heart of Monte Casino.Lots of restaurants and eateries around.Wonderful ambiance with friendly staff.Lots to do during the day and in the evenings .Piazza area is really vibey.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Nickmahomed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Sun Square Monte Casino.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and all the Casino complex had to offer.

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Sun Square Monte Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews