We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,016 results
Traveller rating
561
218
118
78
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
561
218
118
78
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michelin star restaurant manor house amuse bouche the past years beautiful terrace world class fabulous place first rate st remy junior suite amazing experience glass of wine old village yogurt setting grounds goats
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,016 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We stayed two nights at this wonderful hotel in a small valley created by the wonderfully strange porous rock formations of the Baux de Provence. The medieval city, atop of one of the cliffs, is invisible from the hotel itself, and so are the throngs that come to visit each day. This hotel is a bit of a cross between a boutique and a resort. It is divided into two properties separated by about a kilometer. Our room was in the smaller property, which is part of the older building which houses the 2-Michelin-star restaurant (Osteau, see my other review) the gift shop, a pool and lounging area, and perhaps the most lovely rooms on the property. Ours was one of the rooms highlighted by the owners in the in-room booklets that tell the history of the hotel, a very modern room with high ceilings, a terrace, and a full grown tree (inside the room). The terrace was lovely in the mornings and evenings, and having breakfast and room service dinner there was a treat.
The one-kilometer walk to the main property makes for a lovely walk. Unfortunately, the path is not terribly well marked (as in, not at all) and a gate that requires a code can be frustrating if one does not get instructions beforehand; but after one knows one’s way it is a lovely walk through the (relatively, 19th century) newer part of the town. The lack of markings for this path and the inability to simply use our room key to open the gate between the properties are my main complaints about this hotel. Which is to say I have few complaints.
The larger property hosts lovely formal and informal gardens, a fabulous Provençal herb garden, a larger pool, spa (which we did not try out) a play yard for children, a goat pen, and a second, less formal restaurant (which we also did not try). It has a few tennis courts, at least one of which was in disrepair.
The property is truly lovely, even though a few corners of it seem like they could use a bit more love (read investment). However, the property is so large that this is little surprise. It is a magical place and truly worth the trip. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean André C, Propriétaire at Baumaniere les Baux-de-Provence, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear R S,

Thanks again for your new comments, I apologize for our lack of information about the Gate code.

With best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We stayed two nights, the room was excellent. Missing nothing. We ate at both the restaurants and enjoyed both. The more formal had more interesting food. The casual one, great simple cooking. You can easily spend two/ three day here. Excellent ground to walk around and the famous village is close by too. Quiet and restful.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul and Janett... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean André C, Propriétaire at Baumaniere les Baux-de-Provence, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear Paul and Janett,

It is great to know that you were happy with us, I am looking forward to your next visit for a new experience.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

The Manoir house and the grounds are very pretty. We were there at the end of the season, so it was quiet and still lots of green. Great landscapes and surrounding. Nice heated pool area for an afternoon swim or nap. AC unit in the room was noisy, and running pool fountain kept us awake all night.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank freelizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean André C, Propriétaire at Baumaniere les Baux-de-Provence, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear freelizz,

Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the noise of the A/C and the fountain. We have a special property with 54 rooms, all very different in shape, decoration and locations. If you were to come back to Baumanière, please ask our Reservation department for the digital room book. It shows all pictures of our 54 rooms to help you choose upon your preferences.

With Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Ok here are the pro's and con's
Pro's
- Great restaurant and food!
- Great location
- Good overall hotel and grounds were immaculate
- Room was good, nice, quiet, clean, big bathrooms, comfortable and air conditioner worked great

Best experiences at Hotel..
- Eating at the 2 star - really great!!
- Jumping into the pool at the end of the day to cool off after hiking around Provence. Don't under estimate this benefit, it's hot in Provence!
- Opening the windows and letting the breeze blow through in the evenings
- Nice and quiet at night

Con's - Just one, service was a bit off for a 5 star. Below are some funny examples
1. Ordered coffee in the morning for the room - they forgot milk (and we specifically asked for milk too). That was the whole order....coffee. Hard to slip that up..

2.Ordered dinner for the room one night, while they brought the salads, they forgot the main course. Note the quality of food is great were just talking about minor service slips. I highly recommend the chicken from room service, ITS AWESOME!

3. Ordered tea another morning, they forgot the tea and bought just hot water, then they took the hot water, dumped a tea bag in it and returned. Of course by then hot water was cold. On the 3rd attempt they then changed the tea from French Breakfast Tea to Earl Grey. Overall this was pretty funny not only because it took 3 attempts to still get tea wrong but really because the day before I got a lecture from them that the French don't serve English tea (when I mistakenly ordered English Breakfast Tea) and they only have French Tea. I mean that's funny, you can't make this stuff up. For the record however French Breakfast tea IS better than English.

4. My wife speaks fluent french and comfortable where ever we go (accent is even ok, albeit verb congregation is a bit off) but staff refused to respond to her French, which was again funny, so we switched to English (which is no problem for us) but only about half of the staff speaks English. At first we thought it was some joke they were playing on us but no they were serious. Would have been really funny if it was a joke btw.

5. On check in, they offered to confirm our lunch reservation for next day and were told that we didn't have one, so we rebooked lunch, no problem. But come to find out later that our original reservation was in the system the whole time so we had two reservations. Again no problem for us but I think they were 100% booked that day and an empty table is a loss for them (its not a place you put your name on a list and hope for a cancellation). For the record we took the early time, we were hungry and the food was great!

I understand taken in isolation these are very minor slips and this is France, we understand and laugh these off just as easily but there were too many for "5 star" service.

Overall great hotel, no major issues but need to tighten up the service.

Room tip: They have multiple buildings maybe worth understanding exactly what room your in. Also stair cases are creaky.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean André C, Propriétaire at Baumaniere les Baux-de-Provence, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Trevor C,

Thank you for your comment, I am really surprised with the unusual experience you had, would you mind to contact me on satisfaction@baumaniere.com? I would love to exchange a bit more with you to enquire further on.

I present you all my apologies for our incredible service mistakes.

With Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

We were on a Backroads hiking trip and were booked at this hotel. Our room was beautifully decorated and very large. We loved all the fabrics that were used and the bathroom features are modern. The shower is huge almost like another room. The amenities are lovely and fragrant. The setting of the hotel is magical. They have swans and ducks and goats on the grounds . The food was very good with lots of options. I am sad we only stayed one night.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean André C, Propriétaire at Baumaniere les Baux-de-Provence, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear FLB,

Thank you for your comments, we were extremely happy to host you, do not hesitate for a next booking to ask to our Reservation department to consult the Digital Room book. All our 54 rooms are different in size, location and decoration.

With Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews