We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Surrey, BC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

They have a pool area that is nice. Also have a separate games room for kids but most, if not all, of the stuff there is old and broken unfortunately. The breakfast that came with our night's stay was quite decent. The main check in building is definitely nicer than the area where the rooms are. We were told at check in that they were going to upgrade us to a better room from the one we were assigned. I would have hate to have seen the one we were going to get. What we got was decent but nothing fancy. We are BW Diamond status so I thought it may have been due to that.

Room Tip: Perhaps check to see a room before hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    206
    101
    35
    16
See reviews for
150
168
39
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Angus, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

The room was one of the renovated rooms. It was very spacious, the bed was comforatable with lots of pillows. The breakfast was good as they made to order omeletes. It had a good variety of food. The thing I am impressed about this hotel the most is, it constantly works to improve. I have stayed at this hotel several times over the years. I have stayed in every type of room in this hotel. The new section, renovated section and the lower floors in the back area. The renovated rooms I have stayed in, usually the King, I probably like the best as they are spacious and have a (homier) feel to them. The new rooms are beautiful and there are not problems with them I just prefer the renovated rooms. The lower back rooms, the last time I stayed at them, had comfy beds with duvets but they were small. Also when I stayed in them a few years ago, it felt a bit like a dungeon. At the time the hallway walls were dirty and it just didn't feel comfortable even getting to your room. I am from Comox but am in the military. I remember when the Westerly opened, so I am impressed, although a few hiccups over the years, that they have changed and kept up with the times. Great work Westerly.

Room Tip: choose a renovated room or the new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this great hotel. All our needs were met and surpassed. The large room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The breakfasts exceeded our expectations - the custom made omelets were a real treat! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The extras such as free WiFi, morning paper, and clean remote were much appreciated. We will definitely stay here next time we are in Courtenay!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as the hotel is located on the main road and near the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The best part about this property has to be the staff. Everyone I met, from the desk clerk and the housekeeper, to the breakfast waitress and the young man who helped with the internet connection were all genuine and very accommodating.
The room was immaculately clean and contained everything I needed including wireless internet and a comfortable bed. This was a business trip for me and I consider this a solid business hotel. There were no frills, but the hotel is centrally located, and the room is well equipped. My room was by the river, and while the view was nice, light sleepers should be aware that the noise from the bridge was audible throughout the night.
Breakfast was included and the hot choices included eggs, omelets and waffles. A selection of pastries, cereal, yogurts and breads presented ample cold breakfast options as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EskarinaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This hotel definately has it all. Fine dining, cozy lounge, modern pub and very friendly staff! I stayed in the new wing and much to my delight...the room was fantastic and quiet. Bed comfy, bathroom spacious and modern. Food and service was top notch. The continental breakfast offered more then I expected..... I would stay herer again, for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 km away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
765 reviews
3.9 km away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
490 reviews
1.2 km away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
378 reviews
7.9 km away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel
Address: 1590 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Courtenay
#1 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Family Hotel in Courtenay
Price range (per night): $116 - $205
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtenay's Only Full-Service Hotel Centrally Located in the Heart of the Comox Valley our location offers convenient access to all that Comox Valley has to offer. Our property features 139 guestrooms and suites, inclusive of our newer 36 room Mountainside wing. We are pleased to provide high-speed wireless Internet, local phone calls and parking. We have three on-site food & beverage outlets including a restaurant, lounge and pub and Specialty Liquor Store. Additional hotel facilities include a heated in-door pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness facilities, business centre, ski & bike storage, guest coin laundry, games room, sports team locker rooms and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Westerly Hotel And Convention Centre
Best Western Courtenay
Courtenay Best Western
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing