We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, Organic, Cozy and Friendly”
Review of Double Black

Double Black
Ranked #9 of 64 Restaurants in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 0 - USD 14
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Inspired by the mountains we love, live and play in, Double Black is a repose for those who seek a life of adventure. A fusion of café intimacy and big mountain lifestyle is sure to satisfy the intrepid. From the food to the coffee or the ale, nothing escapes our search for the finest products. With over 10 years of international coffee experience, the baristas serve the highest standard of caffeinated drinks. Using the award winning beans from local producer Kicking Horse Coffee, our cup of joe is far from average. The plates are plentiful and presented gracefully using fresh natural products. If ale is your poison, we hold a mouth watering array of local microbrews. If the Horse has chosen you, Double Black is the only location worthy of your presence.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Excellent sandwiches, soups, chili and Chai. Must go in Kicking Horse. Best food in several miles. Friendly staff and cozy atmosphere. Great for a relaxed apres ski. Try the avocado toast and chill!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tristan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaphneeS-P, General Manager at Double Black, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hi Tristan, thank you for those kinds words! Hoping to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Great coffee. Varieties of coffee to fit any taste.
Delicious dishes for lunch or snack between runs in the slopes.
Great place for breakfast.
Very casual and yet pleasant atmosphere.

Thank Ivan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Visited Kicking Horse today. Had breakfast, lunch and afternoon coffees and cakes at the Double Black. Love this cafe. Coffee fabulous, breakfast bagels delicate and well presented, chilli con carne fantastic.
Staff are excellent, pleasant, attentive and remembered our names.
If this place was in a city it would be a gold mine.

Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaphneeS-P, Manager at Double Black, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Thank you so much for those kind words! Hoping to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Double Black is a total gem. They expertly and beautifully prepare espresso drinks and they have the best latte in Golden. The London Fog is awesome and they have a delicious rainbow of smoothies in the summer. Their menu is full of interesting offerings that make use of lots of fresh ingredients (e.g., spiralized beets, arugula, avocado). Their saganaki burger is amazing and I also love the flatbread pizzas that they serve after 3:00 p.m. There's so many more menu items I can't wait to try and, to me, that is the sign of an excellent restaurant. I also appreciate the details that make it a neat place to visit including their use of birch paper straws and a library of awesome coloring books (e.g., magical cities) for kids to enjoy. I don't even ski but my family and I travel up to Kicking Horse Mountain just to have lunch at the Double Black - it is that good! Try it and you'll fall in love too.

Thank Phil and Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaphneeS-P, Manager at Double Black, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Waw!!! Thank you for that! Happy to see that you like our place as much as we do! See you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Food is expensive and crappy in ski lodges, right? WRONG! This would be my regular haunt if it was in my neighbourhood. Great coffee, beer on tap, super sandwhiches and soups, tempting treats. Eat and drink here every day you ski at Kicking Horse. Do it more than once, seriously, it's good. Outside patio is right by the Gondola, gets afternoon sun. So nice. Service is great. Kudos team!

Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaphneeS-P, Manager at Double Black, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Thank you John, we are hoping to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Double Black also viewed

 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Double Black? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing