We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
93
15
12
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
93
15
12
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurant downstairs hot tub short walk to the gondola rooms are large nice bathroom stayed here for nights ski trip excellent stay long weekend yogurt casks lodge skiing hill lodging slopes repair
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Lady at reception very nice and helpful. Room large, and bathroom small. However, first class shower. Dinner in the Lodge's restaurant was very good and the hostess was really pleasant and helpful. Breakfast wasn't home cooked as advertised, more European style with cold cuts and cheeses.
Our stay was definitely spoiled by the discovery of a large clipped toenail, found on the carpeted floor beside the bed! Scooped the nasty up and presented it, in a Kleenex to reception. She was horrified, of course. Checking out the manager/owner apparently knew nothing of our experience and commented just a little. Didn't apologize in any shape or form! Our experience there makes us say to others, although .food was fairly good, give this place a miss as toenails left by previous guests do not phase out the management!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHL_owner, Owner at Copper Horse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2015

I am sorry to read that a nail clipping ruined the entire experience at the lodge for you. We have an independent contractor that does all of our housekeeping and your concern is most certainly a great concern to me as well. I am sorry if you felt I did not address your feedback appropriately at the time of your check out. The experience and comfort of our guests is extremely important to us and our housekeeping contractor feels the same as well. We will do our best to maintain the highest standards in cleanliness and comfort as well as service for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015

After 2 nightmare stays at the Palliser Lodge (not recommended), we decided to spend a little more and stay at Copper Horse Lodge. This was a very good decision - gorgeous spot, clean, very friendly, large rooms and bathrooms, great views and a delicious breakfast included in the price. Our only regret was that we decided to go over the road to Winstons for dinner instead of dining in our lodge. As with previous visits to Winstons, the service is incredibly slow (over an hour to get the starter) and the food is pretty average. It's such a shame as it looks great from the outside, but always disappoints. We would highly recommend the Copper Horse Lodge, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaBorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHL_owner, Owner at Copper Horse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Thanks for the great review. We look forward to having you back and we definitely recommend trying our restaurant Corks the next time you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our way home from visiting Alberta. I had the best sleep in six days of being away. Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. It's a bit of a drive off the highway but completely worth it the extra 15 minutes. The lodge is located in a ski resort and is a short walk from the gondola - if we had arrived earlier in the day we would have liked to ride to the top. Overall, this lodge has a relaxed and casual feeling about it which suited us perfectly.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cultus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHL_owner, Owner at Copper Horse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2015

Great to read that you had the best sleep of your summer road trip at Copper Horse Lodge. Hopefully on your next trip you can explore Kicking Horse on the gondola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

our wonderful hostess next door, lori, at the vagabond lodge, made us reservations as soon as we walked in their door. when we walked over we were seated immediately. glass of water before we could bat an eye. wine ordered and food choosen. very good service, quiet and friendly. the pho with added prawns that i had was a huge bowl, way too much for me, especially after the basket of bread. my husband's chorizo pasta was the perfect size and yummy. we enjoyed the 1/2 litre of mt. boucherie chardonnay. a very pleasant eve, so glad they are open again!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank jarmwr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Hospitality,Felix the friendly owner/manager explicitly knows the meaning and importance of the word. From fabulously fresh breakfasts to thoughtful room arrangements, this lodge hits all the points for casual comfort, fine fare and delightful wines. We booked the entire lodge, 10 bedrooms, from a different province for a small family wedding. Upon arrival we were delighted! The reception was held in the downstairs restaurant, Corks, which is so convenient and the talented chef received an ovation for the wedding meal.The spotless bedrooms were spacious and well appointed, with really, really comfortable beds. Best place for a wedding as we only walked up the stairs at the end of the night. Many guests enthused that it would also be a fabulous spot for a family reunion with so many coming from afar. Summer in the Kicking Horse Mountains is all the better from Copper Horse Lodge. I hope to see it again, in the winter next time. I may learn to ski!

Room Tip: The suite room with the hot tub is huge and romantic…a perfect honeymoon room. Many of the rooms have king sized bedrooms.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Teri_McK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHL_owner, Owner at Copper Horse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2015

I am thrilled to read that you and the other members of your family were so happy with the stay at Copper Horse Lodge and the wedding reception at Cork's. I hope to see you in the winter for some skiing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews