We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Run down” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Super 8 Golden
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Run down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed one night at this motel as the better quality hotels were full due to tour buses and proximity of the national parks. Wish we hadn't as it needs complete revamp or rather rubbing out and starting again. Carpets stained. chairs stained. Sink and bath partially blocked so took ages for water to go down. Tiles in bathroom disgusting, grouting dark brown made you feel sick. The least amount of time spent in there the better. Towels paper thin and ready for the rag bag. Air conditioning erratic Pillows look as though they have been there since the year dot, should be dumped. The breakfast was a joke, no juices in the machine or rather a trickle of diluted orange in one part of machine. Coffee was like water Bread still in the wrapper. If the location of this motel wasn\t so good it would have shut down long ago. The rate they charge is very high not much less that better hotels in the area but as I say they were fully booked unfortunately. No I could not recommend this horrible place the only good thing about it is the lady on the front desk who seemed very nice. We couldn\t wait to get out..

Room Tip: dont bother with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Greatgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    64
    96
    53
    44
See reviews for
106
92
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
158 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Last weekend I did a quick overnight stop by myself. Remembered the Super 8 when it was new as being good.
The lady at the front desk was pleasant and I was glad to be away from road noise in a non-pet room.
But right away noticed the carpet needed a good clean so kept my sandals on. The towels were very small and thin. The bath towels were smaller than we use for hand towels at home.
The breakfast in the morning is poor so just walk over to one of the nearby restaurants. For example, the styrofoam cups are the size of a thimbles, the juice dispenser was empty, the bread for toast was put out in original store bags.

Room Tip: Ask for room that has not had pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2olddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Golden hotels

Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed at this super8 when it was plus 35 the ac in the room did not work. The front desk was closed. In the morning we explained what went on. Not a sorry or a discount offered. When I got home I called there head office to let them know, when they got in contact with this hotel, the hotel said I wAs not smart enough to use the ac!!! I was very upset by there actions and I was a loyal customer until then. well never book with a super eight ever again. But on the plus the room was clean but when paying for ac I want and don't like being called stupid

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinab1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

STAYED FROM JULY 17 to 18, 2011.
As we were lucky to get the kitchen suite, it was a very spacious, neat and clean room. The atmosphere was very peaceful. The young girl who attended to us in the evening of July 17, 2011 was very polite and courteous. The gentleman who checked us out was also very professional and courteous. Overall, a good experience and will recommend this motel to all friends and family.
Saleem Ansari
Ottawa, Ontario

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawa38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

we had planned to stay in Cochrane, but wanted to make better time on this leg of our trip, So changed our stay to Golden. Won't do that again. Place smelled smokey, did not look overly clean. Carpet may have been vaccuumed, but was past the point of ever being able to look good again. There was a jacuzzi, but my dad said he would not want any of my kids to go in it from the way it looked. Very substandard to all the Super 8's we stayed in through Alberta and Saskatchewan.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank chani_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
1.6 km away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.6 km away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.4 km away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
5.6 km away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Golden

Property: Super 8 Golden
Address: 1047 Trans Canada Hwy NO. 1 | Junction Highway 1 & 95, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price range (per night): $74 - $172
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC so you can book your Super 8 Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Golden Hotel Golden
Super Eight Golden
Golden Super Eight
Golden Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing