We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find! Perfect example of what Parksville has to offer.”
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Sands Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2010

My husband and I stayed here with our two kids and it was great. We had a view of the beach and of the pool from our second floor unit. The units are a decent size (not huge, but room enough for everyone) and they are well stocked with everything you need to cook with, including a bbq on the deck. The decor is functional and what you would expect from a condo rental. They units are all privately owned so the decor varies from room to room. You can see each room, including the views, on the Ocean Sands website. The ocean front units looked terrific -- they have incredible views out over the beach. We would have chosen those units, but we booked last minute and there was only one room left, but we were not disappointed. An added bonus was how friendly the woman was at check in. It started our stay off on the right foot. Having had a very bad experience at Ocean Trails earlier in the summer (do not waste your money there), we were very happy with our stay at Ocean Sands and we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 497 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

My sister and I stayed 3 nights here. Lovely ocean views, great walks on the beach below in low tide and a good, shallow place to swim in high tide. Tide goes out a LONG way here so it is easy to walk a great distance from this resort on the beach in low tide.
The beach is about a 1 minute walk down an inclined walkway so it may not be that accesible for those with mobility issues.
Condo was basic but clean, with good seperation between the 2 bedrooms. As people are walking by the walkway outside the bedrooms windows, we had our bedroom curtains and windows shut to feel safe.....wished we could have left the bedroom window open for breeze but there was good breeze from the ocean side so not a problem.

Pool is small and was busy with kids when we went there. This is a good resort for families, who can stay in units by the pool with lots of grassy area for the little ones. Yes, it may be a little dated and you can hear others walking by or on their balcony but it did not seem to be a problem for us. The views make up for it , at least from unit 113.

We had a minor technical problem in our unit on the 2nd night and Tim was there in 5 minutes flat to help us out, Tim and Kristy, staff, were extremely pleasant and helpful throughout our stay.

I would happily return to this lovely spot in Parksville.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolann1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

I don't usually leave feedback but I felt compelled to rave about this place. With 3 young kids, we thought this weekend was excellent. We are literally 100 ft from Tigh-na-mara. or twice the price, you get more. Our kitchen had a oven, stove, full fridge, dishwasher, vacuum when the kids trekked in sand. We stayed at 216 which from the pictures did not dissappoint. There is an elevator which we used to easily move our bags in. Tim at the front desk was VERY accomodating, always able to provide extra dishwasher tablets, plastic bags. They recycle paper, plastic, metal and glass which other facilities do not. Everyday our kids would walk downhill 5 minutes to the beach. our suite was very clean. Fridge looked like it was cleaned frequently and extra towels were always available. We had friends who stayed at Tigh-na-mara and they paid twice as much. our place was bigger and much brighter. Security was never a problem with special codes to get in and out. $1.25 (5 quarters) for a wash and dryer, important. The pictures at their website are recent and descriptions are accurate. Staff was professional. Grounds were well manicured. Bring a kite for kids and lots of beach toys. Fire place in the suite will keep you warm at night. Bring stuff to BBQ.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rutwalul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

I can't say enough great things about this place. We stayed over the Christmas week. The staff was always available and so helpful, the location was great, the suite was extreemly clean and the view was amazing. When they said "fully stocked" kitchen, they weren't kidding. There was every appliance needed, and then some. If we needed anything we just took a quick jog over to the office and was always met with smiling faces and alot of instant help. My son is four and he had the time of his life running up and down the beach. It was a 2 min drive to town for groceries or anything else we needed. Best of all, it was quiet! So close to town but so close to nature! At night all you could hear is the ocean, comming in from a city, this meant alot. Great value for your money. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ModelT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We just spent 2 weeks here in a lovely 1 bedroom condo - oceanfront, on the ground floor. It was perfect. Automatic replenishment of coffee, tea, salt, pepper, toilet paper, paper towels and garbage bags. Great access to a beautiful beach. Would love to stay here again. A great family spot.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merit51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.9 km away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
561 reviews
4.9 km away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
250 reviews
5.0 km away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,500 reviews
4.2 km away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.2 km away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 1165 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
#1 Best Value Hotel in Parksville
#1 Spa Hotel in Parksville
Price Range: $126 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Parksville
Ocean Sands Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing