We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sock & pet hair in bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Trails Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sock & pet hair in bed”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Well, let's put it this way. We were attracted to the "resort" for it's web advertised $99/night pricing and stayed 2 nights end of March, mid season of the year. First impression was nice, 2br suite with sky light in the kitchen, bright and roomy.
We made use of the kitchen and stay in to make our dinner and found that there's very little plates and cutlery, only to found entire dishwasher full of unwashed dishes. When bed time come, my friend found a dirty sock and sheets covered with pet hair.
Upon check out, we realized that we weren't charged with the advertised rate, but the regular mid season rate. When we asked about it, we were told all discounted room was booked and they weren't available.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne F, Manager at Ocean Trails Resort, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not completely satisfied with the service you received. Your comments come as a surprise to us as with other travellers reviews would attest, your experience here is not representative of how we operate. We are a pet free Resort and your comments regarding pet hair disturbs us. We do offer our guests specials from time to time, but these can sell out quickly and we suggest that travellers confirm rates when booking to confirm eligibility and availability. I would like some more details regarding your stay as this was not brought to the attention of the desk clerk at the time. Please contact me directly either toll free at 1-888-248-6212 or my direct email shannon@ocean-trails.com.

Many thanks in advance for giving us the opportunity to make amends


Shannon Maury
Hospitality Manager
Ocean Trails Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    73
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
136
30
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We loved our stay at Ocean Trails Resort in Parksville BC. Not only was the room great as it had a kitchenette. It was near many attractions. That's why we stay at Ocean Trails. The playground, tennis/basketball courts and beach are great for the kids. They spent lots of their time there. It's also close to the mini golf course and only a minute from town. It's also affordable, especially for a family of 6. That's why we have stayed at Ocean Trails 3 or 4 times. The room had 3 bedrooms, 2 family rooms, 2 bathrooms an eating area and kitchen and there was tons of space. We come to Parksville every spring break and when we do, more times than not, we stay here at the Ocean Trails Resort

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are large, quiet and cozy. Great for any large family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRMS_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woss
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We recently stayed at Ocean Trails for a hockey tournament weekend. This is the second time staying at Ocean Trails. Both times the rooms were clean, quiet and very pleasantly decorated. We had a 2 bedroom suite and enjoyed having the room to spread out. It is much nicer than staying in a cramped hotel room with hockey gear for the same price, or less. Would love to come back in the summer time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We recently spent a week at Ocean Trails and thought it was excellent quality and value. We are planning to move to the Island and used Ocean Trails as our base camp to explore the area from Nanaimo to Comox. The central location made it an excellent jumping off point. Furnishing were great and made it easy to want to come back to prepare dinner. Rooms were very clean and the single unit was perfect for the 2 of us. Access to the beach was a little challenging but the 5 minute drive to Rathtrevor Beach gave us quick access to the best beach trails we have ever walked.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDon60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

If you look at the website, you are given the impression that the 'resort' is on the beach, or has beach views. Sadly, it does not. To get to the beach you have to walk through the Ocean Trails complex, then out a gate, then walk past the Madrona resort, then down a long and twisting steep ramp, then walk past the lower Madrona resort, and then you're at the beach.

If all you want is an inexpensive nice place to stay (especially in the summer season), the rooms are far nicer and in better condition than what you would expect for the price. I loved that our room had in room laundry. Unfortunately we did not have a dishwasher, which was disappointing. Our son loved the playground, and he was happy to hang out there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VancouverIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne F, Front Office Manager at Ocean Trails Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for posting your thoughts from your summer stay with us. We are very lucky to be situated on 7 beautiful acres in close proximity to popular Rathtrevor Beach, but would like to clear up any confusion by mentioning that we are located adjacent to the beach and our units do not have ocean views.

It's unfortunate that you felt you were given the wrong impression about our position relative to the beach, as we certainly do not want any of our guests to feel this way. We do try to ensure all of our wording states that we are located on the bluff above Rathtrevor Beach and that we offer a switchback ramp down to the water level of the beach from our property. We will continue to review our website to ensure the wording is not misleading.

We are so pleased to hear you were happy with our price point, as we do our best to keep the rates affordable for all, while offering well appointed, fully equipped condos. All units do come with in-suite washer & dryer, and our 2 and 3 bedroom units all have dishwashers. Please let the front desk agent know your requests (including a request for a unit with a dishwasher) when booking your reservation with us so that we can ensure you have the best possible stay.

We hope to see you again this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.4 km away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
492 reviews
4.3 km away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#9 of 13 in Parksville
215 reviews
0.5 km away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
1,183 reviews
0.2 km away
Beach Acres Resort
Beach Acres Resort
#2 of 9 in Parksville
179 reviews
0.4 km away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Trails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Trails Resort

Property: Ocean Trails Resort
Address: 1135 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Parksville
Price range (per night): $134 - $217
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Trails Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the bluff above world-famous Rathtrevor Beach, Ocean Trails Resort is an affordable, family friendly property consisting of bright, modern, one, two and three bedroom condominiums. Condos have fully equipped kitchens, fireplaces, cosy duvets, and a washer/dryer in every unit! We offer a seasonal outdoor pool, year round hot tub and tennis court,recreation area with complimentary BBQ area, sand volleyball, bocce, horseshoes, children's playground, complimentary internet in all units as well as WIFI onsite and unlimited access to Jim's Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Trails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Trails Hotel Parksville
Ocean Trails Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing