We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suffers from creative advertising”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Trails Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Suffers from creative advertising”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

If you look at the website, you are given the impression that the 'resort' is on the beach, or has beach views. Sadly, it does not. To get to the beach you have to walk through the Ocean Trails complex, then out a gate, then walk past the Madrona resort, then down a long and twisting steep ramp, then walk past the lower Madrona resort, and then you're at the beach.

If all you want is an inexpensive nice place to stay (especially in the summer season), the rooms are far nicer and in better condition than what you would expect for the price. I loved that our room had in room laundry. Unfortunately we did not have a dishwasher, which was disappointing. Our son loved the playground, and he was happy to hang out there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VancouverIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne F, Front Office Manager at Ocean Trails Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for posting your thoughts from your summer stay with us. We are very lucky to be situated on 7 beautiful acres in close proximity to popular Rathtrevor Beach, but would like to clear up any confusion by mentioning that we are located adjacent to the beach and our units do not have ocean views.

It's unfortunate that you felt you were given the wrong impression about our position relative to the beach, as we certainly do not want any of our guests to feel this way. We do try to ensure all of our wording states that we are located on the bluff above Rathtrevor Beach and that we offer a switchback ramp down to the water level of the beach from our property. We will continue to review our website to ensure the wording is not misleading.

We are so pleased to hear you were happy with our price point, as we do our best to keep the rates affordable for all, while offering well appointed, fully equipped condos. All units do come with in-suite washer & dryer, and our 2 and 3 bedroom units all have dishwashers. Please let the front desk agent know your requests (including a request for a unit with a dishwasher) when booking your reservation with us so that we can ensure you have the best possible stay.

We hope to see you again this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    75
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
137
35
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is a well maintained and family oriented resort. You do have to trek down to the beach and there are no ocean views but they have a great kids pool and lots of space to ride around on bikes. Good value for money. Our suite was immaculate.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriafamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This has been one of the most relaxed vacations that I have ever had. It is great for anyone. I had a cabin near the tennis court and I would recommend such a location to anyone (quiet, easy access, near the office, and exquisite interior). The beach is very close and a perfect place for relaxing walks. There's also a pool that's great for families. The cabins have a warm fuzzy feeling that really makes you never want to leave, but they're also trendy and clean. It is truly a home away from home!

Room Tip: The units near the tennis courts are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Was told about this place by a work friend and so glad we came. The staff were are super friendly and helpful, the condo's have everything we needed for a week, very well stocked and really clean. The beach is close by and the pool and playground kept the kids busy all week. We have booked for next year already! Thanks Ocean Trails

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We arrived at the lovely grounds of the Ocean Trails, just a tad early to check in and were offered use of the pool and changing facilities, and access to the beach. They gave us a ring as soon as our room was ready.

The facility is kept well-cleaned, freshly painted etc. We were pleased that it looked just as represented on the internet. Our son loved the playground!

The amenities provided in the room were excellent - everything there for a great stay, especially the kitchen items, to keep your costs down to spend on better things.

We enjoyed everything Parksville, Qualicum, Chemainus and up to Cathedral had to offer us for the week. The Lions playground is just fantastic - paradise for the little ones.
Rathtrevor beach is wonderful.

My only complaint, is that we were on a top suite (which I love!), however there were smokers staying below us, so we were unable to keep windows open, or use the balcony without that horrible stentch wafting up and into our suite. I would love it if smokers had to stay in their own wing, so non-smokers could be assured of breathing fresh air to enjoy their suite and balconies. (This does matter, due to the fact there is no airconditioning - which isn't really needed anyway - but having to keep the windows closed was a bummer).

Room Tip: I think you may get a quieter room away from the pool if you get a 2 or 3 bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcdragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne F, Front Office Manager at Ocean Trails Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your family getaway here at Ocean Trails Resort. Our staff are always pleased to hear such positive comments.

All of our unit's interiors are already non-smoking, but we are also investigating the possibility of having an outside smokers' area away from the units and activities areas.

Our resort is spread over seven acres and we would agree that most of the action is around the pool & playground area. The units situated away from the pool would be a great choice for someone looking for a little extra quiet time.

We hope to see you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.4 km away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
4.3 km away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#9 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.5 km away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.4 km away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
0.4 km away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Trails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Trails Resort

Property: Ocean Trails Resort
Address: 1135 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Parksville
Price range (per night): $142 - $212
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Trails Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the bluff above world-famous Rathtrevor Beach, Ocean Trails Resort is an affordable, family friendly property consisting of bright, modern, one, two and three bedroom condominiums. Condos have fully equipped kitchens, fireplaces, cosy duvets, and a washer/dryer in every unit! We offer a seasonal outdoor pool, year round hot tub and tennis court,recreation area with complimentary BBQ area, sand volleyball, bocce, horseshoes, children's playground, complimentary internet in all units as well as WIFI onsite and unlimited access to Jim's Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Trails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Trails Hotel Parksville
Ocean Trails Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing