We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
15
33
48
41
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
33
48
41
29
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017

would not resolve the problem with thousands on ants on the walkway into the lobby of the hotel, rundown lobby, old old box small TV, unprofessional staff.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

When we first checked in, she told me Booking messed up our booking. I requested 3 rooms with Queen size beds, 2 needs per room. We were assigned a one double bed, so my kids would have had to sleep on the floor. The lady without hesitation changed our room to two beds. However each room I think only has double size beds. They were not very comfortable, but we did sleep. The rooms get a bit stuffy and there are air conditioning.
Overall, the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Tutuhsuhtaaqsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Beds and bath were fine. The big issue was the AC right next to your head for sleeping. Both of us had to sleep at the other end of the bed. Good place to day trip to Tofino.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortAlberniHoJo, front desk at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017


sorry your stay wasnt great but as for a/cs they do make noice ive never had a quiet ac yet but sorry for your bad experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

The hotel was quite old and in need of repair. The rooms were sparse and the beds lumpy and soft. We took this room because we had no other options. There were no amenities, such as breakfast.
The lady at the front desk was very personable and courteous to us.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortAlberniHoJo, front desk at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

sorry you did not have a great stay. we are a older hotel with some issues under repair at the moment hope you give us a try again and we will give you our rooms with newer beds next time.we were a full house this last month and had to open older rooms that do need repair, so sorry about your experience with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

there were no screens on windows. Elevator broken and ice machine on third floor. the paint above sink in bathroom was peeling. Staff was not very helpful. Internet sucked.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews