We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Accomodations”
Review of Somass Motel & RV

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somass Motel & RV
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
249 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“First Rate Accomodations”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My family and I recenty had the pleasure of staying overnight at this property and we were very pleased. The one bedroom accomodation was very well eqipped (stove, fridge, and LCD TV!) and we felt right at home. Unfortunately we did not have the time to stay longer but we definitely we be looking up the Somass the next time we need a stayover in Port Alberni!

Room Tip: Get the one bedroom accomodation for privacy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernGuy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    47
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
55
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This old motel is almost across the street from Clutesi Marina and the Alberni Inlet where one can watch the fishers clean their catch or put out their gillnets. It is also an easy walk to old Alberni where there are several restaurants. The motel is convenient, clean and the proprietors are very welcoming. Even rooms without kitchens have microwaves and fridges, along with coffemakers. It is very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backnbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This was a great motel unit. It was well kept and had all the facilities we needed in the kitchen and bathroom. A most comfortable stay

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Businessaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Motel on the edge of town facing Somass river. We were too early to see any bears on the river but enjoyed watching the local Indians salmon fishing. Very nice and helpful lady owner on reception. Air conditioned room was spotlessly clean and had well equipped little kitchen with fridge and microwave for if you're travelling on the cheap.
Reasonable family restaurant about 150M away on corner of Beaver Creek Rd (the big Golden Dragon restaurant nearby in town was not very good at all). We had the end cabin about 4m from the main road but had no trouble sleeping as what traffic there was dropped off to nothing at night.
A great little place to stay if you visit Port Alberni to take the ride down Barkley Sound on the "Francis Barkley" to visit Bamfield or the Islands. We enjoyed the trip to Bamfield and back immensely and recommend it. We also visited the McLean (lumber) Mill. We turned up at closing time but the man who was locking up gave us a guide book, a few tips and said "Padlock the gate on the way out." Quality. If you take the car ferry over from Vancouver, take the one that lands at Nanaimo (it saves driving up from Victoria).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaclureFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We were surprised. When we arrived they told us they had upgraded our room. Beds were very good. Fully equiped kitchen with stove and microwave. Extremely clean. Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen188589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alberni hotels
1.4 km away
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
2.8 km away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.3 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.3 km away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
1.0 km away
Hummingbird Guesthouse
Hummingbird Guesthouse
#7 of 13 in Port Alberni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somass Motel & RV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somass Motel & RV

Property: Somass Motel & RV
Address: 5279 River Rd, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 6Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price range (per night): $104 - $148
Hotel Class:2 star — Somass Motel & RV 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Cottage Style Motel located in the heartland of Vancouver Island's Pacific Rim region. Our central location makes us the perfect base for daytrips throughout the area. Cruise the Alberni Inlet on the MV Lady Rose, ride the summer steam train out to McLean Mill National Historic Site. Our well appointed and air conditioned rooms include 1 and 2 bedroom fully equipped kitchen suites as well as standard rooms with fridge & microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somass Motel & RV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somass Hotel Port Alberni
Somass Hotel Rv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing