We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff who went the extra mile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Friendly staff who went the extra mile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We had a free night coupon thanks to a BW deal from an earlier holiday. Well, we THOUGHT we had a free coupon -- we discovered we'd misplaced it when we went to check in. Heidi at front desk got on the phones all the way to head office and tracked down our free night for us. Some hotels would have just said, "Sorry we have to have that coupon" and not bothered but this front desk staff really made an effort. Everybody else was very friendly too. Clean room, good bed etc. Wifi is a little hit and miss in the room but that's a minor quibble.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantpickaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Cantpickaname,

Let me start by thanking you for your comments.

I will pass on your comments to Heidi and post them for all our Team to see. It makes their day knowing that they have made an great impression on one of our valued guests.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

We are currently finalizing the details for the HSIA upgrade with our vendor and hope to have it in place in the near future. Our new system will include several access points on each floor for seamless coverage and increased signal strength throughout the entire hotel.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    156
    35
    6
    4
See reviews for
109
114
20
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Agassiz, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed one night. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful, but the housekeeping wasn't the best. Long black hairs all around the icebox and drinking glasses in the bathroom were gross. There were also hairs in the bed. Nothing that would hurt us, but a little turnoff. Men's bathroom on the main floor advertised escort services - not something you would find in a decent, family hotel. Next time we'll probably try another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgassizBCgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear AgassizBCgirl,

Let me start by thanking you for writing a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at our property. Customer feedback is essential in our business to make sure we are on the right path and bringing issues to our attention that we can fix them for the future.

I am deeply concerned that your experience at the Best Western Barclay Hotel was well below your expectations. Please accept my sincere apology, guest satisfaction is the goal at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel and we take great pride to bring the level of this hotel above our competitors.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations for their stay and are continually looking for ways to improve our product which includes both service and cleanliness of the hotel. Our Housekeeping team recently took the Best Western program ICare 2 which comprised of three pillars; Trust, Ultra Clean and Problem Free Experience. I will be reviewing the course with our team member responsible for cleaning the room prior to your arrival as your experience is not acceptable.

I would also like you to know that we do not condone, promote or authorize advertisement for escort services. Unfortunately we were the recipient of someone’s attempt at humor (I hope) and were “stickered” with 3”x3” advertisements. Apparently we missed one in the men’s washroom. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

It is always our desire to have our guests let us know if there are problems during their stay so we can have an opportunity to make their stay as comfortable as possible with no issues to cause any undue stress. It also our Front Desk Agents mission to ask, “How was your stay” and to ensure our guest's stay met their expectation level. I am sorry we did not get this opportunity to address your concerns before you left.

I know we can't change prior events but please understand that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

This is a great stay. All the amenities including restaurant, meeting rooms,sauna and decent gym. happy stay!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miker1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

visit there every six weeks, only place i will stay. I am very tried on weekends so those beds they are to die for. I sleep, the wife visits here family. The resturent for breakfeast is great i always have steak and eggs , the steak for the price is great. Need chinese food go to quality food on 10th the best i have ever had alwaly take some home. need a burger go j&l down the street from the bwst. I have had minor problems over the years but mangement get on it very fast which i like. Also having a beer and wine store on site is great.

Room Tip: Lots of sports team play there so let them know, but they try to keep them in other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We have stayed here twice as a family for sporting events. Without exception, the service has been excellent. Rooms are spacious. Staff are friendly. There is never a wait at the front desk or the restaurant. This is particularly impressive because the hotel was almost totally booked both times I stayed. Excellent quality and service here!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear Ali G,

Let me start by thanking you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. Even though you rated us highly, rest assured we will continue to improve our product and services.

We hope you enjoyed your time in the Alberni Valley and your expectations of our property were met.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. It is our goal at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel and we take great pride to bring the level of this hotel above our competitors. We will always have that commitment to our valued guests to continually improve our product and the service that goes along with it.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 800-563-6590.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Peter G. Mugleston
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
1.4 km away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
64.0 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
1.2 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
80.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.3 km away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.7 km away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Address: 4277 Stamp Ave, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7X8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price range (per night): $125 - $199
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Barclay an exceptional Port Alberni hotel on Vancouver Island, BC. Come be our guest in Port Alberni and enjoy a leisurely stay in warm, comfortable accommodations with tasteful décor. We are located 50 miles (80km) northwest of Nanaimo and is the midway point on Highway 4 to Vancouver Island’s West Coast. Situated in a valley surrounded by mountains and water, Port Alberni's beauty is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Alberni
Port Alberni Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing