We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
34
20
13
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
20
13
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews previous owners the complimentary continental breakfast hotel is clean breakfast staff great accommodation in town shuttle service awesome hotel nice breakfast wonderful stay stay there again the hotel staff comfortable beds off the highway front desk staff one night hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Maybe I was expecting more after staying at the Best Western across the street 10 days earlier. BW was sold out for my return trip so we booked this hotel. The staff were friendly enough though. Firstly, they did not have my reservation but rectified that. The rooms look as though they put some work into them, but still felt old and dirty. The wall are so super thin we could hear our neighbours belching and farting... It did make for a few laughs with the kids however. Had a very poor sleep.

Room tip: We were in 305 in the main building. Maybe rooms in the other buildings are better? But I doubt it
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rainy_Vanc0uver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, General Manager at Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, however it is very disheartening to see that you provided us with such a low rating. The building is older, but instead of tearing it down we decided re-furbish it. The rooms are fully renovating, from the blinds, windows, paint, trim to the the floors, bathrooms, beds, linen, etc. We do pride ourselves on keeping the property as clean as possible. It is so disappointing to read that you have given us a one star based on this. We wish we were given the opportunity to re-solve the situation while you were on site and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at this motel under previous owners
The new owner has totally revamped the motel and excellent changes.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The room we had the TV did not work and as hard the staff worked, no go. So after a day of skiing we were given a new room across the hall.
Breakfast is only coffee and muffins but great coffee.
Although there was a $20 dog fee it was close to the river walking path.
We were lucky we had a reservation as the highway closed and the motel was full

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 490daphnec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, General Manager at Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thanks for your review Daphne! We are ecstatic to hear about all the things we did well during your stay. It is good to know that you were treated so well from our staff. I am sorry about the breakfast, we actually opened our continental breakfast room on Dec. 28th. It is a shame that you did not have a chance to enjoy it. Hopefully you can come back and enjoy it next time. Also thanks for the feedback on the tv, we ended up having a tech come in to sort out the issue. Our apologies that it took a little longer than it should have, it is always a bit tricky over the holidays trying to call in tech support. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here one night and basically just sleep. We slept okay. Spacious room. Has microwave and extra sink outside the washroom. Great for family. Receptionist was nice and accommodating. Would stay here again

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Essa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, General Manager at Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thanks for your review Essa. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay at Stoke Hotel and will be returning. Hope you have a wonderful holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We usually stayed at this hotel when it was The Canyon. It was cheap and pet friendly. It wasn't the best, but the rooms were large and well maintained.

No longer. We were hit with a surprise $46 charge for 2 small dogs. That's more than we have ever paid at any hotel. The bathroom was dirty and smelly.

That was our one and only visit to The Stoke.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank peterlT8426RY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 September 2017

I am sorry to hear that you gave given us such a poor review. We have done so much to revamp the place and enhance the guest's experience, it is really unfortunate you feel that way. Pet charges are standard in the hospitality industry as rooms take longer to clean when a pet has been inside due to the pet hair that is left behind. As for the room's, we have replaced/updated the old carpets, beds, furniture, linen and most of the bathrooms, however we have not changed the size of the rooms by any means. It is disheartening to hear that you feel we have not maintained our rooms when we have put so much hard work into the place. If possible it would be great to talk to you further for a possible resolution on the matter, I would hate for this to be your only visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

First off, we were rather desperate. We rolled into Revelstoke with no lodging reserved and were rather surprised to learn that every single place in town was sold out. So, we felt lucky to get a room at all. Hats off to the Stoke Hotel for being available to us. Sadly, that is where the charity ends.

LOCATION: This is a very old motel located on the side of a very busy Trans Canada Highway. Although Revelstoke is not a terribly big town, this location is quite a distance from downtown, or any of the noteworthy attractions. They did offer a shuttle service to their sister hotel downtown, but it was operated by one guy who took about 30 minutes to arrive each way.

LOBBY / ROOMS: They have dome much work updating the lobby and rooms. Unfortunately, there is a limit to what you can accomplish from such a starting point, and with what seemed like a cheap budget. To coin the phrase "lipstick on a pig" seems appropriate here. The beds and linens were new and comfortable, but overall the place was very tired. Revelstoke is one of the most scenic places you will ever visit. Check out the view from our room!

Overall, the staff were friendly, our rate was fair (given the peak season), and we enjoyed our visit to this town. The hotel was clean enough, and secure. I just wish I had booked something else a little sooner. Rookie mistake made by a veteran traveler.

Room tip: Get on the backside, not facing the highway
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WhereNext_YYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 September 2017

That must be one good looking pig. Lol. I am sorry to hear about all of your concerns, but none the less thanks for the review. We are working hard to get the place into tip top shape and we are well aware that there are still a variety of things left to accomplish, and we do have another set of major renovations coming for this fall. Not sure if you had ever stepped foot in the place before we purchased the property and started the renovations, but it's amazing to see the progress/transformation that has already taken place. We still have much left to complete, but we are getting there one step at a time. The budget is not the issue, it is the time and resources that will get us to the finish line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews