We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
saide1
Victoria, Canada

Prepare to be disappointed

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Mar 2022
Do you love paying too much for an old, Smokey, gross hotel? Do you love hearing your neighbours through paper thin walls? Do you love a “continental breakfast” of fruit cup and frozen burrito? How bout a view of the grocery store fluorescent lights parking lot. If so this is the place for you!! The front desk have never cared less about you, so sleep tight, don’t let the hairy pillowcase bite!
Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$412
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$336
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$365
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
6.4 km from Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.1 km from Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$525
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
Main entrance off road
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
1.0 km from Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.6 km from Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$353
    • Priceline
    0.0 km from Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Sidney
    Reviews (346)
    Filter reviews
    346 results
    Traveller rating
    135
    142
    45
    16
    8
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    135
    142
    45
    16
    8
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews yogurt continental breakfast no elevator ocean view juice box sliding door two nights grocery store shops and restaurants comfortable bed waterfront cannery fireplace robes ferry dog closet
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    13 - 18 of 346 reviews
    Reviewed 16 November 2021

    Stayed for an overnight getaway. Location is easily walkable to everything. They let us check in early. Everyone was very helpful and friendly and Dennis at the front desk filled us in on what's what in Sidney. We picked a 'city view' (actually street view) and it was still nice and quiet. Would stay again.

    Date of stay: November 2021
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank CathyS552
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 November 2021

    The location is unbeatable. Easy walk to water front, grocery store, restaurants and shops on beacon Ave. Staffs are friendly and room is clean. It is a little bit dated but well maintained. The bad is comfortable. We loved the idea of breakfast basket; it may be the result of covid, but we think it is less work for hotel staffs and more flexible for travelers. Overall we enjoyed our stay. Will be back next time we are in Sidney.

    Room tip: Room on second floor has better view
    Date of stay: November 2021
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Sharon L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 September 2021

    Right on the waterfront, steps to the sea wall walkway and beach. Close to everything in the way of shops, galleries, aquarium. The place is not new, but well kept up. Check in staff were super friendly. Special thanks to Dennis!
    I recommend the water side for view and private patios.

    Date of stay: September 2021
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    2  Thank Kitsilano
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 September 2021

    The room was on the ground floor and was quite dark. We did have a view of the sea, albeit being on the ground floor it wasn’t easy to see it. Furnishings were old and could do with an update. Handed a basket of breakfast goodies on arrival which was nice and that was a good start. Stains on the carpet and I woke up in the night and could distinctly smell chlorine (ok, Covid is with us at the moment and I fully understand we have to ensure things are clean but this I’m sure was coming from the carpet and when I walked on the carpet it felt damp. I mostly keep something on my feet anyway when I’m in a hotel but this was the middle of the night and I didn’t put anything on them.

    The other thing I found annoying was staff shouting to each other when they were in the corridors... why not have a quiet conversation.

    Think the thing that really grossed me out was finding a dirty pillow case the next morning, very obvious shouldn’t have missed it, thankfully I hadn’t slept on it. Sorry but that should be a priority... change all the sheets and pillowcases between stays!! Not impressed.

    Location was great, was really looking forward to staying her and was so disappointed, not worth anywhere near what we paid for the night.

    Date of stay: September 2021
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank kazzaCalgary
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 August 2021 via mobile

    We liked the location , close to the water, restaurants and sights, but the standards of the hotel left much to be desired.
    Our room size was average but the standard of upkeep was poor. Carpets were stained, bedding was old and faded in colour , room furniture was dated and damaged in many instances.

    Staff were average to disinterested.

    The room rate was high for the quality offered.

    Date of stay: August 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank 276andym
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews