We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sword Motor Inn
Nearby Hotels
USD 125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chickadee Lodge(Bancroft)(Great Value!)
USD 104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Benaaron Guest House(Bancroft)(Great Value!)
USD 127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teddy Bear Bed & Breakfast(Bancroft)(Great Value!)
USD 83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nomi Resort(Harcourt)
USD 90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain View Motel(Barry's Bay)(Great Value!)
USD 76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeview Motel(Haliburton)(Great Value!)
USD 160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
USD 133
USD 130
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
46
57
40
27
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
57
40
27
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanindoor poolsmall towncontinental breakfaststay there againboiled eggswaffle makerhigher pricemini fridge and microwavebad coffeemain buildingworking hardlittle thingsmotorcycle tripwi filong weekendclerk
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

This place certainly isn't worth the price but when you are one of two hotels in the area theni guess you can charge big city prices. It certainly needs a LOT of updating! So dated and the tacky exterior with "Greek" statues and fakes flowers is very gaudy! Rooms are clean but dated. The pool was fun for the kids.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. I'm really glad that you liked our swimming pool. We recently renovated it and are happy to hear that our work paid off! We're sorry to see that you were disappointed with the our exterior. We have been under alot of renovations the past year and all real flowers and plants have been added this year along with new carpets in rooms and much more. We hope you have a wonderful fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

These days we usually stay in places like Holiday Inn Express, but this option was not available in the small town of Bancroft. The Sword Inn was a bit dated and reminded of the budget motels we sometimes used when first touring the US more than 20 years ago. Our room was in an annex and this meant you could hear all the comings and goings in the uncarpeted corridors etc. Noise from adjoining room also came through the wall. Door to bathroom was ill-fitting so a quiet trip there in the middle of the night was not possible. Bed was comfortable, the place was clean and so it was OK for our one night stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Coljac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your feed back on how your stay was.You are right though, this is Bancroft not down town Toronto. We strive to do our best and sometimes we give more than what big establishments can. With full amenaties in all rooms, a great breakfast area, indoor pool facilities and friendly staff. We have been updating and changing a lot around here, but room size and where they are located is not possible. For that we are sorry. We hope you have a great Thanksgiving weekend. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We recently stayed for a night as we were guests at a wedding nearby. We paid $175.00 for a room with 2 queen beds, which we thought was way too expensive for the area and the condition of the hotel.
The hotel is very dated and dumpy. Everything was in good working order and the room was clean, but in desperate need of updating. The included continental breakfast was on par with any other hotel, adequate if you chose wisely.
So basically, if the price was lower by about $40 to $50, we would have been satisfied.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurWaterloo_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for your feed back. We are sorry to see that we weren't to your standards. We will take all that has been metioned into consideration. We hope you have a wonderful fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

a.k.a. Sword Inn Bancroft

My family just stayed at another motel in Ottawa, where only a quick bite was included in the morning. This place was at least a full thumb higher than the other motel, since they had a proper (filling) breakfast, that offered some variety, and a dining center was available for all guests to use.

The room was clean, and did not make too many sounds during the night.

The price was reasonable.

I liked that there was a person visible in the dining room, to help instruct us on how to use the waffle maker machine. Also, this person tidied the counters.

I like that there were short but helpful notes posted around, like in the main office's bathroom, and on the fridge. Notes said things like what to do if you would like to change a baby's diaper - you're to get a bag at the front desk beforehand to dispose of the soiled diaper this way; visuals were included of the three items in the fridge. Clear display of info on the fridge - nice.

Also nice were the water bottle left on our table. Thank you. These could be chilled and then used on the road.

Mattresses were pretty good; all of us were able to sleep the night.

Family-friendly, Privacy-seekers, even solo business or regular travellers, will find a comfortable and enjoyable place to stay, here.

other: physically-challenged people welcome here (ramp). Also, seems somewhat kitty friendly. Lots of good parking.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewOlderMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for your great feed back! Its nice to see that you noticed all our helpful little notes and that our staff where there for help or cleaning when needed. We like to think of our guest staying here as part of our family and would not treat them in any other way then we would like to be treated or helped. Our staff works hard to make everyone's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Its the perks of being small. :) We have done alot of upgrades in the past 3 years, and it makes it all worth while when we get such wonderful feed back from a guest like you. We hope you have a great long week end and hope to see you again next summer. I see you also met our guest greeting kitty. :) Have a great long weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Booked this through a 3rd party with cancellation policy. 2 days later I found it on my credit card. A call to the hotel got a snotty attitude..I booked in a promotion and I can't get my money back even if I cancelled bla bla bla..manager away ..etc clearly I had 20 days to cancel..I canceled it because of this rude person 20 days early and they still have my money .. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Wanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

We’re sorry you were unhappy. Making reservations online sometimes can be confusing and miss understood. Policy are made to help everyone. Sometimes when there are last minute bookings and lots of reading we tend to not read things fully and miss parts of the reservation such as Non-Refundable rates - which are cheaper, but it means exactly what it means. Thank you once again for your feed back and hope you have a great long week end.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews