We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient half-way stop en route to Ottawa”
Review of Sword Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sword Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bancroft
Reviewed 6 October 2017

These days we usually stay in places like Holiday Inn Express, but this option was not available in the small town of Bancroft. The Sword Inn was a bit dated and reminded of the budget motels we sometimes used when first touring the US more than 20 years ago. Our room was in an annex and this meant you could hear all the comings and goings in the uncarpeted corridors etc. Noise from adjoining room also came through the wall. Door to bathroom was ill-fitting so a quiet trip there in the middle of the night was not possible. Bed was comfortable, the place was clean and so it was OK for our one night stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Coljac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your feed back on how your stay was.You are right though, this is Bancroft not down town Toronto. We strive to do our best and sometimes we give more than what big establishments can. With full amenaties in all rooms, a great breakfast area, indoor pool facilities and friendly staff. We have been updating and changing a lot around here, but room size and where they are located is not possible. For that we are sorry. We hope you have a great Thanksgiving weekend. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

We recently stayed for a night as we were guests at a wedding nearby. We paid $175.00 for a room with 2 queen beds, which we thought was way too expensive for the area and the condition of the hotel.
The hotel is very dated and dumpy. Everything was in good working order and the room was clean, but in desperate need of updating. The included continental breakfast was on par with any other hotel, adequate if you chose wisely.
So basically, if the price was lower by about $40 to $50, we would have been satisfied.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurWaterloo_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for your feed back. We are sorry to see that we weren't to your standards. We will take all that has been metioned into consideration. We hope you have a wonderful fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

a.k.a. Sword Inn Bancroft

My family just stayed at another motel in Ottawa, where only a quick bite was included in the morning. This place was at least a full thumb higher than the other motel, since they had a proper (filling) breakfast, that offered some variety, and a dining center was available for all guests to use.

The room was clean, and did not make too many sounds during the night.

The price was reasonable.

I liked that there was a person visible in the dining room, to help instruct us on how to use the waffle maker machine. Also, this person tidied the counters.

I like that there were short but helpful notes posted around, like in the main office's bathroom, and on the fridge. Notes said things like what to do if you would like to change a baby's diaper - you're to get a bag at the front desk beforehand to dispose of the soiled diaper this way; visuals were included of the three items in the fridge. Clear display of info on the fridge - nice.

Also nice were the water bottle left on our table. Thank you. These could be chilled and then used on the road.

Mattresses were pretty good; all of us were able to sleep the night.

Family-friendly, Privacy-seekers, even solo business or regular travellers, will find a comfortable and enjoyable place to stay, here.

other: physically-challenged people welcome here (ramp). Also, seems somewhat kitty friendly. Lots of good parking.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewOlderMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for your great feed back! Its nice to see that you noticed all our helpful little notes and that our staff where there for help or cleaning when needed. We like to think of our guest staying here as part of our family and would not treat them in any other way then we would like to be treated or helped. Our staff works hard to make everyone's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Its the perks of being small. :) We have done alot of upgrades in the past 3 years, and it makes it all worth while when we get such wonderful feed back from a guest like you. We hope you have a great long week end and hope to see you again next summer. I see you also met our guest greeting kitty. :) Have a great long weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Booked this through a 3rd party with cancellation policy. 2 days later I found it on my credit card. A call to the hotel got a snotty attitude..I booked in a promotion and I can't get my money back even if I cancelled bla bla bla..manager away ..etc clearly I had 20 days to cancel..I canceled it because of this rude person 20 days early and they still have my money .. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Wanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

We’re sorry you were unhappy. Making reservations online sometimes can be confusing and miss understood. Policy are made to help everyone. Sometimes when there are last minute bookings and lots of reading we tend to not read things fully and miss parts of the reservation such as Non-Refundable rates - which are cheaper, but it means exactly what it means. Thank you once again for your feed back and hope you have a great long week end.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

I booked a last minute room here for an event at the Bancroft Fish and Game club. Everything was sold out. I am used to the premium hotels so this was a step down. Upon entering the room I expected a typical musty motel smell. But to my surprise the room was clean. Smelled fine and was close enough to everything within walking distance. All though it looks old from the outside the inside was fine. Tiny bathroom. The sink was outside the bathroom. The floor matt was the walking space inside it. You had to get in the tub to close the door or your knees were right against the door frame sitting on the toilet. But breakfast included the waffles, muffins fruit and eggs in the fridge hard boiled. Ok for the price. There isn't much else in town as far as fancy hotels so this one was worth staying at. Bed was comfortable. Looks to be old and new sections of the hotel. I was across from the check in lobby. The room was very quiet. Pleasant staff and I would use it again.

Room Tip: Looks like there are old and new sections to the hotel. I read some bad comments about the beds. Min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kellybelly12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for you great feed back and never judge a book by its cover. :p We where glad we had accomodates for you and that it was to your liking. We are pleased to have such a great staff and glad they could help in all ways. You are right though, this is Bancroft not down town Toronto. We strive to do our best and sometimes we give more than what big establishments can. With full amenaties in all rooms, a great breakfast area, indoor pool facilities and friendly staff what more could you want. :) We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bancroft
2.5 km away
Bancroft Inn & Suites
Bancroft Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Bancroft
68 reviews
26.6 km away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
163 reviews
16.7 km away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#4 of 10 in Bancroft
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
The Arlington Hotel
The Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maynooth
35 reviews
8 km away
Teddy Bear Bed & Breakfast
Teddy Bear Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Bancroft
14 reviews
22.4 km away
Benaaron Guest House
Benaaron Guest House
#1 of 10 in Bancroft
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sword Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sword Motor Inn

Address: 146 Hastings St, Bancroft, Ontario K0L 1C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bancroft
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bancroft
Price Range: $145 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sword Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just on the north side of Bancroft near the end of Hasting St. We accommodate Sledders, ATV's, Pets, Rock Hounds and just the passer buyer. We have a heated in door pool, Hot tub and dry sauna along with a games room. All our guest receive a complimentary continental breakfast in our lovely breakfast area with there stay. This includes Hot waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, choice of different breads and pastries, coffee, tea, juice and much more! We are with in walking distance to almost everything in town and have a park right beside us that the York river runs through and right behind our location as well. So if you are a canoeist this is the spot to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sword Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bancroft
Bancroft Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing