We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay and great food”
Review of Sword Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sword Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bancroft
Reviewed 20 July 2016

the room was what we wanted, with all items clean and available the restaurant was very good, the selection and the service comfortable and enjoyable. Close to everything in Bancroft, staff knew places to go and things to do. Really enjoyed the stay

Room Tip: the room they gave us was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jaxson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review. It's nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and staff were knowledgeable of the surrounding area and could help with all that you needed. If you happen to pass through Bancroft again I would recommend The Blue Roof Bistro. You do need to make reservations though. Have a wonderful summer :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

This is a very nice stop with a good pool set up. Our room was great, clean, fresh air, and right out front parking for our motorcycle. It is nice to have both front and back windows for air flow. We walked to several eating establishments and ice cream. Recommend!!!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank LyndaJJ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2016

Thank you so much for staying with us ! We are pleased to see everything was to your liking. I have to agree the pool area is nice. and the change rooms are a bonus. Being located in downtown gives everyone the option to walk to everything. Which is also a great plus side for our guest. Thank you once again for your feed back and hope you have a wonderful summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

When my husband and I went into the tub to shower, we were shocked by the very obvious dirt on the shower curtain. We called the office, and they replaced it the next morning. Also, the tub had a dark ring of encrusted dirt around it. When my husband rubbed it hard with a Kleenex, it began to come off, but the white underneath certainly was a contrast to the accumulated filth in the ring of dirt itself. One reason for the ring may be that the tub drains very slowly, and the dead skin cells from all the people who had showered in the past clung to the sides along with the soap curds, thus forming a very obvious ring of dirt. It was readily apparent that the tub had not been properly scoured with cleanser in a very long time.

In the breakfast room the next morning, we talked with two older women from Toronto whose bathtub was similarly filthy, and they refused to shower in it, and were forced to have "sponge baths" instead. I just wonder how many other bathrooms in the hotel were as dirty...!

Also, the hall rug in the common room was filthy and excessively worn with ground-in dirt and stains, and the floor up the ramp to it hadn't been washed in a very long time.

So all in all, we were unhappy with this hotel, and when we complained, received no apology from the front desk or anyone else. We concluded that the owners were negligent in both cleaning the place and in making amends--or at least apologizing--when people complained, and the staff probably realized this and kept mum.

This hotel certainly wasn't worth the money we paid for it, and I'm sure that if Best Western still owned it, I would not be writing this review.

Room Tip: Check the room, especially the bathroom, before you commit yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rafraj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Thank you for your review. I was the front desk attendant on the night you checked in which was at 4pm in the afternoon. You husband came over around 9:45pm saying the tub and shower curtain where both not very clean. I wanted to go over immediately and rectify the problem, but was told "no" by your husband and that it was to be taken care of at 7am the next morning. I respected what he wanted and left it be. I called my manager immediately after he left and he said "call in house keeping early for the next day." which i did. The next day you delayed it to 7:30 am, but we finally did get into your room to fix the problem. As far as any other guest that stayed with us that night, we had no complaints that needed to be rectified. Thank You for bringing this to our attention and are please we did our best and responded how the guest directed us to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

iWe had a room in the back section. Going into the hallway, crooked, I did not know what to expect. Well I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, but the layout (TV) was in the far corner. The mattress was too stiff to my liking. The reception is neat, as are the kitchenette, the inside pool and the fitness room. The free breakfast was so-so and bad coffee, with limited variety. Nonetheless, if I had to, I would return. Wi-fi slow. Don't expect a 5-star motel and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for one attached to the kitchenette/pool, so if it rains, you'll be Ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Thank you for taking a moment to let us know about your stay. we are glad that your stay was nicer than you expected. we are sorry that you didn't find everything you were looking for in our breakfast area. did you bring the WiFi speed issue to our staffs attention? we like to try to fix issues such as this when they arise so to make your stay a more pleasant one. Again thank you for your feedback have a wonderful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

The Inn is older but has been updated, the inn was clean and quiet and the showers worked. Beds were comfortable and the inn was within walking distance of restaurants.
Staff were very helpful and there is free wifi. The inn also has a pool.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

Thank you for sharing your feedback! we are glad you found the beds comfortable, and we are very lucky to be located close to many great restaurants here in Bancroft. We work very hard to make sure our guests enjoy their stay. We are please that our staff was helpful as they always are. we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bancroft
2.5 km away
Bancroft Inn & Suites
Bancroft Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Bancroft
67 reviews
26.6 km away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
163 reviews
16.7 km away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#4 of 10 in Bancroft
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
The Arlington Hotel
The Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maynooth
35 reviews
8 km away
Teddy Bear Bed & Breakfast
Teddy Bear Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Bancroft
14 reviews
22.4 km away
Benaaron Guest House
Benaaron Guest House
#1 of 10 in Bancroft
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sword Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sword Motor Inn

Address: 146 Hastings St, Bancroft, Ontario K0L 1C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bancroft
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bancroft
Price Range: $146 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sword Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just on the north side of Bancroft near the end of Hasting St. We accommodate Sledders, ATV's, Pets, Rock Hounds and just the passer buyer. We have a heated in door pool, Hot tub and dry sauna along with a games room. All our guest receive a complimentary continental breakfast in our lovely breakfast area with there stay. This includes Hot waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, choice of different breads and pastries, coffee, tea, juice and much more! We are with in walking distance to almost everything in town and have a park right beside us that the York river runs through and right behind our location as well. So if you are a canoeist this is the spot to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sword Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bancroft
Bancroft Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing