We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Location is good. Need new tv's though, I didn't know old tube style still existed.
We booked a queen room with fireplace, was very disappointed that it was an electric one. I expected gas. Beds are comfortable. Our heater (which is located very high out of reach) was pumping out heat most of night and we couldn't find a remote or switch to turn it off which made for a restless night.
Breakfast was good, wasn't busy at all, it was a weekday at 9:00 and we were only ones there.
Staff is friendly, place is clean, good parking and good location. I didn't love this particular hotel, the one in Kingston is much better.
I think we will try the Weston next time.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mookie1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 271 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

This is my second visit and review of this place. My first visit was exceptional but I am pretty sure new management is in control because this visit was a disappointment. I was traveling with a sports team and upon check in one of our rooms was not made up at 5pm! When the office was notified they said it will be taken care of. Upon our return at 9 pm the room still was not made up. I had to go to the front desk again and ask about my room and then they finally allowed us to move rooms. I think that is something that should have been done right away.

The other rooms had no concerns and the pool and breakfast are still good but this hotel could improve its front desk service.
It might also be time to upgrade the TV's to flat screens

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank big_kat_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asquared2, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Hello,

After just receiving your comment on Trip Advisor I was extremely upset that our team had dropped the ball this weekend. This is not the service that we guarantee and certainly not the same experience you had last time you stayed with us according to your post. I take your feedback very seriously and will address this with my team ASAP. Again, please accept my humblest apologies and know that we set our standards very high and as a team we failed the expectations we created for you.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the mistake we have made and please send me an email at generalmanager@collingwood-hotels.com so we may rectify the problem we caused for you and attempt to leave you with a sweeter taste in your mouth with respect to your recent stay with us.

Thank you,

Regards,

Ali Akbarali
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Collingwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed here for 3 niights. Toilet handle broken when we got the room, then completely broke, reported it, came and fixed it but wouldn't flush at all. Fixed it properly next time of asking. Good position close to shops and restaurants. Staff ok, had to complain about the noise above one night as it went on and on. Sent security guard and all was good. breakfast was good lots of choice and staff friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SparkplugO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

My first visit will definitely have me return. The suite/efficiency room was spacious and inviting, especially for working until the early morning hours. The hot breakfast saved money going to a typical restaurant, thus making the cost effective. Staff was helpful and as a priority customer, their friendliness and positive attitude helped after a long work day.

If you are in the Collingwood Ontario area, don't miss out as my next visit will be a personal stay with my wife!

Room Tip: Effeciency suite is a great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This hotel was very clean and spacious, good hot and cold breakfast, and excellent staff. The beds were very comfortable, showers worked well. Very close to the old downtown.

Room Tip: Don't like heights, only 2 floors. We stayed on the road side and had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grampab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
0.3 km away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
2.8 km away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
6.1 km away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Blue Mountains
382 reviews
2.2 km away
Mariner Motor Hotel
Mariner Motor Hotel
#8 of 11 in Collingwood
79 reviews
6.8 km away
Relax Inn Collingwood
Relax Inn Collingwood
#9 of 11 in Collingwood
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 4 Balsam St, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 3J4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Collingwood - Blue Mountain)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range: $115 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Hotel & Suites. We are a smoke free property. Our hotel features Complimentary Deluxe Express Start Breakfast. Enjoy our heated indoor pool, FREE high-speed Internet connection. Access to walking trails such as The Georgian Trail, Bruce Trail, Niagara Escarpment and Scenic Caves. The Comfort Inn & Suites in Collingwood is conveniently located 10 minutes from Wasaga Beach the world's longest freshwater beach, Le Scandinave Spa, and only minutes away from the Village at Blue Mountain where you can experience the unique atmosphere year round. We are close to industries including Pilkington Glass, Zellers, Home Depot, Rona, WalMart, Loblaws and Zehrs Markets. Our large parking lot has room for RVs or trailers. WE ARE 100% SMOKE FREE. The Comfort Inn & Suites is two stories with an elevator and an indoor heated pool. A credit card is required upon arrival with photo identification. The cardholder must be 18 years of age and reside in the registered room. Cash or cheques will not be accepted as deposits or as an alternative to a credit card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Collingwood - Blue Mountain
Holiday Inn Express Collingwood
Holiday Inn Collingwood
Collingwood Holiday Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Collingwood, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing