We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch.”
Review of Three Kretans

Three Kretans
Ranked #79 of 587 Restaurants in Kitchener
Price range: USD 7 - USD 22
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Angelo and Doxa Makrydakis immigrated to Canada from the island of Krete. In 1996, they decided that Kitchener needed a Greek dining experience where customers would feel welcome and a part of the family in a casual, warm atmosphere. Soon after, the Three Kretans was born. Named after their 3 sons - Gus, Zack and Niko - they succeeded in bringing the tastes of Greece to KW. With fresh ingredients and traditional Greek dishes and desserts prepared daily, Three Kretans has established itself as being Kitchener-Waterloo's premiere authentic Greek restaurant for over 22 years. OPA!
Reviewed 17 August 2017

My grandgirl's office is near Three Kretans so last month we walked over to have lunch there together. The food and service were so memorable we went again this week and enjoyed our lunch even more than the first time. The food is delicious, the portion size generous and our server was very friendly and efficient. She even remembered us from our first visit ... a lovely treat that will make us want to go back again soon. Thank you!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Merry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petuniawaterloo, Manager at Three Kretans, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hi Merry!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We are thrilled that both your visits were memorable and that you enjoyed everything. Michelle, who probably was your server, is really great! I think we will keep her :)

Regards,

Gina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

In the basement of the YWCA, the room was surprisingly large and even a bit atmospheric. We were towards (but not at) the end of the lunch period and the server had to be convinced by the chef (or manager) to seat us but once she accepted that we were staying she was fine and did not rush us. I had the spinach pie with greek salad and it was almost grease-free. Large portions of tasty spanokapita. Wife had chicken and greek salad and found it quite good. Wine was relatively inexpensive. This place is better, much better than its funky entrance location would promise.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Canadian67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petuniawaterloo, Owner at Three Kretans, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our business. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and were not rushed :) We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Had a good time at this restaurant prior to our concert at a local music venue, Center in the Square. Their special is free parking if you dine here, which is an added plus! The menu offers many Greek favorites from Souvlaki, to Gyros to Lamb dishes and meal salads Our group ordered a variety of the above and were mostly satisfied. Prices were reasonable and service was friendly and efficient. Worthy of second visit, especially on concert night. Recommended!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank 1francophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Three Kretans before the Riverdance performance at Centre in the Square.
Our dinners of Chicken Souvlaki and Greek Salad & Salmon, Were both very good. This was our first time at this restaurant, and it was a pleasant experience. We even shared a Baklava dessert before leaving. We had tickets to the Centre in the Square performance. You can leave your car there during the performance at no charge. They have special menu's on performance nights which make sure you get to the Theatre on time; the food is delicious; and the service is great! Please note, if you don't do well with stairs, there is an entrance off of Frederick St. that has an elevator to take you down to the Restaurant. Enjoy!!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petuniawaterloo, Owner at Three Kretans, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Hi Fred,

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to write such a fabulous review! We really appreciate and are glad that you enjoyed your dinner before your show at the Centre in the Square. Thank you for mentioning our free parking for theatre goers - parking can be a challenge and quite expensive in downtown Kitchener, as well as the additional entrance where patrons can use an elevator - much appreciated! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Three Kretans before the Riverdance performance at Centre in the Square. Gina took our orders and served our dinners of Chicken Souvlaki and Greek Salad & Chicken, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Gina was a great server -- quiet, unassuming yet helpful. Thanks Gina! We enjoyed ourselves.

We have been at Three Kretans several times before, each time prior to a Centre in the Square performance. You can leave your car there without trying to find a parking spot at Centre in the Square; the timing of your dinner reservation will get you to the Theatre on time; the food is delicious; and the service is great!

Good job!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnKnee448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Kretans also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Three Kretans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing