We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
82
36
19
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
36
19
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paper bag coffee culture front desk downtown kitchener coffee station hotel is newly renovated historic hotel municipal lot stir sticks modern fixtures public parking stunning decor ground coffee cocktail lounge berlin restaurant charles street parking validation
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018

This hotel is comfortable with a quirky feel which sets is aside from some upmarket but impersonal places. The bed side lights were too dim to read by, and the painfully slow breakfast service meant many in our party had to go hungry. Apart from the lights, the room was comfortable, and apart from the breakfast disaster the staff were efficient and friendly. I would stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Man-in-black-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Man-in-black-12,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your time at The Walper Hotel. We value the input of our guests and appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with other potential visitors.

I'm very sorry to hear about your recent experience in our breakfast room. We do try very hard to provide an elevated a la carte service for all of our guests. Unfortunately, due to unanticipated volume in a very short space of time, this made execution extremely difficult in the time frame we had set ourselves. I have informed our food and beverage team about this matter and we will work on a more effective way to better execute our level of service.

We do hope to have the opportunity to host you again, and in turn, give you the true Walper experience.

Kindest regards,

Jess McLean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

This Hotel is freshly updated. An old hotel that has been gutted and completely modernized inside. Located in downtown Kitchener ON. One person on staff at the desk. No other staff at time of arrival. Easy check in and then park around the block at a nearby lot with good signage where to park near the exit close to the hotel. The parking pass provides you with in and out privileges. There are chargers for EV if you have a Charepoint account. The stairwells and common areas of the garage are sketchy with garbage across the floor, in the elevators and in the stairwells including used needles. Generally filthy if you are there on a Saturday morning but I guess that is City life. The room was small but very clean and fresh - one of us slept with our head literally beside the door and there is no sneaking in any out with the loud closing noises of the doors. Doors are a bit of an issue. If you try to sit in the lobby in the morning and read the paper there is a door behind the reception desk that is very squeaky but maybe won't sit there long since there is no public washroom as I was told in no uncertain terms by the staff at 6:45 AM saturday morning. Not wanting to return to the room and make a lot of racket I went next door to coffee culture, a tenant of the building. While reading the morning paper I had learned that there was a flood in the basement of the hotel and coffee culture. Tradesmen were called from the main desk and cleaning buckets and staff routinely use the front desk area as well. Which is fine because no one really is there to make your day particularly nice. The lady on the desk continues to cough and cough and cough every where. Her rudeness and put down to me won't be forgotten. However every other staff person at the desk was absolutely a pleasure to meet and while they recommend their own restaurant and have no lists for any other places to eat in the neighbourhood, the staff at check in and check out were very kind. We come to Kitchener Waterloo frequently for work and also for events where our child goes to University. We tried this hotel for a change. Having your head in bed right beside the opening door is just not the best and if the door is opened you can see entirely inside the single boxy room. Pull down your blinds because there are people across the courtyard in the next rooms as well. To pull down the one blind you will have to move the floor lamp and squeeze in behind the chair. I can do it at 60 you can do it too. There is a fridge in the room and that is where they hide the glasses if you don't want to use a mug. They left my husband a little brown bag with a greeting to him on the desk. I did feel left out. Inside was a coffee filter, coffee grounds, two tea bags and two stir sticks. There is a kettle separate from the coffee maker which is such a treat for tea drinkers. but no milk is provided. The soap is highly scented as is the hand cream. The floors are hard wood with a mat over about 85% of the floor surface. There is a lovely cupboard for clothing and to hang your things. We didn't have much luggage. the floor lights in the one elevator do not light up but the other one does so don't be wondering if the elevator works. It does. Overall, the room size, lack of privacy and noise of the room door (and for me coupled with the on staff person's lack of helpfulness - at a minimum) we decided we will not return right away (unless possibly if we are driving the EV but we might try the Crowne Plaza next which is also close to that garage). We are not hurrying back. It is new but cold, would be the way I sum it up. Small (boutique I guess) . Also I highly recommend Dalise's across the street for breakfast.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJL19617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hello CJL19617,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated property and the service provided by some of our team. I am sorry to hear that areas of your experience did not meet either your expectations or those to which we do hold our team to. Thank you for giving us the feedback that will allow us to improve and fine tune the service that we do deliver. I have relayed your feedback in reference to the parking garage to the operator to ensure this is addressed, as well as added this to our teams daily responsibilities to monitor.

We would love the opportunity to have you back to the hotel and showcase a true Walper Hotel experience. Please feel free to reach out to me directly and I can coordinate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Parking is on Charles Street underground parking and less than a 1/4 block away from door to door. The service we received here was second to none. Personalized bag of tea and coffee in the room after checking in, with a mini fridge and boxed water to drink. The location is great downtown with many restaurants and attractions nearby. Only downfalls we had were the noise controls. It's an old building so not the quietest...you can hear people walking by the halls and the traffic outside. But, that aside; this will now be our go-to when in Kitchener for sure. Recommended, highly.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Motorbragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Motorbragg,

Thank you so much for taking the time to highlight your recent stay at The Walper Hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated, and will be helpful for future travelers!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and what downtown Kitchener has to offer!

On your next stay with us, I would highly recommend our Courtyard Pocket King rooms! These rooms face our inner-courtyard, and as these rooms offer a quieter setting, away from the street side of the building, they have become the favourites of many of our regular guests!

If you would like any more information please feel free to contact our Rooms Division Manager, Ann Marie Faria, (afaria@walper.com) who would be more than happy to assist you!

We look forward to hosting you again when you are next in the Kitchener area!

Kindest regards,

Jess McLean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

We are a family of four touring universities. This hotel is 13 minutes from Waterloo and half an hour from Guelph U so perfect location. There is flooring instead of wall to wall carpeting, platform beds, industrial lighting and a large shower. Clearly modernized recently. Everything was spotless and any issues were addressed promptly and courteously. If our girls end up attending university nearby we will certainly make this our home away from home. There is also a nice restaurant connected to the hotel and a good Thai restaurant a block away.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Suzanne E,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your time at The Walper Hotel. We value the input of our guests and appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with other potential visitors.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the design of our recently renovated guest rooms, and that our ambassadors were able to assist you throughout your stay!

Thanks again for your comments, and we look forward to hosting you again when you are next in the Kitchener area!

Good luck with the University hunt!


Kindest regards,

Jess McLean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

My first visit to Kitchener and The Walper was my late night intro to the town. Great staff, very comfortable rooms, superb breakfasts and close to all the action. At the end of a busy day, pace and silence are a necessity. The Walper has an easy going feel and embraces you with warm wood accents, high ceilings and wonderful peace and quiet. Really enjoyed my stay. The bar serves up some wonderful concoctions each afternoon...definitely give it a try. Highly recommended for your stay in Kitchener/Waterloo.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Kerry C,

Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay! We appreciate that you took the time to provide your feedback on your experience with us. It will definitely be helpful for future travelers!

We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and hope to be able to host you again the next time you are in the area!


Kind regards,


Jess McLean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews