We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Owen Sound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holly Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Owen Sound B&B and Inns
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I promised my family that - after a few years of non-stop running - that we would enjoy our favourite parts of Grey County simply as tourists. In short, it had been a very long time since we'd had a chance for a vacation, and Holly Cottage was at the top of our list of places to stay. We weren't disappointed. This B&B is perfect in every way. To begin, David and Norma are the most charming hosts imaginable: attentive, warm, intelligent, well-informed... and (it turns out) absolutely marvellous cooks! Beyond that, the home itself is beautiful: a Grey County stone home, wonderfully restored and appointed. The bedrooms - one for us and another for our young daughter - were the stuff of dreams... literally. If you want to experience a perfect slice of Grey County, spend a little time at Holly Cottage. Plan to stay a bit: David and Norma can direct you to the local beauty spots and the best local restaurants (do try Leeky Canoe in Meaford). Though we're not really far away, we'll be back to Holly Cottage again for the hospitality, the wonderful breakfasts, and the charming surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosegardengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Our stay at the Holly Cottage was perfect. Starting with the hosts' tremendous hospitality and generosity and adding the delicious, fresh, organic and huge breakfast, everything made our stay extremely pleasant. Evenings were charming sitting in the nicely decorated living room enjoying a variety of organic tea and home made cookies.Norma and David are not only great hosts but also very helpful and resourceful giving us ideas and directions to places that the Tourist Information Centre didn't even mention. We spent 4 days and three nights there and we were sad that we had to leave. We plan to go back again and we would recommend this place to anyone who loves a welcoming and warm place to stay, loves to chat and have a good time in the company of very kind people. Thank you again , Norma and David.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mirela i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Fantastic respite at a charming home. Everything was perfect. Our room, The Kyle Room was large and comfortable and our bathroom was new and huge. The entire inn was tastefully decorated and so cozy. Norma and Dave are the hosts with the most! Breakfasts were superb and fresh and satisfying. A beautiful country home where you can relax outside on the back porch and watch the birds. I was also impressed with how clean and tidy everything was. The Cottage sits between Owen Sound (10 minutes to W) and Meaford (15 min to E). We will most certainly stay here again. A terrific find.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsucker40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannington Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Great location hosts with the most.... and food that was incredible...our stay at Holly Cottage was a delight from the moment we arrived to the moment we left...very clean and private with hosts that will go to incredible lengths to make your stay perfect....great work and see you in the near future !!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

This charming old stone farmhouse with complimenting new addition is the kind of place that inspires poetry, music, and painting. David and Norma make you feel truly welcomed and show they genuinely love having a BnB in their beautiful home. Hospitality, cheery and warm, "Would you prefer coffee or tea?" An old and modern decor mix of Grey-Bruce Country charm, haven from a Summer storm, Holly Cottage BnB. Here's Drama and Romance. Thunder rolls long and deep, raindrops quickly tap and beat, raindrops in a rhythmic dance with garden flowers by the door...Here the sense of Time is lost. Is it now or days of yore? Feeling a sense of Mystery, when you leave you're wishing 'More'!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HatshepsutSheba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Owen Sound hotels
8.1 km away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
475 reviews
9.7 km away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
156 reviews
7.6 km away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#7 of 10 in Owen Sound
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
162 reviews
7.6 km away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
153 reviews
7.6 km away
Travellers Motel & Restaurant
Travellers Motel & Restaurant
#8 of 10 in Owen Sound
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holly Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: R.R. #8 | 204708 Highway 26, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 5W4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Owen Sound
Price range (per night): $75 - $100
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Holly Cottage Bed And Breakfast Owen Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing