We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Date Night”
Review of Tapas Restaurant

Tapas Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Tapas Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 134 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 23 - USD 42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6th Ave
Description: Oted most Romantic Restaurant in the Rockies, we are tucked off Main Street Canmore in a charming character house. Tapas offers the lively fusion of Spanish and Old World flavours created by our kitchen team. We have designed a menu of specialty dishes that are prepared to order from the freshest ingredients available. All stocks, sauces and desserts are made by our Chef Dan Purvis in house. Our menu offers gluten free and vegetarian options. Share several plates amongst friends in the intimate dining room with Spanish style murals and high back leather chairs. We also have an eclectic attic with slanted ceilings and low windows which is great for small parties. Don't forget to visit us in the summer where you can enjoy tapas on our Mediterranean- style deck with lovely al fresco ambiance. And most importantly, be sure to try our house made Sangria (white or red) or choose a lovely Spanish Cava or wine from our Wine Menu. Want to bring your own wine, we offer a $25 corkage fee as well.
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Tapas is a very charming little restaurant. We were having a little get a way in Canmore, and thought for our date night we would give it a try. The atmosphere was nice and intimate and the food certainly was delicious. The staff were friendly and very helpful as this was our first time. However, the wait between dishes was quite long, we ordered 5 plates, each of us had a drink and were there for 2 hours. We weren't in a rush, so this wasn't necessarily an issue, however our waitress apologized for the wait, even though we had never mentioned it and said she would bring us some olives. I am not a fan of olives but my wife loves them and was excited to try them. 10 minutes go by and our server brings the next dish saying, "oh heres your next dish so you were spared having to have the olives." No olives ever showed up which was disappointing for my wife. If you offer to bring something you should follow through with that. My wife wanted another drink, but said she would wait till I was don't mine before ordering another. We were never offered another drink, and I'm fairly certain in the 2 hour time frame there would have been enough time. By the time our last dish came, we didn't want to ask for another drink or have dessert as the wait was just too long.
When a server brings attention to the lengthy service wait and offers to bring you an item, its very disappointing to not have that followed through.
We still had a lovely time, and maybe in the future will give it another try.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GHunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, General Manager at Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Hello Ghunk,

I am sorry to hear about the delays and it is no par for the course. The olives should have been delivered to you and we will discuss with out team. Please email me at james@tapascanmore.ca on your next visit so we can set you up.

Kindest regards,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Me & my husband went for date night to Tapas .We absolutely love it. The food was very delicious. People working there are very nice and kind. The ambiance was very well suited for a date night . Highly recommended

Thank Danuta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, General Manager at Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Thank you Danuta!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Last year attended Tapas and it was awesome and therefore returned with friends and we were so disappointed this time. We arrived on time, ordered, all the vegetable tapas came out promptly, but the chicken and beef were considerably delayed. We finally received the last two tapas (beef and chicken) and no sooner did we finish eating them we were asked if we wanted dessert, we declined, then two different staff asked up to to finish up (We were still drinking wine) as they had people waiting for our table. I won't be returning.

Thank perleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, General Manager at Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Hi Perleen,

We are really sorry to hear this and it is not normal. Friday nights can be busy but we do allow for two hours for service (generally) unless our guests ask us for more time. It sounds like the delay hampered the timing. I would be happy to send you a GC for your next visit should you change your mind as your review is not normal. Please email me james@tapascanmore.ca

Kindest regards,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

My husband and I dined at The Tapas last weekend. We were impressed with the menu selection and overall ambiance of the place, it took us back to our travels around Spain. We actually had Casey as our server, she could not have been more hospitable and despite it being a busy night we felt that she still provided us with attention and prompt service. We really hope to return to this fab place on our next visit the Canmore!!

1  Thank Amberamelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, General Manager at Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Thank you Amber for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

We were a table of 3, one of two tables arriving early on a week night. We ordered quickly and received our first 2 tapas within a half hour. Another table arrived. We waited another 50 minutes for our next tapa (asked politely after 35 minutes of no one coming to our table except for a male server - he came with water only when we flagged him down). Our server, Casey, basically ignored us. She avoided eye contact and skirted around our table when she realized our meal was taking too long. She would walk away as we were talking to her asking about our food. Other servers brought our dishes out, filled our water glasses. She never came back to ask if we wanted more wine, to apologize for the wait or provide, perhaps, just some bread to tie us over. Our last two items took another 40-45 minutes. After waiting and waiting, we finally asked for our bill at the till on our way out. Requested to talk to a manager, they took my number but I were never contacted! I used to enjoy coming to this restaurant, and did so often when in Canmore. A reason to get away.

Since the ownership has changed, the menu has minimal selection (modified what they served us without informing of the change from the menu), the customer service extremely poor and speed of food coming out of the kitchen painstakingly SLOW! The only thing they have going for it now, is the ambiance and some flavourful dishes IF they ever arrive. Sadly disappointing and won't be back ... this could have been avoided if A) Casey remembered she had us as her table and she paid even minimal attention to our table (even on a slow night - instead she over-served a table of 4 who were drinking more wine right beside us). B) Someone acknowledged that the time between courses was unacceptable and our meal was compensated or a loaf of bread was delivered while we waited. C) The manager was compassionate, concerned or had even the slightest care that a customer had a poor experience and wanted to somehow apologize and improve. Still waiting for a response!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, General Manager at Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Hello Heather,

We are so disappointed to hear about your experience which goes completely against our usual standard and expectations. Tapas prides itself on taking care of our guests, upholding our reputation and making sure that all guests have a consistent service and food experience that goes above and beyond and that experience should be the same for all patrons. Sadly the service you would expect did not occur and there was no follow up.

Seeing your review and reading about your concerns clearly shows that we failed and I would appreciate if you could contact us, as we have no way to contact you outside of Trip Advisor, to address your concerns as we would love to invite you back for another try. Our ownership has not changed and we have had the restaurant under the same guidance and management for the past eleven years but unfortunately that ownership was not present on your visit.

Please feel free to email james@tapascanmore.ca and I will follow up with you right away.

Sincerely,

Wendy Simpson | Owner
James Kendal GM | Owner


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tapas Restaurant also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Tapas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing