We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Pathetic!”
Review of Tapas Restaurant

Tapas Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Tapas Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 134 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 23 - USD 42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6th Ave
Description: Oted most Romantic Restaurant in the Rockies, we are tucked off Main Street Canmore in a charming character house. Tapas offers the lively fusion of Spanish and Old World flavours created by our kitchen team. We have designed a menu of specialty dishes that are prepared to order from the freshest ingredients available. All stocks, sauces and desserts are made by our Chef Dan Purvis in house. Our menu offers gluten free and vegetarian options. Share several plates amongst friends in the intimate dining room with Spanish style murals and high back leather chairs. We also have an eclectic attic with slanted ceilings and low windows which is great for small parties. Don't forget to visit us in the summer where you can enjoy tapas on our Mediterranean- style deck with lovely al fresco ambiance. And most importantly, be sure to try our house made Sangria (white or red) or choose a lovely Spanish Cava or wine from our Wine Menu. Want to bring your own wine, we offer a $25 corkage fee as well.
Reviewed 3 February 2018

We were a table of 3, one of two tables arriving early on a week night. We ordered quickly and received our first 2 tapas within a half hour. Another table arrived. We waited another 50 minutes for our next tapa (asked politely after 35 minutes of no one coming to our table except for a male server - he came with water only when we flagged him down). Our server, Casey, basically ignored us. She avoided eye contact and skirted around our table when she realized our meal was taking too long. She would walk away as we were talking to her asking about our food. Other servers brought our dishes out, filled our water glasses. She never came back to ask if we wanted more wine, to apologize for the wait or provide, perhaps, just some bread to tie us over. Our last two items took another 40-45 minutes. After waiting and waiting, we finally asked for our bill at the till on our way out. Requested to talk to a manager, they took my number but I were never contacted! I used to enjoy coming to this restaurant, and did so often when in Canmore. A reason to get away.

Since the ownership has changed, the menu has minimal selection (modified what they served us without informing of the change from the menu), the customer service extremely poor and speed of food coming out of the kitchen painstakingly SLOW! The only thing they have going for it now, is the ambiance and some flavourful dishes IF they ever arrive. Sadly disappointing and won't be back ... this could have been avoided if A) Casey remembered she had us as her table and she paid even minimal attention to our table (even on a slow night - instead she over-served a table of 4 who were drinking more wine right beside us). B) Someone acknowledged that the time between courses was unacceptable and our meal was compensated or a loaf of bread was delivered while we waited. C) The manager was compassionate, concerned or had even the slightest care that a customer had a poor experience and wanted to somehow apologize and improve. Still waiting for a response!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, General Manager at Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Hello Heather,

We are so disappointed to hear about your experience which goes completely against our usual standard and expectations. Tapas prides itself on taking care of our guests, upholding our reputation and making sure that all guests have a consistent service and food experience that goes above and beyond and that experience should be the same for all patrons. Sadly the service you would expect did not occur and there was no follow up.

Seeing your review and reading about your concerns clearly shows that we failed and I would appreciate if you could contact us, as we have no way to contact you outside of Trip Advisor, to address your concerns as we would love to invite you back for another try. Our ownership has not changed and we have had the restaurant under the same guidance and management for the past eleven years but unfortunately that ownership was not present on your visit.

Please feel free to email james@tapascanmore.ca and I will follow up with you right away.

Sincerely,

Wendy Simpson | Owner
James Kendal GM | Owner


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Great little place with a nice atmosphere, live music, and tasty food. Our complaint is the price-- absurd amount of money for 4 little pieces of something. The cost for 4 meatballs is what you would pay for an entire meal somewhere else. Not a great place for men who like to actually fill their bellies.

1  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, General Manager at Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you for your review Sarah and for mentioning how tasty the food is. We certainly appreciate that. I would like to counter though that we serve six meatballs in a serving and we certainly don't expect anyone to be able to fill their bellies on one dish. The pricing on our dishes are costed appropriately.

For others reading this review you can expect to spend about $30-$35 for food per person which is in line with pricing for most restaurants and will fill your bellies. Tapas is not casual or quick serve dining.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

It was our 4th time in Tapas celebrating our Wedding Anniversary. We are always surprise with a great menu they offer and wonderful romantic atmosphere. You will definitely see us next year!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Magda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, General Manager at Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you for dining with us and congratulations on your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

The Tapas is a very popular high end restaurant in Canmore. You should consider a reservation. The food and wine selection are very good.

Thank DavidGunn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, General Manager at Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you very much for your review David! We really appreciate your taking the time to share with fellow diners and travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

My wife and I went here on a post-Christmas date. We like tapas-style eating and found this gem by Google search. Don't let the vaguely unimaginative name fool you - this place is an absolutely amazing dining experience.

The service is perfect for the small, cozy ambiance of the room, and their knowledge of the menu is a pleasant surprise. My wife, who is a celiac, loves the clarity of the menu, with all of the GF items clearly marked.

And the food - WOW. We enjoyed 5 items (other than the olives that are a must-order anytime you have tapas); all of them were beautifully presented and prepared. The absolute star of dinner was the beet and apple salad with manchego cheese. Honestly - tuna was great, steak was very good, Caesar salad fresh and crisp - but the salad - that was something else - good enough that we had to order it twice!

Looking for a great place for a romantic dinner with a loved one, a special occasion or just a fantastic dinner. How good was it? We already booked our Valentines dinner there!

Thank Laird M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, General Manager at Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you very much for your review Laird! The Beet and Apple salad is pretty tasty indeed. We also really appreciate the shout out to our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tapas Restaurant also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Tapas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing