We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Fabulous time with the amazing huskies

Our family had the most wonderful tour this past weekend. We got to spend lots of time meeting and... read more

Reviewed 17 October 2018
carmenoshea
,
San Francisco, California
STUNNINGGGGGG

We loved our 2 hour tour. The dogs were amazing and the views were just breathtaking. Highlight... read more

Reviewed 4 October 2018
petography
,
Perth
Read all 685 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Canmore
from USD 99.80
More Info
from USD 57.60
More Info
from USD 103.82
More Info
from USD 126.70
More Info
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveller rating
638
32
4
1
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
638
32
4
1
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot cider hour tour frozen lake express tour apple cider professional photos brownie an amazing experience sled ride once in a lifetime bucket list spray lakes halfway point longer tour from australia winter wonderland highlight of our trip
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 685 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2018

My husband and I did this tour on Sunday and had a great time seeing where my brother worked a few winters ago. Aaron was very knowledgeable and was great with the dogs and it was a tonne of fun being around all of the dogs during free run and playing with the puppies. The puppies are definitely still learning their manners such as not to untie shoelaces, not to play with zippers or pull people's hair but that is to be expected with dogs that young.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Caeleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Do you love dogs? Do you especially love big dogs? The Summer Kennels tour is going to be heaven for you!

Start at the tour office, get a complimentary shuttle bus to the kennels and then spend one and a half glorious hours with ALL the sled dogs in their summer enclosure!

The dogs are ecstatic to see you, so make sure you wear clothing that you don't mind getting a bit muddy/dusty because they can jump up a bit to try and get pats! They're not aggressive, and your guide will make sure that any dogs that are shy or not feeling it are left alone.

You'll be there when one side of the kennels is having free running time, so you will be literally surrounded by happy fluffers all vying for your attention!

Your guide will also educate you on the different breeds of sled dogs and how they work as a team in the wintertime. Don't worry, that's done in the yard too, so you can spend the entire time giving some top quality behind the ears scritches.

I cannot recommend this tour enough, get your big dog fix! They're all so friendly and happy it's amazing to see. I hope one day I can return during winter to see them all in action, but the summer kennels is definitely not a poor trade off if you're visiting Canmore outside of the snow season.

The info provided by the guides is 100% accurate though - wear casual clothing you don't mind getting a bit dirty, and make sure you love dogs, if you're unsure around large dog breeds, I would not recommend the summer tour just because you may find it a bit confronting when a 5ft+ tall Malamute puts her paws on your chest and demands pats! They're extremely friendly and very safe, absolutely not aggressive to humans, but to get the most out of the summer tour you should be comfortable in a crowd of big pups!

A huge thank you to our guide from today, Megan who was hugely informative :) and to all the amazing dogs!

Date of experience: September 2018
3  Thank Eloise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

My family loved being surrounded by slobbering huskies and petting the puppies. Clearly well cared for and the interaction helps to ensure that the dogs are well habituated. You have to be a dog lover to visit, but if you are, this might just be a corner of paradise!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank U4630QNandyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend for anyone who enjoys being around dogs. We were so fortunate to be on a tour to the facility that was quite small. Only 5 of us to 183 dogs. The Dog Days of Summer tour gives you 1.5 hours up close and personal with these amazing creature. Learn about them and their winter jobs . We got to see their sole litter of pups this year. Named after the Addams Family. Fun and Very interesting visit (as well as good for the heart & soul.) !!!!Warning ⚠️ take their caution seriously if you have any kind of phobia around dogs, this is very up close and personal with extremely friendly and social animals.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Today my family (including 2 kids ages 9 and 11) went on the Summer Kennel tour. It's a quick bus drive from the office to the kennel. From there, we were greeted by all the beautiful Huskies anxiously waiting. We were able to pet and cuddle them. Jessie was our tour guide and she was very informative. All of the staff were so friendly. I am amazed how they are able to remember all of the dogs' names and each personality. They all have a passion for taking care of these dogs. At the end of the tour, we were able to spend some time with the puppies who were 7 weeks old.
This is one of the best things we've done in Banff!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews