We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog lover's paradise”

Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours, the famous forerunners in sled dog touring and racing in the Bow Valley, created the first dog sledding tours over a quarter of a century ago. With over 30 years of experience and expertise in touring, racing and conservation; we are extremely proud of our Canadian and Albertan roots and look forward to sharing our exceptional experiences with you!Our mission is to educate, entertain and provide our guests with a “once in a lifetime experience!” We employ the most qualified instructors, the friendliest and most beautiful, authentic touring huskies who all receive the best possible dog care. We provide guests with the safest tour offerings, all while ensuring the utmost comfort and superior attention to customer service and detail. Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours excels in its commitment to offer the most genuine dog sledding experience in the Canadian Rockies
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 19 August 2018

My college age daughter and I went on Snowy Owl's kennel tour and it was amazing. The opportunity to interact with so many dogs was a once in a lifetime experience. The dogs are obviously well trained and cared for. It's impressive that the staff know the names of each dog and individual facts about them. The tour ended by playing with a 6 week old litter of puppies that were adorable! Plan to wear clothing that can get dirty and full of dog hair (but it's well worth it!). We would like to come back for a sled dog ride in the winter. This tour is a must for anyone who loves dogs!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"hot cider"
in 34 reviews
"hour tour"
in 69 reviews
"frozen lake"
in 38 reviews
"express tour"
in 10 reviews
"apple cider"
in 10 reviews
"professional photos"
in 7 reviews
"brownie"
in 12 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 39 reviews
"sled ride"
in 15 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 25 reviews
"bucket list"
in 31 reviews
"spray lakes"
in 25 reviews
"halfway point"
in 19 reviews
"longer tour"
in 16 reviews
"from australia"
in 10 reviews
"winter wonderland"
in 7 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 16 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Our family of three, including one very happy teenage lad, are very happy to recommend Snowy Owl's summer kennel tour.
We had an amazing morning meeting their gorgeous dogs, happily playing and providing a lots of cuddles. The guides were very knowledgeable and friendly.
My son took a particular shine to Halo and Brie so say hi from us if you see them!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

This place is awesome. We decided to go here for my friends 39th birthday before hiking Lady MacDonald and the tour was great. When we arrived and seen all the husky’s all up against the fence waiting for us. It was soo cute. The people who work here are amazing. Very passionate and you learn lots about each breed. 182 dogs and they knew all the names and talked to them like total family. This is a must do tour. The price was totally worth what you pay and cheap as far as I can see. The fact the money is clearly going back towards these dogs is amazing. The tour was about 1.5 hrs and we were lucky to arrive when they had 6 week old husky puppies. 5 of them and they were sooo adorable. These dogs are all treated amazing. You can tell how happy they all are and it’s anazing how well they all get along. It was like 1 big doggie daycare of the cutest dogs possible. If you are an animal lover this is one you will want to do over and over again. Me and my friend will be back.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

The teen in our group suggested this as a break from hiking. It was a pleasant change to learn about and interact with the sled dogs.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank lorraineh562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

I took my girlfriend dog sledding for valentines day, and it was a trip we will never forget! It is a long day, so don’t forget to bring some water and extra clothing layers. Some of the most picturesque places I’ve ever been were on this trip, it was absolutely unreal. Our guides were very helpful, and the picnic lunch they brought and cooked for us was delicious as well as filling. I would absolutely do this again, my girlfriend loved the trip and can’t wait to try again this winter!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank TherealAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing