We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday Resort”
Review of Sandy Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandy Beach Motel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The Sandy Beach Motel is the perfect place for a family summer vacation that won't break the budget. Each unit has cooking facilities and there are several gas barbeques on site. The decor is plain but functional, but who would want to spend much time indoors when there is a fabulous private beach just steps away. Sherry and Brent work hard to keep the place immaculate and are very friendly with their guests. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome.
Don't expect daily maid service, but there are lots of extra towels, sheets, etc. available when needed. The motel also has plenty of loungers, kid's beach toys, a kayak, and a canoe for guest use.
The motel has the best beach in Osoyoos. There is plenty of shade and lots of beach area that is kept very clean. The water is shallow there, making it perfect for children.
Osoyoos boasts numerous outstanding wineries within a short drive as well as several great fruit and vegetable stands. Wine, fresh produce, sun and beach. Overall a great vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfieldguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 286 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

Sherry and Brent really put their heart and soul into running this place. They were very hard working and spent a lot of time chatting with their guests, which is a very nice touch. The resort was very well-maintained and the private beach was lovely. Perfect for kids as it was very shallow and there was a safe swimming zone roped off in the water. You are required to take out your own trash and let them know if you need more towels. There is no bed-making service. But I assume that keeps costs down for the guests so that was ok with us. We were just thrilled at the location and kids play park. Our son loved it and we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsW777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Our annual family visit to the Okanagan last week triggered terrible memories of our amazingly shocking treatment by the new owners of Sandy Beach and encouraged me to post our expeirence. We are part of a large group ofdedicated and loyal Sazndy Beach families that have been going to Sandy Beach for decades thatwish to share our extremely disappointing and troubling treatment by the new owners. Their attitude and treatment of the long term guests is appauling and at best juvenile abd better suited to an elementary school playground than a respected long term resort. Our two examples as follows:

#1) Three long term Sandy Beach families iincluding out family were sharing a pleasent evening meal celebrating our families 10th year and the two other families celebrating over 40 years at Sandy Beach. In the middle of dinner Sherry the "new owner" rudly walked up toout private dinner and plopped a new coffee pot on the table and stating "there will be $30.00 added to your invoice for breaking the coffee pot! ( one of the families had unfortunatly broken the 8 year old coffee pot) Ths wasextremely rude and deeply disturbing. We were all stunned. We reflected that the three families were paying almost $7200.00 for our week. This was not the end of the story - the experience of this treatment and incident spread amoung the families. Much to our surprise and deep disappointment when we went to rebook with Sherry for the next year Sherry advised that we would not be allowed to book until we disclosed whicjh family had wrote the letter of complaint. This occured in front of our 8 year old daughter who broke down in tears. I have yet to see any hotel, motel, retaurant that you are not encouraged to share your thoughts and opinions without threat of being banned. In our case all three long term famillies were not allowed to re-book. I personnaly talked to Sherry and was advised that "we should understand that it is a privelege to stay at Sandy Beach"! What a warped sense of buisness development - we will not be going back even if we received an applogy from the new owners.

#2) On the same trip we had some friends visit for a few hours. The wife of the visting family is the Chief Financial Officer for one of the largest and most suucessful restaurant chains in BC and brought her 6 year old twins. Their 6 year old son was playing with our 6 year old son using one of the Sandy Beach water toys. We were quickly apprised by Sherry that this was unacceptable and he was to stop playing/using Sandy Beach "stuff". Again the children were quite upset as we were also upset at this rude treatment.

We are deeply disappointed at this treatment and the lack of understanding and appreciation that it was completly wrong.

Good Luck - "Hope you enjoy the privelege of staying at Sandy Beach"

A deeply disappointed and once loyal Sandy Beach Guest representing 90 years of once enjoyable and memorable times.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Angel_J129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandybeachmotel, Owner at Sandy Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

We have been in the hospitality industry for many years and take pride in the way in which we treat our guests, whether long term or a new guest. We treat everyone fairly and with respect, but when you write a rude & degrading letter, addressing all of the issues outlined in this review and sign it anonymously, we don't feel we were treated with the same respect.
We will not discuss the real reasons why they are not welcome back out of respect for them and their families.
We do have certain policies in place at Sandy Beach that have to do with liabilities. Water toys, such as a canoe and kayak, carry with them liabilities that our insurance company will only cover for our registered guests.
We would like to clarify the statement that we as owners feel priveleged and blessed to be part of this resort, and would hope our guests feel blessed to be here as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We found the Sandy Beach by accident as we were looking for a place to stay for a few nights in Osoyoos. One look at the beautifully kept grounds and villa style buildings and we knew we wanted to stay there. And we were not disappointed. We stayed in one of the new deluxe villas which were amazing but we did have a look at some of the other suites and they looked very comfortable also. All the suites have fully equipped kitchens. The sandy beach was great - lots of sun space but some shady areas for when it got hot in the afternoon. There were lots of beach chairs and for those who want water sports there are several kayaks and canoes. As well there are several BBQ's scattered around the property if you want to do some grilling. Tennis courts, a playground and a badminton/volleyball area make this a something for everyone resort motel. And it was very restful and quiet at night - no loud partiers. Sherry and Brent made us feel like family, Donna on the front desk was extremely helpful and the ladies who made up the rooms were friendly also. We didn't want to go home at the end of our stay but we know we will be back next year!!!

Room Tip: All Suites (except cottages which are in the garden) have a beach view and some are beachfront. Balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deirdre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed in one of the new rooms overlooking the lake. Very nicely appointed. As per usual - awesome service from the managers Sherry and Brent. Kids had a blast! New beds very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GBB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
0.9 km away
Watermark Beach Resort
1.7 km away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
0.5 km away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
1.7 km away
Super 8 Osoyoos
Super 8 Osoyoos
#8 of 26 in Osoyoos
361 reviews
1.7 km away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Osoyoos

Been to Sandy Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Motel

Address: 6706 Ponderosa Dr, Osoyoos, British Columbia, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Osoyoos
#1 Best Value Hotel in Osoyoos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range: $87 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandy Beach Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience a little Mediterranean in Osoyoos. We are a family oriented resort located on a beautiful sandy beach. We offer lakeview studio and two bedroom suites with full kitchens. Amenities for all ages include playground, tennis & volleyball courts, horseshoes pits, canoe, kayak. Complete smoke free property including our beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Sandy Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing