We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect private tour of Vancouver”

Vantoptours - Day Tours
Ranked #4 of 18 Tours in North Vancouver
Attraction details
Reviewed 3 June 2018

We couldn't have been luckier when we found out we could not buy tickets for the Hop-On Hop-Off bus as they couldn't handle the guests they already had! Lucky because we decided to book a last minute 2 hour private tour with Van Top Tours. Ruth, the owner/driver/guide picked us up, literally, on a street corner where we had, unsuccessfully, tried to get the bus and proceeded to give us an overview from Stanley Park to Granville Island and a jaunt through several districts of
Vancouver, all from the comfort of her excellent, spotless, comfortable Mercedes van.
Though she was on her way home from an earlier tour, she accommodated us for the two hours we requested. We were just the two of us, my husband and I, but the van seats at least 6 comfortably. We felt a bit smug as we passed the overcrowded Hop On busses, the guests not looking too happy. The Hop On was 54 CAD per person for the combo park and city routes. Ruth charges 115 CAD per hour and it was well worth it. She stopped when asked and gave a running commentary on the sights, sites, and history of the city. Highly recommend!

Thank worldly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantoptours M, Owner at Vantoptours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Worldly2,
Thank you so much for you amazing review!
It was a pleasure to spend those two hours with you and show you the beautiful city we live in.
I hope that if you are ever back here in Vancouver we can be of your service.
Please take care and blessings to you all.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"city tour"
in 5 reviews
"hotel concierge"
in 6 reviews
"private tour"
in 3 reviews
"great tour"
in 3 reviews
"stanley park"
in 6 reviews
"mercedes van"
in 2 reviews
"comfortable mercedes"
in 2 reviews
"highly recommend this company"
in 2 reviews
"driver guide"
in 2 reviews
"marriott pinnacle"
in 2 reviews
"granville island"
in 3 reviews
"canada place"
in 2 reviews
"capilano suspension bridge"
in 2 reviews
"ruth"
in 19 reviews
"martell"
in 4 reviews
"overview"
in 5 reviews
"neighborhoods"
in 3 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2018

Sightseeing tours were overall well done. Right places, very informative. The tour guide was very kind, and friendly. The bus was very comfortable and had a good view all around. Very knowledgeable, and answered all my questions.

Thank arturojoser2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantoptours M, Owner at Vantoptours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you very much arturojose2016. It was a pleasure having you and your wife with us.
If you are ever back in Vancouver please do not hesitate in contacting us again!
Take care,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

This trip was arranged, last minute. My family of 5 booked a private tour to Victoria and Butchart Gardens to suit our time frame. Ruth our driver arrived in her pristine Mercedes Van, with plenty of space for just the five of us. She provided us with interesting information about Vancouver and the route we were taking. Ruth had the timings and procedures for the ferry off to a tee. We all thoroughly enjoyed our tour and were very grateful to Ruth for fitting us in. On our next visit to Vancouver we will definitely us Van Top Tours again.

Thank ADW62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantoptours M, Owner at Vantoptours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear ADW62,

Thank you so much for your review. We truly appreciate it!
I am glad we were able to help you and that all went well. We always try to make great memories for our guests and hope that when you think of Vancouver you think of happiness and want to come back! We will await for your return!

Kind regards,

Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

My family of 15 people and I arrived in Vancouver after a one week cruise from Alaska. We had no specific plans other than to check into the Downtown Marriott. Our group ranged in age from 9 years to 71 years old. Most of us had never been to Vancouver.
I asked the hotel concierge, Verinda, about the Hop on Hop Off city tour. She thought it would be perfect until she realized that 15 of us (one person was ill), were going. She immediately recommended Vantoptours. Luck was with us because they were available that day, and arrived with 2 vans within the hour.
The owners, Salvatore and Ruth (husband and wife), were our drivers/guides. In four hours they gave us an excellent overview of this beautiful city, including stops in Stanley Park, the Conservatory in Elizabeth Park, and Granville Island. Even the younger children enjoyed the tour, especially because the vans had WiFi.
Vantoptours was so professional that I hired them (their son Nick), to take part of my family the following evening at 10:30pm to the airport and then to take other family members at 4:45am the following morning to the airport.
Their vehicles are new Mercedes vans, very comfortable with excellent visibility for all the passengers.
Vantoptours has my 100% endorsement!

Thank EGSDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantoptours M, Owner at Vantoptours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear EGSDVM,

Thank you so much for your review! It was fun meeting you and your family!
Verinda, the concierge at the Marriott, is very efficient and guides her guests well.
Without her we would of not met you!
As always we hope you created lasting memories of Vancouver that will make you want to come back. We hope to see you again soon and wish you the very best!

Kind regards,

Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2017

This was the best tour for the six of us, four who had never been in Vancouver. Ruth, our driver, took us on a perfect city tour on a very rainy day. She picked us up right at the hotel in a new Mercedes Van at the time we requested and she even provided umbrellas for all of us. She took us to all the major sites and even ones that my husband and I had never been to and really enjoyed, especially the Conservatory. We all felt this tour was well worth the few extra dollars. We loved every minute! Thank you to our Marriott concierge for recommending this great tour and to Ruth our driver!!

Thank ShelburneJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantoptours M, Owner at Vantoptours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear ShelburneJoy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review!
It was a pleasure to be able to show you new places and to be able to create new memories for you and your friends! We hope to be able to help you again any time you come back to our beautiful city.

Thank you,

Kind regards,

Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vantoptours - Day Tours also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Vantoptours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing