We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
60
19
11
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
19
11
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly dogs mini house lonsdale quay other guests sea bus patio doors downtown vancouver lovely home minute walk breakfast was delicious grouse mountain margaret toffee harbour seabus bnb ferry
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Our room was switched out from under us at the very last possible moment, and without warning, to a smaller bed. We argued the point with Margaret for a price adjustment to no avail. It was too late for us to hunt around for another place in an unknown city. We believe that she took advantage of the situation. Also, she was not there to welcome us. A helpful cleaning lady just happened to be there at the time and she was the one who showed us to our room, but it took a while to find it and lug the bags around.
This house is high up on a hill with a beautiful view, but you need to carry your bags up the 15+ very steep steps. Very valuable space in the living room is permanently given to two dogs where guests are not allowed to walk in. There is a sign with shut doors saying to stay away and to not bother the dogs. Because of this, there is not much room to relax and to commensurate with other guests, except during breakfast.
The breakfasts offered were excellent and varied. Margaret really knows how handle many people at the same time, was very clean and kept everything tasty and proper. She has a happy-go-lucky attitude that is infectious. You can tell she has been doing this a while.
The house is a fully remodeled old home that has a lot of charming street appeal. The decorative items within the home were fine, but some might be in need of some revamping by now. The house is in a so-so area, but we did not feel threatened while walking around the neighborhood at any point. Right across the street there is a very large grain storage building complex for ships to load and unload bulk items. It is noisy and very unsightly, the mechanical noise is 24/7. It is very distracting if you have a room facing the street and you have a window/door open. If you close all openings and draw the curtains, then it is OK. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious with all the expected amenities, although the hot water in the shower was a little difficult to adjust. The room was very clean, but it was impossible to sit outside in the balcony in the afternoon because of lack of shade. You can see clearly across the harbour Vancouver and all the surrounding areas.
The shopping area is about 5 or 6 blocks West with varied types of foods and stores, it is pleasant and worth walking to it. There is entertainment though many places close early. In this same area there is a highly convenient "sea bus" that takes you speedily, frequently and very comfortably across the harbour South to Vancouver.

Room Tip: Beware of choosing a specific room as she may switch you without notifying you.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret012, Manager at Ocean Breeze Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Thank you for your review ; most Vancouver 5 stars hotels are located near the water and we all are dealing with some noise from Port activities ;
We have 2 outside patios where you can seat under the umbrella and enjoy shade and lessen to the birds singing ( we have 2 bird nest ! ); our check in time is by appointment only ;
was pleasure to have you here , thank you and wishing you all the best in your traveling ;
Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed four nights at the Ocean Breeze B&B but we already felt like at home. The room was very nice and clean. Big thanks to the lovely Margaret who has always welcomed us with a big smile and a quick chat after the city tours. The breakfast was great. Great experience and best coffee in Vancouver!!! we'll definitely come back. Greta & Roman

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Greta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret012, Owner at Ocean Breeze Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Dear Greta and Roman ; was pleasure having you here :) ; I wish all your dreams to come true ; hope to see you again soon ; Warm wishes, Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We spent a week in the detached suite and loved our time there. Innkeeper Margaret was delightful and accommodating and the rooms fit our needs precisely. We were able to cook simple meals in the kitchenette, relax in the evenings and explore during the days. Not only did we find that Vancouver is one of our favorite cities, we found that North Vancouver is fantastic - quiet, easy to negotiate and homey yet filled with nice food and fun shops. Ocean Breeze is a reasonable walk from the Sea Bus to Vancouver proper, and close to many North Shore attractions. We had a great time and will be back.

Room Tip: The detached suite has a parking space in the rear.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dsam58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret012, Manager at Ocean Breeze Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

I'm very happy that I could make your visit comfortable and memorable ;
Looking forward to your next visit :)
Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

a dirty hotel. my bed was covered with dog's hair. there is two dogs that runs everywhere in that hotel.. no customer service when needed. they close lobby and leave during working ours. I don't recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Karim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret012, Front Office Manager at Ocean Breeze Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Dear Sir ; sorry for your expierience ;
You did checked in to our property accordingly to your request time and because of Holiday Season I did upgrade you ( as a little gift ) with no charge to Ocean view room with king size bed ; room was clean and ready for you however you could always request another room ;
as per front desk duty : after you check in and obtain all informations about internet password , local attractions , best quality / value restaurants we , B&B owners . going back to our other duties and no one will stay by the check in counter for 6 hours ; you did have however my phone # to call as well as phone in your room ( free of charge call ) ; you never call and simply left leaving main door unlocked ( Thanks God this is safe area with no crime at all ) but you should notify me about your action : Your wife wanted to stay with her sister who leaves in my area so this reservation had other backround from the very beginning ;
Wishing you good New Year ; Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

This is a quite old B&B located on a not-easy to find area; the Tiramisu suite is furnished with a refrigerator (quite noisy), a sofa bed, and a bed. The bed is not comfortable, although some foam has been inserted. The rugs and carpets need to be replaced. The host, Barbara, is pleasant and the breakfast (mostly omelette and some yogurt) is adequate. Amenities provided in each room are kept to a minimum. Good location to walk to the pier; not to far from Stanley Park by car; very close to Sea-bus which is quite convenient to get to downtown Vancouver.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank QUANG B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret012, Manager at Ocean Breeze Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2015

Hi ; I'm sorry for your personal experience ; just to make clear : in " Tiramisu suite " is brand new top quality carpet ( maybe 4 weeks old ) , the queen size bed is also brand new with memory foam additionally for optimal comfort ; since this unit has full kitchenette you have plates , pots , wine gasses as well as coffees/ teas , sugar and even some spices ;
Our full breakfast is famous and quoted by well travelled gusts as one of the best while travelling , all is fresh , organic and plenty of choices ( as I have many ingredients );
Regards , Margaret ( my name is Margaret not Barbara ) ;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews