We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time snowboarding”
Review of Grouse Mountain

Grouse Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Just 15 minutes from downtown Vancouver, Grouse Mountain attracts locals and tourists alike. During the summer, guests enjoy hiking, Zip Line Adventures, paragliding, sightseeing, lumberjack shows and more. In winter, we have skiing, snowboarding, snowshoeing, sleigh rides among many other activities. Grouse Mountain also features several different dining venues, from café style at Lupins to casual dining at Altitudes and fine dining as a guest at The Observatory. We also have a refuge for endangered wildlife.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

It was rhe first time i came here and that too for snowboarding no less. Thankfully we were graced with a clear and sunny day. I would recommend arriving early morning to make the most of your day also because parking gets full very quickly.

For snowboarding the forms, getting the gear and storing away ur belongings, everything is very systematic and easy process. The slopes were easy to ride for a beginner like me and they have maps and employees everywhere to help you if you need them... I lost control of my snowboard for a bit and they were very quick to help me before anyone got hurt. All in all a fun filled day and the view makes it even better.

Just an adive: if u a newbie take those lessons they help you in avoid bruising like i did (but that was my own doing and having friends who wanted a good laugh)

Thank 714rus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Hello, Ruchi. Thank you so much for your feedback and review! Snowboarding can be difficult to pick up, but once you get the basics down, it's quite easy to make progress. We're so happy to hear that you easily found everything you needed to make sure you got the best out of your visit. We hope to see you around the mountain again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cable car"
in 354 reviews
"bird show"
in 265 reviews
"chair lift"
in 260 reviews
"gondola ride"
in 258 reviews
"ski lift"
in 183 reviews
"birds of prey"
in 207 reviews
"zip lining"
in 198 reviews
"lumber jack show"
in 101 reviews
"ice skating"
in 61 reviews
"grinder"
in 126 reviews
"canada place"
in 263 reviews
"wood carvings"
in 54 reviews
"grizzly bear"
in 63 reviews
"lumberjack shows"
in 46 reviews
"mountain top"
in 55 reviews
"fantastic views"
in 94 reviews
"free shuttle"
in 152 reviews
Filter

330 - 334 of 4,706 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

My wife, daughter and I decided to head to Grouse Mountain after a morning at Capilano Park. We had a beautiful day and a local said the Skyride to get to the top of Grouse Mountain was a short taxi ride up the hill <$10 each way. So we went for it and got some spectacular views of downtown Vancouver. The pics I included don’t come close to doing justice to what we actually saw.

There are three places at the top of the mountain to eat/drink. There is also a winter clothing/ski store and a souvenir shop.

Tip: If it’s a cloudy day, skip this activity as you’ll have no views.

Thank Changeforapenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and the views as much as we do. Overcast days can definitely restrict the view, but we still have a large number of activities available to enjoy on these days in winter and in summer!

We hope to see you around the Mountain again soon, and we thank you again for your feedback and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We went up to the top with everyone in Vancouver. "If you can see the ground move in!" Once we got to the top the views were amazing looking back at the city. The crowds were not. No places to sit and eat. Every nook and cranny was taken. The line to catch the tram down was an hour long. The great thing was the light walk with snowshoes. What a wonderful sight. Lights everywhere and no crowds. Well worth the effort.

Thank scrollforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback and review. We understand that busy days can be difficult for most everyone, and we do our best to ensure that all of our guests still have a fun and pleasant experience. We are so glad that overall you enjoyed your visit, and are grateful for your feedback so that we can continue making improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Got the seabus and the 236 bus so easily accessible. The views were stunning at top of the mountain. The skyride is highly recommended. If you wish to spend a morning this is a great way to do so.

Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback and your review. We always enjoy hearing that our guests love their visits to our Mountain. We hope to see you around the Mountain again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

This was a truly great experience.
We visited off peak (September 2017) so I expect that there were fewer visitors than during high season, which was good although there probably weren't as many activities.
We went to the top of the mountain which gives incredible views over Vancouver.
The ski lift for the second part of the journey is great fun.
The bears were gorgeous although I did feel sorry for them in their enclosure, but I think I recall being told they were orphans so maybe they cannot be released into the wild.
A great day, would certainly do it again.

Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi Dave,

Thank you for leaving such a kind review. We certainly love the view from on top of the Mountain as well, especially after the Peak chairlift! September is when our summer season is winding down, so we are usually a little less busy then peak summer season. You are also correct about Grinder and Coola, our two orphan grizzly bears. The were orphaned as cubs, and unfortunately are unable to be released back into the wild. But they do enjoy their life in the 5 acre habitat!

We are so glad you enjoyed your day here at Grouse Mountain, and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grouse Mountain also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Grouse Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing