We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusing layout, mixed results”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Rock Casino Resort
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Signage seemed to direct you to the $12 valet parking, since if you didn't take this option, you'd need to go down the street to the free hotel parking that was quite a walk (bring luggage w/wheels!). We walked all lover the place trying to find the reception desk, checked in at the Casino side, but were then sent across the street to a room with the worst view I've ever seen. Industrial, dumpsters, railroad tracks...and the skytrain made noise the entire night, although we didn't hear any of the planes overhead. If you want to visit the buffet, go early and get signed it, it was still an hour wait on wkend. But the food was high-quality and tasty; the selection was limited, but they were above average. If you want the pool, casino, food, you had to cross the street or skybridge to get to it. Pool was filled with children, but large enough to still enjoy, and open until midnight. Appreciated that the casino was smoke-free. Rooms were wonderful; bathroom roomy, beds super-comfortable and you get an espresso machine in-room to use. Coffee shop had stale, tasteless pastries, so maybe go somewhere else for breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the East tower or you'll be out of range of most of the resort activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear KateSeattle_WA,

Thank you for our feedback from your recent stay with us.
Our valet parking attendants will be more than happy to hold your bags in the front while you park your car, alleviating the carrying of suitcases from the parkade. Also, any of our valet, guest services or concierge department (or any other staff for that matter) are more than happy to help you to the front desk or point you in the right direction. We are here to help you. I will pass on your feedback to our pastry chef regarding the pastries at Java Jacks.

We hope to have you stay with us again soon,

Regards,
Roland Monteiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,363 - 1,367 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

Pros:
Close to home
No smoking
All the amenities of a 4 star (minus mini bar)
Great Room Service
On the skytrain
Free Breakfast buffet (vouchers)
Room at the Hotel was nice, bathroom very nice as well
Wonderful staff
Energy Efficient Hotel
Allow Pets

Cons:
Lacking in casual dining options
Not enough selection at bar/restaurant and not all people want to go to a high end restaurant for dinner before the show.
LuLu's needs to be upgraded. It's not a place where you would want to eat.
We went to Curve because it looked nicer but their menu is trying to hard to be fancy when all we are looking for is a burger or something simple and delicious. Very expensive for a small plate of food. Perhaps take after Cactus Club or Earls and add great affordable comfort food.
Pool needs upgrading
Being a Casino destination, there should be a separate adult pool (the pool area is obviously catering to couples with kids). If they want to be more like Vegas this would be an appropriate move.
Should switch to digital from satellite TV

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenick44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Jenick44,

Thank you for choosing The River Rock Casino Resort. I will be passing on your feedback regarding out casual dining options to our Executive Chef . Although Lulu's does accomodate the casual diner, it is definitely has more atmosphere in the evenings with our live bands who play nightly. As for Curve, maybe we need to revamp our menu and we will look into this with our management.
Glad you enjoyed our excellent customer service and we hope to have you back again soon

Roland Monteiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Purchased a Groupon online and got to experience the new Hotel at River Rock. Experienced friendly and helpful staff, modern rooms with good views, nice amenities (fridge, coffee/expresso machine, wall-mounted flat screen tv, huge floor length mirror and wardrobe, safe, robes), a nice bathroom with great towels and a soft floor rug, but terrible beds and pillows - way too soft. Plus, the heating/cooling system in our room was unable to be controlled manually, which was inconvenient and a little annoying.

Parking is not the best. Free gated parking under the hotel is very limited, and the other free parking across the street is a fair distance away and challenging to find when faced with hotel, casino and theatre guests all competing for the same spots. You also have to walk outside to get to the casino and hotel.

Pool area is fun with a great slide, but hot tub is so small for the number of guests using it. Why would the hotel put in such a small hot tub for the size of the property, and especially now that they've expanded the hotel to accommodate even more guests?

Casino is good with a variety of slot machines and tables, and musical entertainment. And it's nice to be able to stay til the wee hours and then walk back to your room with ease.

Breakfast buffet was also good but on Sunday, brunch starts immediately after breakfast (10:30am) and it's very confusing when staff are trying to prepare for brunch when there are still breakfast guests eating. Staff are taking items away and bringing out new items, and breakfast guests aren't supposed to be eating the brunch items even though all guests end up being mixed up together anyways. Very messy of a situation. Food item selection was good, though, and buffet was reasonably priced.

As a hotel staying guest, staff do require you to bill your room in advance of entering the buffet so you will need to know how much gratuity you wish to leave before knowing what kind of service you receive, or you might want to bring some cash with you to leave at the table when you leave.

Hotel check out is early at 11 am, but if you call down to the front desk or operator, they will allow you to stay until 12 without charge.

Not a perfect stay, but we enjoyed ourselves overall and were happy to try the resort.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScreamingBanshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Screaming Banshee,

I am also a big fan of our newly renovated rooms in The Hotel as well ! The Nespresso machines and ipod clocks are such a great addition! We do have numerous parking sites to cater to all of our guests and our free parking by the West Entrance holds over 600 vehicles. Another options if you find the walk a bit too far is to use our valet as they would be happy to park your car for you.
I will pass on your feedback to our Buffet managers about the confusion between breakfast and brunch. They may be able to sort something out so it is not as confusing for guests.
We hope to have you again soon and really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback!

Roland Monteiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

enjoyed a night at this lovely property. i liked the circular winding escalator in the lobby. the rooms were very clean, stylish and high-end looking.

the food at the buffet (included in our bed and breakfast package) was very good, including smoked salmon and eggs benedict.

the employees all seem happy to work there. i received a nice package of chocolates/candies from the concierge which was a nice touch.

a very good value considering the b & b package was $139.99 and the breakfast probably would have been about $30 pp if charged separately.

went to see gladys knight perform and was very impressed with her.

i would highly recommend a stay here. we will come again for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnarita1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Donnarita1964,

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and Gladys Knight show this past weekend. We strive to expand our Buffet offerings to meet everyones needs and will pass on the feedback to the management team.
We hope to have you come back and stay again soon

Regards,

Roland Monteiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This Hotel is veryy nicely done but only seems to cater to people who are interested in the Casino. The shows would eb a draw but there were none during our stay. The location is quite out of the way if you are wanting to experince all of Vancouver.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Tod A,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. We most definitely try to cater to all of our guests at River Rock. Other than our casino, we also have a wonderful spa, 3 restaurants, a full amenity gym & show theatre. Continue to check out website for upcoming shows as this Spring Summer is going to be packed full of amazing stars! Also a quick way to get to Vancouver in 16 minutes is The Canada Line skytrain system. It is such a great addition to our Resort. We hope to have you back again soon.

Roland Monteiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Hilton Vancouver Airport
#5 of 23 in Richmond
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport
Bridgeport
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rock Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Casino Resort

Address: 8811 River Rd, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 3P8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Richmond
#3 Family Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#6 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: AU$204 - AU$515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Rock Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Rock Casino Resort is Western Canada's only 4-Diamond Casino Resort located in Beautiful British Columbia. Situated next to the Fraser River in Richmond, River Rock's stunning location has waterfront and city views of Vancouver and the North Shore Mountains. With the Canada Line train system right at the resort's doorstep, getting to downtown Vancouver is only 18 minutes away and the Vancouver International Airport (YVR) is just a quick 7 minute ride. The resort features deluxe King or two Queen guest rooms and luxurious one and two bedroom suites - River Rock has something to suit everyone. Amenities include a sprawling salt water pool with waterslide, show theatre with regularly scheduled entertainment, 24-hour casino, 10 food and beverage outlets including lobby Starbucks, all day buffet, food court and fine dining, Absolute Spa, fitness centre, business centre. River Rock Casino Resort has everything you need to create the perfect mix for both business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your River Rock Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Rock Richmond
River Rock Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing