We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a makeover...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“In need of a makeover...”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We were looking for a hotel in Richmond that had suites, as we were travelling with 2 small children. The Sandman Hotel was one of the very few that offered this amenity. While it was nice to be able to have two separate bedrooms for the family, I think this hotel could do with some updating. The decor, furniture, lobby, elevators, everything looked dated and shabby. The staff seemed preoccupied and weren't very helpful, either.

However, the suite itself was quite nice - we had a bedroom in a loft up a short flight of stairs from the living room, which had a pullout bed. Adequate for a couple of nights' stay while we explored Richmond and Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiddleGirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    127
    115
    39
    20
See reviews for
81
127
42
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith BC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The shuttle was great it only took a few minutes each way. Though small, the room was clean and the bed comfortable, we left early so never had breakfast. Went to the pool, it was good.
Had dinner at Moxie's and that was excellent.
For one night it was great.

Room Tip: away from the elevator if you are a light sleeper, the pool spa area was nice. The shuttle service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwaine and Mand... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ucluelet, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We recently stayed at the sandman airport, which we have stayed at before, we choose this hotel because of its proximity to the airport and the parking while away on vacation. The hotels price is very good managing to get it secured below 90 Canadian . It has decent rooms a little small but average decent washrooms and all the supplies you may need , shampoo soaps, blow dryer etc.
The shuttle service is excellent and starts at 4 am , plenty of time to be there before most flights down south. We arrived home after the week and the shuttle was not operating after midnight and we called the hotel and they told us to get a cab and they would pay for it. A nice touch I thought.
We think that this hotel is a good bargain for your dollar and meets all the needs you have for a short stopover stay.

Room Tip: Check to see first if the parking is included, it may be an extra charge so inquire first,even if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripping192016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This hotel is a good choice for a quick stopover on your way through YVR. They have a free shuttle service to/from nearby YVR, clean and comfortable rooms, and restaurants and other amenities nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for something bigger than their minimum size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TekyJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Our stay at this hotel was ok. On our outward bound visit our room was in the process of being redecorated, it appeared to be half completed, and the room was dirty. On returning home we had a nice clean room right across the hall from the very noisy ice maker. The shuttle service was a little late in picking us up but the driver was very friendly. The front desk staff were also very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Bridgeport
Travelodge Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport

Property: Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport
Address: 3233 St. Edwards Dr, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 3K9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Price range (per night): $146 - $353
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simple 10 minute drive from Vancouver International Airport (YVR), Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport has easy access to downtown Vancouver, shopping, museums, and restaurants via the Canada Line SkyTrain, Vancouver's rapid transit line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Richmond
Sandman Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing