We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Little Getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ramblers Barn

Log burning stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Log burning stove
Plenty of character. It doesn't get better than this. Low lighting for romantic, classics rests away from work and the big smoke
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
62 reviews
Log burning stove
Plenty of character. It doesn't get better than this.
Low lighting for romantic, classics rests away from work and the big smoke
Ramblers Barn is on the left by the road
Paintings for sale
The Round Robin walk up the lane by the barn
A break with a unique different
Home comforts in our beautiful barn
Painters, artists, musicians, writers and walkers are welcome
Parking space
Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
harve91
Sandbach, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Little Getaway!”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed for a couple of nights and loved it, the weather was rubbish but it didn't really matter we got the place nice and toasty with the log burner and underfloor heating, would highly recommend for a relaxing break. Kitchen had everything we needed and the bed was comfy, the bathroom is small but it wasn't a problem. Thanks we will be back again soon. Paul and Lisa

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W
1 review
“Cosy retreat”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We came for a 2 night November getaway and this was a cosy place to come back into from a cold walk. It had everything we needed for our stay and in fact with the books, DVDs and games it would've been fine if we were snowed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WM33
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely converted Barn and amazing location!”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My wife and I stayed here for a week in September. We had not visited the Peak District before so didn't know much about the local area or where would be best to stay but found this property on Trip Advisor and were impressed by the previous reviews. It certainly lived up to expectations. The location was great, nicely in the countryside but still within easy reach of some of the popular towns and villages in the Peaks. Bakewell and Buxton are both only around 30 minutes away by car. There is plenty to see and do within walking distance of the Barn too. Hartington is only a couple of miles away and there are so many great walks you could go on nearby, a week was not nearly enough time!

The Barn itself was lovely and just what we wanted for a relaxing week away. It has been converted with lots of modern features (the under-floor heating in the kitchen and the bedroom mezzanine are great!) but still has a traditional feel. There is wood burner downstairs in the living room area too which we really liked. And plenty of wood is provided in the wood store by the front door to keep you going!

We had such a great time in the Peak District and loved our stay in the Barn. We would certainly recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing time away. I can honestly say we couldn't find fault with anything or at least not anything that is worth worrying about! There is hardly any mobile phone signal at the Barn but that was actually quite nice. The Barn has Wi-Fi anyway so you are not completely cut off! All in all Ramblers Barn definitely gets 5 stars from us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare R
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend break”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Me and My partner stayed here for 3 nights in June for my partners birthday, we wanted somewhere by the peak district and close to Alton Towers as we were going there on the Monday.

Our intentions were to explore the area and walk around, we walked to the nearby village via the pathway at the side of the house and had a lovely meal there, the next day we visited ashbourne and went to Dovedale on the Sunday which was lovely.

To be honest we didnt want to leave the cottage!! it was so cosy and romantic and loved getting cosy by the log fire and watching films on the projector, we took our laptop and had wifi in the room so was able to watch anything on there. We played scrabble and cards and ate in most nights and had a lovely breakfast as everything was there for us in the kitchen. Bed was really comfy and an all round amazing weekend!! Would definatley go back.

Thanks

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zjum
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect stay for a countryside getaway”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A lovely converted barn, very nicely decked out. Location is perfect for walkers as you're literally on a walking path straight out of the accommodation. Biggin has a great pub and a hotel to eat at. And there's so much to see locally. Wholeheartedly recommend staying here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Thanks for your review. Hope you can come back soon.
Toots x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing