We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Weekend Away”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Farrowings

Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
The Old Farrowings Wood-burning stove to make the cottage really cosy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
The Old Farrowings
Wood-burning stove to make the cottage really cosy.
Kitchen with everything you need for your stay.
Sitting room looking into the open-plan kitchen.
Dining area
Kitchen with granite worktops.
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Sitting Room with rugs and flagstone floor.
Bedroom with king-size bed, antique sofa and plenty of storage space.
Antique pine cupboard with plenty of shelves for clothes!
Tennis court
View towards village
Patio area
Monastic barn
Outside The Old Farrowings cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
sabz510
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Away”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Me and my boyfriend had a lovely weekend away at Biggin Grange. We were greeted by Jane who showed us around the lovely cottage and thoroughly enjoyed the homemade ginger cookies! (I had five!). She then left us to it and we had a lovely and relaxing weekend away from all the hustle and bustle.

The cottage is in a beautiful, quiet setting overlooking the countryside, with chickens, ducks and sheep as neighbours. We even managed to enjoy a glass of wine on the private patio area with the lucky weather! The bed was by far the comfiest bed I have ever slept it! I didn't want to leave, and returning to my own bed on Sunday was a big let down! The wood burner is a lovely feature and allowed us to have warm, cosy evenings after cooking in the well-equipped kitchen.

The cottage itself is in a quiet spot near the main house, about a 5 minute drive from Hartington where there is a shop with all the essentials, a pub and a great cheese shop (we sampled all three). We did a hike in Dove Dale on the Saturday, which is about a 25-30 minute drive from the cottage, and also visited Chatsworth which is just under a 40 minute drive and well worth a visit.

We both had a wonderful time away from work, away noise and commotion and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to couples looking for a relaxing break in the Peaks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed!
Liked least: Shower could have been more powerful.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
Thanks so much for writing a review and I am glad you had a nice time exploring the Peak District. Do come back and see us again! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
I am so pleased you had a nice few days after coming down from Yorkshire. The sheep will soon be moving and then we get beautiful chocolate brown and black cows to gaze at which we all enjoy. Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elizabeth...
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Country Cottage”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The Old Farrowings had everything we could have wanted for a 2 night getaway to the country. Biggin Grange was easily found using Jane's directions and we received a very friendly, personal greeting on arrival (including homemade shortbread!).

The cottage is extremely well equipped with everything from reliable wifi to a coffee machine to maps of local walks and restaurants. The wood burning fire makes the living area and kitchen very cosy; the bedroom and bathroom were very spacious with a very comfortable 4 poster bed.

The uninterrupted views from the cottage were beautiful, particularly during a brief snowfall!

Have already recommended Biggin Grange to several friends - Thanks again Jane & Richard!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2015
That's great you had a nice couple of days and thanks for taking the time to write a review. You must come back again when the weather gets better but I'm pleased even February in Derbyshire ticked the box for you! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJB_85
1 review
“A perfect little country hideaway!”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Thank you so much Jane! We had a fantastic weekend - The Old Farrowings is beautiful! We stayed for two nights just after the snow had been. The main roads were clear and the fields just looked magical with their thick snow. We were greeted by Janes father (even in the dark, cold and ice!) the cottage was lovely and warm but naturally we took the opportunity to light a fire - easy instructions left if you've never used a log burner. Also coal/kindle/logs enough for two nights. Any extra you would have to buy at a reasonable price.

The free wifi was essential as signal is poor but who needs signal when you're away! We unpacked and enjoyed our homemade flapjacks (thank you!) and tea/coffee which was already availiable.

The kitchen has everything you need to cook including foil/oil/salt/pepper thank goodness as I'd forgot these!

Onto the bedroom....wow the bedroom is gorgeous! Such comfy bed/bedding! Lots of plug sockets, tv, radio and buxton water! Brilliant!

The bathroom is also huge with bath and seperate shower. Lovely smellies are left to enjoy soap/shower cream etc. The floors are cold due to being stone/tiles but don't worry everything is thought of as you have complimentary slippers! Perfect!

Jane helped us with where to eat on our second night, although we opted to walk to The Waterloo Inn due to the snow. Lovely little village pub filled with walkers, dogs and open fires. We stayed most of the afternoon and walked back (thank you for the torch!) across the fields.

The Old Farrowings is simply perfect, we will definitely be visiting again. Probably because the folder left with ideas of things to do still had so many more ideas!

I would absolutely recommend anyone to go!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
What a nice review! My Father will be thrilled he was mentioned in a review! So pleased you had a relaxing break in the Peak District and glad you enjoyed the cottage. Thank you very much. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralphy198...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just the perfect little hideaway in the Peak District”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you're travelling to the Peak District this is the perfect little place to base yourself. Very good location within close enough distance to all the major attractions in the area.

The property itself is just perfect if you're looking for some peace and quiet. Lovely little place which has everything you need for either a weekend or longer trip. The log fire burner is one of the best features of this place along with what is a very large main bedroom!

I wouldn't hesitate to return and Jane, the manager, is a delight to liaise with.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Really pleased you had a nice couple of days in the cottage and do come back and see us again in the future if want to escape again! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing