We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
33
15
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
15
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pies freshly baked bread cape town friendly staff salad preserves stretch your legs braai meat worth a stop wonderful stay great stop overnight stop lamb pie an oasis campsite stars cottage
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We stayed over at Kambro farm on our way from Johannesburg to Cape Town & back. Units are fully equipped with all kitchen & braai utensils required. Complimentary bread was great. The hosts were very friendly when we booked and arrived. The sunset and Karoo stars are beautiful. Lovely farm, tranquil, well kept, we felt very safe. Units are spotless and comfortable. The farm stall stocks delicious meat pies, preserves, olive oil, biltong and hand craft items.

Room Tip: Book accommodation in advance. The farm was relatively quiet when we slept over the first time. A week later it was almost fully booked.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, Owner at Kambro Accommodation & Farmstall, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hello, thanks for your kind words. It was nice meeting you and hope that we will see you again. Living in the beautiful Karoo is really a privilege and we want to share it with everyone. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Hosts very friendly!
We even received a freshly baked bread. Accommodation: clean!!!! Snug & cozy! Highly recommended!
Louis, very professional, he went out of his way to ammend our booking. True, South African hospitality. Thank you.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank elsiab2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Arrived late afternoon after riding from Hermanus (5 motorcycles). Warm reception. Quick check-in, and off to our chalet. First impressions last. Very neat, practical, and everything you need to enjoy your stay. You can braai (BBQ) or order from the on-site restaurant/take-away/convenience store. We chose to order food. Sitting on the porch enjoying the silence as well as the sunset, afforded us a perfect end to a perfect day. This place is very basic, yet practical, peaceful, neat and tidy. The wide open spaces are beautiful. The sound of sheep bleating in the not too distant veld, added to the beauty of this place. I intend returning to spend a day or two there. Simply to enjoy the sounds of silence. The peace and tranquillity. Really great stop-over place.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank StephenVivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

This farmstall is a landmark. We stopped and enjoyed lunch – pies and salads. It was delicious. The farm stall is filled with very interesting fare and we bought a few gifts. Well worth a stop. Safe parking and clean toilets.
Ideal for perfect break.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kardoesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Lamb pies and ginger beer for lunch were excellent! We took it as a takeaway to enjoy later in the day. Wish I bought more...
Clean toilets. Tables under the lovely trees to have lunch. The shop smelled like freshly baked bread and there are quite a few nice products to purchase.
Highly recommended! I think next time we’ll sleep over too!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ElmienSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews