We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most amazing location”

Review of Barge Aground

Barge Aground in St Ouen's Bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barge Aground in St Ouen's Bay.
Barge Aground is perfect for the whole family. The living area with spectacular views down to the bay.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Barge Aground in St Ouen's Bay.
Barge Aground is perfect for the whole family.
The living area with spectacular views down to the bay.
Barge Aground was beautifully restored in 2006
The fully equipped kitchen
Barge Aground has direct access to the beach and is great for watersports.
The roof terrace is accessed via the living area.
St Ouen's beach is a surfer's paradise.
Barge Aground has two identical bunk rooms.
The view from the roof terrace
The shower room.
The living area with double sofa-bed.
The outside terrace is great for BBQs.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
St. Ouen, Jersey, Channel Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vincehone
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“The most amazing location”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My wife & I have stayed here twice. First in 2010 and again in 2011.
The location is one of the best that can be found. The property is beautifully located right beside to the sea wall , west facing with the most beautiful sunsets right outside the patio doors.
It is such a peaceful spot and quite private in its own quirky way. We slept on the soda bed in the main lounge room with the sound of the waves right outside, this place us quite extraordinary in so many ways.
The kitchen is well equips and the bathroom is great with a nice powerful shower.
We love this place , it us turkey unique and a very special place to stay.
We thoroughly recommend Barge Aground to anyone wanting a romantic beech hideaway.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are delighted that you had such a lovely time at Barge Aground and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katkins99
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One-of-a-kind”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a truly unique place that is as memorable as some of the sights that we saw around Jersey.

Built by a wealthy man, used as a Nazi cantina during the war, as a clinic, and then by the Boy Scouts, this little place has quite a history. No, there's no wifi or washing machine, and we had to sleep in bunk beds, but it was absolutely worth it.

It was a little too cool and breezy during our March stay to make good use of the patio and rooftop, but those would be prime locations for breakfast or dinner in the summertime. We appreciated the welcome pack (for overseas visitors only?) of bread, butter, and milk. The floors in the bathroom (and towel rack) and kitchen were heated, nice!

There are a few good restaurants along the beach road: Le Braye, El Tico, and La Pulente. We considered not renting a car and making due with the bus, but even if the weather had been warmer and the days longer, the distances are such that I'd recommend getting a car.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2014
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your feedback and glad you had an enjoyable stay at the historic Barge Aground.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie S
Seguin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming site; Great location”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This goes down as one of the most unique places I've stayed. The heritage society has done a fantastic job of bringing this 1930's folly back to its art deco roots. Situated right on St. Ouen's Bay - with private beach access, this is the perfect place to get away from it all. But Jersey is so small that if you have a car (recommended) it's easy to slip into one of the island's towns for dinner or sight-seeing and make it back to the Barge Aground for a quiet evening on the beach. It is simply a delightful place to stay. Note: the management very nicely provides coffee, tea, a loaf of bread, butter, and milk. They will also provide directions to the closest grocery store.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A toss up between the location and the charming decor.
Liked least: No wif-fi, but then isn't that the point of getting away?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2013
Thank you for your review and apologies for the delayed response, it has been such a busy summer for us here at Jersey Heritage. I am delighted that you had such a great time and truly appreciated the beauty of Barge Aground, it is such a unique place. We hope to welcome you back to one of our properties in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing