We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Place to Learn What it Means to be...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Patio Deck on the Property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Patio Deck on the Property
The Cottage The Cave
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The Patio Deck on the Property
The Cottage
The Cave
Kitchen
Veranda
Beds
Bathroom
Bathroom
Patio with Sunsail
At the Patio
On the Patio
On the Patio
Relax in the Garden
At the Property
Enjoy the Sunset
View from the Cave
On the Property -The Cave
The Cottage
The Cottage
On the Property
From the Property !
Your Dinner?
James Bond Beach
Fishermen´s Beach
James Bond Beach
Fishermen´s Beach
At Reggae Beach
At the Waterfall
Waterfall
Exploring the Surroundings
Tour to Firefly
On Tour
Beautiful Jamaica
The Main House
'Doctor Bird' on the Property - Jamaica Natioal Bird
Newborn Turtles
View from the Property
Sunset view from the Property in May
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Oracabessa, Saint Mary Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
22man
Saratoga Springs NY
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place to Learn What it Means to be Jamaican”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
4
people found this review helpful

My wife Max and I are Jamaicaphiles. I taught here for 2 years many years ago , we were married here and have visited several times. Max wanted to know what it was like to live here and Real Jamaica was the best way to do it.

Papa Curvin, his wife Joanna, the property cook/cabin keeper Grace, the groundskeeper Basil, the woodworker/Jack of all trades Bird, King Harris - all these people and more became our family during our 3 week stay.

We had parties. One night it was a Jamaica/Rasta music night, another was an impromptu birthday party for me, with everyone showing up with a cake baked by Miss Shirley just down the road and some instruments and spending an hour or two singing on our porch.

The deck was always a spot where you could count on a cooling breeze while listening to the waves crashing against the rocky shore beneath you, Miss May's little store was just around the corner, Rasta Joel was across threw street, serving hand squeezed juices and Dr. Bones was grilling jerk chicken almost every night.

The Skyliner Marching band rehearsed 2 or 3 times a week just a hundred meters away and invited us to come to one of their performances. We got to go to Gibraltar Beach and help the newborn turtles in their dash for the sea, we were taken to a small coffee plantation in the hills near Port Antonio by Humphrey and Gilbert.

There is touring and there is travel. Touring means going to an all inclusive and never leaving the grounds unless you are on a tour bus. Travel is meeting the people who make the country what it is, talking to them and learning from them. Travel will do two things for you - it will teach you to appreciate what you have, wherever your home is, and it will teach you that we can learn so much from other cultures. That is Real Jamaica.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people
Liked least: The mosquitos
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
130710
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a lovely time we just spent here. 3days of rest well needed on that start of our trip.
We loved our cabin and having such lovely people around us made our stay easy and relaxed. The views awesome ,perfect place to spend my birthday. Sunshine, great food and great people.
We loved the dogs too.
Thank you thank you thank you.
Feeling Blessed :-) xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Thank you so much! It was great having you here - bless up!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheri501
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Real Retreat in Jamaica”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

i reserved one of the 3x cabins for 7x nights in August 2014. The property is completely private, safe and secluded from the hustle and bustle of the nearby town. The tress and gardens surrounding the cabins are beautiful and well kept. Papa Curvin is a delightful host and upon arrival he showed me the decking area and pointed out the meditation cave.
The cabin was very clean and equipped with everything anyone may need. It was the only property during my 3-weeks travelling around Jamaica that provided hot water on demand for bathing.
Grace was very kind and took care of all the housekeeping.
Provisions can be purchased in the little shop right across the road from the property, or you can take a short drive and visit the local market and supermarket opposite for fresh fish, fruits and vegetables. The local vendors were very friendly and assisted with a flat car battery on one of the shopping trips.
Wifi is available although not inside the cabins but it is just a few minutes walk to the main house where there is a strong signal.
If you want a holiday with none stop action then this may not be the ideal place for you. If you want peace, tranquility and meditation then i couldn’t think of a more perfect place to call your base.
The highlight for me was sitting on the decking area in the evenings listening to the sea and star gazing. Bliss.
I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Real Jamaica to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The freedom to roam around the property tasting all the various fruits grown there. Enjoyed lying on the deck overlooking the ocean - just relaxing listening to the waves and at nights looking up at the stars and across the ocean.
Liked least: Difficult to say.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing