We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thoroughly recommend”
other traveller has booked this property
Front of Property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Property
Double ensuite room with kingsize bed Bathroom for double ensuite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Front of Property
Double ensuite room with kingsize bed
Bathroom for double ensuite
The Suite room with the kingsize bed
The other side of the Suite room with two single beds
The Suite room ensuite bathroom
Les Grands Magneux dining room
Les Grands Magneux lounge
The patio at the back of the house
The back garden above the patio area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Bessines-sur-Gartempe, Haute-Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
PaulCarol...
Ashtead
1 review
“Thoroughly recommend”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We were lucky enough to stay with Mark and Jacqui for 2 nights both on the way and return journey to The South of France. it was easy to find Les Grands Magneux B & B being only 10 mins from the motorway. We were delighted to find such a lovely property in a wonderfully quiet location. We received a warm welcome from Mark & Jacqui, who were great hosts. Our room was large, comfortable and bright overlooking the Hamlet, the en-suite was huge with a fabulous shower. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Les Grands Magneux is a couple of kilometres from the nearest restaurant so we took advantage of Marks home cooking. Mark and Jacqui offer a 4 course meal evening meal, which was excellent home cooked food with local cheeses and wine - not to be missed. Les Grand Magneux is an excellent place for an overnight stop or a longer holiday as the are plenty of activities locally as well as the beautiful countryside to explore. Well worth a visit and we will certainly be returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Friendly hosts/comfortable bed/lovely food
Liked least: The very long walk to the local bar/restaurant
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Travelling through France”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in April 2013

While travelling through France we stayed for a short break in Les Grands Magneux B&B, it's an old French house surrounded by beautiful countryside in a quiet hamlet. The accommodation was just great ,it was clean & tidy,we had comfortable beds,and the food was excellent. The owners Mark&Jacqui were very friendly and they were able to advise us on places to visit. Being handy for the motorway, and only 5minutes away from lake Saint Pardoux we were well pleased .WE will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The accommodation & friendly service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmf13
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous place, fabulous people”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Stayed here with my wife for a few days in the summer, as we hadn't been for a decent trip into Europe on the bike together. This was a fabulous choice of place to stay, as the directions made it easy to find & even parking a bike was no issue. Mark & Jacqui are wonderful hosts & the accommodation was both luxuriously comfortable & true to it's surroundings. Think rustic French farmhouse charm, with grounds & scenery to match. The rear garden backs onto open land & we had the delight of seeing deer staring at us in the bathroom, looking equally as intrigued as us ! There is plenty of wonderful countryside to explore, as well as other places of interest, including Oradour Sur Glane, a few miles away. The food was delicious local cuisine & cooked to French standards, by a very English host - wonderfully washed down with excellent choices of wine. What can I say ? It's perfect for staying in as your main location, or stopping over en-route further south.... in a car, on a motorbike, or, with the wonderful roads around, as part of a cycling holiday - oh, & if you fish - you're spoilt for choice of lakes. I can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedroom & view from it too.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo G
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful, typically French house set in tranquil countryside, wonderfully hosted by the owners”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I had a rare few days alone and was looking for a complete escape from my hustle, bustle life and this is exactly what I found. As I arrived in the village, the houses were typically French, full of charm and character. Jacqui and Mark's house is no exception. Inside the house is old and characterful, but has been sympathetically renovated to a very high standard. My room was clean and the en-suite was huge. The view from my room was amazing overlooking the countryside and rooftops.
The first evening the owners cooked for me and we ate together on the terrace area. Great food, wine and company. Jacqui and Mark are wonderful hosts.
During my stay I visited the lake at Saint Pardoux, where I kayak'd and swam from one of the man made beaches. I also cycled around the country lanes which was a great way to take in the local countryside.
I would definitely re-visit this area and take my children as there would be plenty for them to do at the 'beaches' and I would also stay at Les Grands Magneux again as they have a lovely family room which would be ideal for me and my children.
This break was the tonic I was looking for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view from my room
Liked least: The big spider in my room (which the owner caught for me!)
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ploufi55
binche belgique
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation

Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing