We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage, great hosts and beautiful quiet...”
other travellers have booked this property
Byre Holiday Cottage Shepherd's hut
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Byre Holiday Cottage Shepherd's hut
Byre Holiday Cottage Byre Holiday Cottage Pond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Byre Holiday Cottage Shepherd's hut
Byre Holiday Cottage
Byre Holiday Cottage Pond
I live here
Wellie..our new addition 1st September 2014-Ghilly's nephew aged 8 weeks
New Garden Room at night April 2014
Byre Holiday Cottage garden
Byre Holiday Cottage garden
Byre Holiday Cottage bedroom view
Byre Holiday Cottage woodland  over 30 acres
Byre Holiday Cottage blue bells
Byre Holiday Cottage ride to the woodland
Byre Holiday Cottage tennis court
Woodland Pigs
Friendly Rams! View from Byre Bedroom window
Byre Cottage View from Grounds
Byre Cottage Garden Produce
View Byre Cottage Entrance
Byre bedroom
Byre Shepherd's hut
Byre Bath &  Shower  room
Byre lounge 2017
Byre Garden room 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Westfield, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
TonyP557
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Lovely Cottage, great hosts and beautiful quiet location.”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed here with our 8 month old puppy Hector for a week and it was ideal. There are 30 acres of woodland in which to take the dog for morning walks and we were often accompanied by the owners dog(s) which was great for Hector. There is lot's to see and do around here and I have to mention the Bluebell Tea Room in Battle which has the best scones I have tasted and an exceptional afternoon tea altogether. We went twice and now I have to run a few extra miles. Didn't eat out much otherwise so cannot really comment on local restaurants etc. but we would definitely return as there is still lot's to see and do around this area which we didn't get a chance to do. The hosts were great and really helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Totally agree about Bluebell tearoom in Battle! Hope your open gardens went well despite the weather.
Do hope we will see you in the future.Wellie is missing the adorable Hector.
Julia Paul Ghilly and Wellie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBridges4...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing base to explore East Sussex”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Julia and Paul were great hosts, a warm welcome and very informative. Set in beautiful countryside The Byre was well equipped and comfortable, an ideal base to return to after a day exploring the area. A very relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The shower, needs updating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Always nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay.Shame the weather wasn't a little warmer.We hope to welcome you in the future.
Julia & Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureenla...
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Had a wonderful week at Byre Cottage -I have no hesitation in recommending it to potential visitors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Thank you.Hope to welcome you and Ollie the Collie again soon.
Julia & Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
321Robert
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WHAT A LOVELY PLACE”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have stayed here on 3 occasions and each time , the welcome here has been tremendous .Pattletons is situated ,firstly down a country lane , and secondly down a track to the accommodation. This means is is very secluded and the only noise in the morning is the bird song . What more could any one want . In the guest book , visitors return time and time again . Book in quick .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2016
It was lovely to welcome you both again and always good to hear you enjoyed your stay in our peaceful spot!. Hopefully see you next year.
Julia and Paul.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire W
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb, what more can we say”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a fantastic week in this lovely cottage with our dog. Paul and Julia were very accommodating, letting us help ourselves to their lovely fresh vegetables direct from their allotment. Julia also kindly looked after our dog one afternoon when we went to visit a local house and garden.
The woods that they own are suberb and very secure. Maggie had a wonderful time scampering around with her new best friend Welly. She also became very pally with their other dog Ghilie. We will definitely be putting The Byre on our list to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The conservatory and the woods.
Liked least: Nothing!!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Glad you had a nice stay.Hope to see you next year!
Wellie and Ghilly will be delighted to see Maggie again....and given any opportunity.... steal her dinner! We are enjoying glorious Autumn colours in our woods,so September/October are good months to visit.
Julia & Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing