We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch, great service”

The Bletchingley Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Since our purchase and refurbishment of the pub in 2014 we are delighted with our great new look pub and feel proud to be part of the Bletchingley community. We are able to offer something to suit all ages, from bar snacks and a pint, to a 3 course slap up meal to a private dining room with TV for major sporting events, meetings and celebrations.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had pre booked a table for our family of 6. As requested we were allocated a ‘quiet cosy’ table for our family lunch. We were seated quickly and served in a reasonable time. The decor was lovely and seating comfortable. Fresh and clean. The menu was good with a choice of specials too. We enjoyed the prawn lollipops with sweet chilli sauce and prawn crackers, melting cheese balls, burgers, duck special (cooked perfectly - medium) and gnocchi and pumpkin special with chilled Sauvignon Blanc and soft drinks for the children. Reasonably priced for lunch with excellent service from our waitress. Some ingredients were missing from dishes. However the staff apologised for this. Extra sauces were bought when requested. We loved the outside area with its cosy cabins too. Would definitely return and recommend.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank mrsa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barons D, General Manager at The Bletchingley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks MrsA, always lovely to receive such super feedback! Thanks for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon :o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I came in from my 50 mile daily cycle and needed some food. I sat down on a lovely table by the window and was greeted by Ruth. She was very nice and gave great service and I left a large tip. The food I ate that day helped my cycle home. Thanks Ruth!

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Dantheman136743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barons D, General Manager at The Bletchingley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow - 50 miles?! No wonder you needed some food! Glad to hear that you were well looked after and received such good service from our lovely Ruth. Hope to see you again next time you are cycling in the area :0)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent lunch midweek easy to find very popular pub located on main A25 on edge of Bletchingley village
The food was good quality, and the beer was very well kept

Service was very good

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peterbaker40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barons D, General Manager at The Bletchingley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for this lovely review and feedback Peter, we hope to welcome you again soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have visited The Bletchingley Arms many times before, and still their menu resolutely remains the same!! We visited late in the evening and we were placed at a table near the bar. Our order was taken promptly and the meal was starter and main course were delivered in a timely fashion, food was of good quality although 2 of the 3 'specials' choices were not available! (They only do the specials to try and vary the long-standing unaltered menu so this was disappointing as we have virtually tried the whole menu!....and then it started to go wrong. The staff seemed to switch off - We ordered more drinks only to see them sat at the bar for 10 minutes, so we decided to retrieve them ourselves. We finished our main courses and were left with our plates in front of us for about 30 - 40 minutes. Eventually again we took it upon oursleves to clear the tables. I took these to the manager, who was sat doing paperwork at the next table, he apologised and took the plates. We were then left and not offered desserts, we had to go to the bar and ask for coffee whilst the staff proceeded to chat and laugh about a plate of food one of the waitresses had dropped earlier. We complained to the barman (one of the only staff who appeared to be working) who called the manager over. The manager apologised and said that because they had a busy day, the staff had switched off, and offered us a discount off the meal but that really wasn't the point. You go out for a meal for the experience and the service, and it was poor on both counts. Extremely disappointing, we will not be returning anytime soon.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Curious19732981439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barons D, Customer Relations Manager at The Bletchingley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I'm really sorry to hear about this very disappointing dining experience. Please can you email me your contact telephone number and I will call you to discuss the issues in more detail? My email address is: debbie.eke@baronspubs.com
Many thanks in anticipation.
Kind regards
Debbie Eke
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for a family birthday, used the private room. They are very friendly and food is lovely but slightly over priced! Other than that you can’t go wrong !

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank csims2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barons D, General Manager at The Bletchingley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely review and feedback - we hope to see you again soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bletchingley Arms also viewed

Bletchingley, Surrey
Warlingham, Surrey
 

Been to The Bletchingley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing