We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely remake of a old cottage”

Loughcrew Megalithic Centre
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Oldcastle
Price range: USD 2 - USD 11
Restaurant details
Reviewed 30 December 2015

The Centre has a toilet (very useful!), a cafe (not bad place, quite simple in decor but it would be nice if they have a visible price list) and the remake of a cottage in the early 1900 (or older). That was interesting but I would advice to visit this attraction only combined to the visit of the tomb and cairns on the hill nearby. The place alone is not really worth a visit or a long journey to see it.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jenika I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fechin H, Manager at Loughcrew Megalithic Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2016

Hi Jenika

We appreciate your review and will keep in mind your suggestion about making the price list even more visible. At the moment we have a full price list in our menu for all items including baked potatoes, paninis, cakes and the range of Bewley's coffee we offer. The cottage is from the 1700's and contains furniture from when it was lasted lived in (1966). The history of the cottage is explained in the media presentation in one of the bedrooms. Hope you get time to enjoy the film next time. Your right about the Megalithic Tombs, they are the highlight of the tour and are certainly worth travelling a long way to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

It is a place full of history, nature and nice people.
It is a nice, quiet place on the hill. I spend a time in the hostel and it was great.
And you need only about 15 min on the top of the hill and there you have a amazing view around.
The cafe is right next to the hostel and there you can stop for a breakfast, lunch or a piece of cake ( very delicious cake ;).
And you can also make a short time warp and see how they lived in the old cottage.

Date of visit: November 2015
1  Thank jule231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fechin H, Manager at Loughcrew Megalithic Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

Thanks Julie. It was great having you staying with us. Come back and visit some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Looking at the leaflet for this attraction was very misleading. I thought we were going to a recreated megalithic settlement, instead there were two or threee new looking thatched cottages which seemed to be a cafe and a mock up of what one would have looked like in the 1920s. It is not on the way to anywhere so it was a wasted journey for us. There are megalithic tombs on top of a hill in the vicinity, but we didn't see them.

Date of visit: November 2015
1  Thank Dave_J_Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fechin H, Manager at Loughcrew Megalithic Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

Hi Dave

You are right that there are Megalithic Tombs on the hill beside our centre. It's a short walk up the path and follow the markers to see some fascinating Cairns and a wonderful view of Ireland. In the coffee shop you can find information and books about the site. The Heritage museum is a cottage that was built in the 1700s and features genuine artifacts from the period it was lived in. Also in the area is the monastic settlement of Fore, an adventure centre, war museum, the largest beech forest in Europe and many other sites of interest worth visiting. Hope you can return and we can help you with finding these sites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

The weather was terrible and having no rain gear we've decided to have a coffee and the cake at the cafe. The service was very friendly and the cakes super delicious :) There is an old house on site which you can go in and check out how the folks used to live in the past. Very interesting. We will come back to see the actual attraction if the weather permits :)

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank travelbonkers44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fechin H, Manager at Loughcrew Megalithic Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Glad you enjoyed the cake. Hopefully the weather will be better the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

Before we went to the tomb we stopped here. Staff were helpful and the cottage was an interesting look at life as it was back then.

Date of visit: August 2015
1  Thank akn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loughcrew Megalithic Centre also viewed

Oldcastle, County Meath
Oldcastle, County Meath
 
Oldcastle, County Meath
Carnaross, County Meath
 

Been to Loughcrew Megalithic Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.