We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hope to return to this beautiful home, we could...”
Glenboy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glenboy
Glenboy Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Glenboy
Glenboy
Sitting room
Sun room
bedroom
bedroom 3
bedroom
Kitchen
bedroom
external
Interior
bedroom
Stairs
Glenboy hallway
Glenboy entrance
Before Restoration 2005
Glenboy view
Glenboy view
Glenboy view
Glenboy Winter scene
Glenboy in winter
dawn at Glenboy
Sunset at Glenboy
Glenboy entrance
Mullaghmeen forest (5 minutes from Glenboy)
View from loughcrew hills, Meath (5 minutes from Glenboy)
Fore Abbey (10 minutes from Glenboy)
Lough Bann (Photo Steve Neale) (5 minutes from Glenboy)
Lough Sheelin (5 minutes from Glenboy)
Loughcrew Megalithic cairns - inside Cairn 'T' (5 minutes from Glenboy)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Oldcastle, County Meath

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
IrishNana...
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hope to return to this beautiful home, we could not have asked for more!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The hosts were very helpful in every way. There was nothing I would have changed about our stay in Glen Boy! We had everything we needed and more. The property is out in the country side, so peaceful! The village of Old Castle is quaint and met all our desires. The only thing our wifi network kept crashing, the hosts gave us other sites to go to when one crashed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style of the house and where it was located
Liked least: Wifi interuptions
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkeM777
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable cottage - wonderful location!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We were a party of 6 friends, and we all really enjoyed our stay at Glenboy! Very comfy beds, spacious living room and kitchen area, and a truly lovely hostess. The location was perfect - easy to get to from Dublin, and yet nicely tucked away in the Irish countryside. Highly recommend Glenboy to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campobasso, Italy
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Beds were divine!
Liked least: nothing really.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mrobbo56
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Real Irish Country luxury and hospitality”
Reviewed 12 June 2012 for a stay in April 2012
5
people found this review helpful

Glenboy County Accomodation really does offer the best of all; privacy; total country relaxation, and the nearby town of Oldcastle (walking distance), all in a glorious converted barn that has great character, but all creature comforts. If you want to experience 'real Ireland' this is the way to do it, from curious cattle at the fence eager to check you out, to Owen Trainer's Pub, where you have to walk through the small general store and through the single door to the bar behind to get a pint! But to head back to the accomodation at the end of a day exploring is to retreat to warmth and comfort that is second to none, whilst being homely. In fact, I thought the place was so comfortable I was not keen to leave it for day trips! I would have been happy to sit in front of the fire and soaked up the ambience. Hosts Karen & Pat are great and make you feel very welcome and looked after, whilst allowing the privacy one looks for on a holiday this. In a nutshell, I would recommend Clenboy to anyone who wants an authentic country Irish getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The building itself is beautiful, rustic and comfortable.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaspillo...
Cheltenham, UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage - Disabled-friendly”
Reviewed 6 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Rather than just echo the good reviews Glenboy has already received, all of which I agree with, I am writing this review from the perspective of someone who has a physical disability, so that those of you with similar mobility issues can gauge whether it's appropriate for you.

I have a mild form of Muscular Dystrophy, which means I have trouble walking around on uneven ground, standing up from a seated position, and generally any activity that requires much strength. So with this in mind, the following are a concern to me: flooring, seating, bed and bathroom. I'll cover each of these in turn.

The interior flooring is excellent, and is a mix of wood panels and tiling downstairs, except for the bedroom which is carpeted. I don't recall and rugs or mats, besides something to wipe your feet on - so nothing to trip over. There is lots of space too, and so if you are in a wheelchair, you shouldn't have any problems navigating your way around the ground floor.

There was a real mix of seating in the main room. I mainly chose to sit on table chairs as most of the others were a little too low down for me personally, although there were ample cushions that you could use to boost the height with.

The downstairs bed was comfortable, with the mattress being medium-firm I'd say. It was a good height making it easy to roll out of in the morning.

The bathroom was superb and had a raised toilet with handles either side. It has a walk-in shower with non-slip tiles, again with a sturdy handrail to offer balance if needed. There is a decent sized bath there too, but I only used the shower.

I had no need to go upstairs, and so I can't comment on what it's like up there.

If you were going to mark down the property at all in terms of accessibility, you might do it for the driveway which is a mixture of patio paving slabs and loose chippings - which I don't find that easy to traverse, but you can park pretty close to the front door or patio, and so hopefully shouldn't be a problem.

I only had a couple of minor niggles with the cottage overall, and neither were from a disabled perspective.

The first is regarding the Wifi, which is practically non-existent. If you were lucky, you might get a weak signal in the lounge to the left of the chimney, if you had the window open and were stood on one leg... but that was it. In my group there were 4 people with laptops and I think virtually everyone had a smart phone, and we all had trouble. It's possible the router (which is housed next door) just needed rebooting, but I suspect it needs better placement.

My second niggle concerned the TV. It was an old CRT-style TV, and was quite small. I had taken a portable HDD with me, but of course neither the TV or DVD player has a USB port.

That said, none of us went to Glenboy to watch TV or to surf the web, and we were blessed with superb weather all week! I suspect had the weather be lousy, the lack of a decent TV or Wifi would have been a bigger issue. However, if those things aren't important to you, then consider my overall rating as Excellent, as opposed to Very Good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bathroom
Liked least: The Wifi
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2012
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review regarding access, it was a pleasure to host you. Glenboy routinely hosts wheelchair using and other mobility-impaired guests. A wee footnote on the wi-fi: we are glad to check any queries a guest has and so we call in on day 2 to see if there are any. Had wi-fi been mentioned, it would have taken less than a second to fix (the router ariel simply needed to be straightened up to be back to 3MB). Hope to see you at Glenboy again in the future, warm regards, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing