We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Landmark Hotel(Carrick-on-Shannon)
USD 126
USD 113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carrick Plaza Suites by theKeyCollection(Carrick-on-Shannon)(Great Value!)
USD 66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bush Hotel(Carrick-on-Shannon)
USD 113
USD 110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 113
USD 110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 163
USD 149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Percy French Hotel(Strokestown)
USD 113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,007)
Filter reviews
1,007 results
Traveller rating
502
314
114
44
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
314
114
44
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrewedding receptionsuperior roomlovely hotelbar foodlast weekendstayed here for one nightfollowing morningreception areaenjoyable staycooked breakfastfrom start to finishlovely roomboth nightsgalwayreceptionistireland
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 1,007 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed for three nights after Christmas. We used the Westwood as a base to drive around Connemara and Clare. The hotel ticked all boxes. It was clean, comfortable and staff were friendly. The breakfast was the typical buffet and a choice of hot food. The only gripe I have is that they have grilled fillet or smoked fish on the menu. I ordered this and got a large piece of warmed through smoked salmon. Maybe it's personal taste but I thought it was a bad choice to serve this as part of an otherwise decent breakfast. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody wanting to sample Galway city and tour the surrounding countryside by car.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Daithi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

My wife and I stayed here just before Xmas, to go watch a rugby match. Got a B&B deal on Groupon, or similar, so it wasn't a massive price. Set a bit out of Galway city, on a large site with good free car parking. Booked-in easily in the impressive reception area and got our room- 133. 1st issue The hotel seemed nearly empty yet they still gave us a room over a bank of air-con fan units that started up about an hour after we arrived. No chance of a good nights sleep there and our pet hate! Went and spoke to the helpful receptionist who duly moved us to room 119- slightly larger and to the front of the hotel.
The style of the whole place seems like faded Victorian in the decor and way the rooms are laid out. Massive king-size bed and all the usual bits and pieces, inc free bottled water, which was nice. All nice and clean although in need of a bit of TLC, which is unlikely to be forthcoming in the circumstances. The old Victorian styling is carried on throughout the building, including the warm and friendly bar area.
Somebody said the hotel is only less than 20 years old but I found that hard to believe, given the trouble that had been gone to to obtain the style around the place.
The breakfast in the morning was a mixture of buffet and a served cooked breakfast. All very nice and no complaints again.

Now the bad news. This grand hotel is scheduled to close in 2018, either in September or December, depending on who you are talking to. Apparently to make way for student accommodation for nearby Galway University! Seems such a shame to me but that`s progress for you, I suppose.
I`m just glad we had time to sample this nice place before it finally closes its doors.

NB- one small thing that annoyed me was the price of the taxi fares to and from the city centre. Not sure if they were taking the hand out of a couple of tourists, but €8 into town and €9 out again seemed slightly excessive, given its only around a couple of miles. Or maybe i`m just out of touch with what taxis cost now.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the air con units!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PartimeHolidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

The decor was lovely, the set up was grand. The room was very clean when we arrived, the food in the bar was quite lovely, and the servers in the hotel's pub were absolutely lovely people. One in particular was a young man named Lee from New Zealand. My partner also ordered food from hotel service and although it was hard to understand the foreign man on the phone, he was incredibly kind and patient, and brought up our tray in a timely manner.

It was a quick walk to get to downtown Galway, and we didn't mind as the weather was nice and there was a MacDonalds on the way. When I'm back in Galway, I will be staying at the Westwood again, no questions of! Thank you for a lovely experience!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank istp9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here while in Galway for one night. The room was very spacious but still cosy with the electric fireplace a great addition to have on a wet and windy December evening. The reception and other staff on duty were very helpful and professional. Breakfast was cooked and presented very well. We'd definitely stay again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with my sisters & mum. We had a fabulous stay. Staff were very friendly, special mention to Patrick who served us in the bar, excellent service & the bar food was amazing (huge portions!) The room was comfortable & clean. Hotel had a lovely friendly & cosy feel to it. Would definitely stay here again & would recommend it to anyone staying in Galway.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Healys000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews