We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very cool property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed 1 night (March 10th). I viewed the website on-line and read a couple reviews. Needed a pet-friendly place and Fireside Lodge fit the bill. Based on website photos, I mistakenly thought these were all small cabins but in fact, are adjoining rooms in a small motel.

But....this is a first rate property with every detail and amenity thought through. Kudos to owners Christine and Dave for creating a remarkable, pet friendly B&B. Without giving too much away, I will simply say to those who are considering Fireside Lodge, if you want an outstanding and charming B&B experience, this is the place. I could see the value in spending a 3-4 night ski trip.

Regrets- missing the nightly s'mores by the firepit
Suggestions: consider pillow-top bed covers and feather pillows

Thanks to Fireside for a great stay!

Hugo & Katrina

Room Tip: Can't miss. Decorated in vintage Lake Tahoe motif.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
97
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We love the Fireside Lodge. We stayed there in 2010 and again this month and probably won't stay anywhere else in the Tahoe area. The location is great for a toddler to get out and play in the snow. The owners are hands-on and have lots of little touches which make the place special. It truly feels like you are their guest, not their customer.

Our trips have been an opportunity to get our toddler some time to play in the snow while letting mommy have a "stay-cation" at home. The lodge is great for letting my daughter run wild in the snow. The forest is literally steps from the rooms, so we can be actively involved in play almost instantly and can be back to a warm, dry room within a few minutes. I can't imagine a better setup.

I also love the fact that while the forest is immediately available, stores and shops are a short drive away. Whatever you discover you left at home is a few minutes away.

A few specifics comments:
Each room is unique. You should definitely talk to them about your room selection if you have any particular desires.

I found the Moose room to feel a little cramped for the three of us; the chairs were so large it made it difficult to get around the room. That said, it was nice enough that I'd stay in the same room again.

The Galaga and Ms. Pacman machines get turned off each night, so your record-setting high score will disappear by morning. The skeeball prizes take a lot of tickets, so don't expect to cash them in on anything.

Consider taking advantage of the complimentary breakfast, happy hour snacks, and fireside s'mores. We've met some nice people while saving a few dollars by not eating out.

Biggest complaint: the wifi connection was slow and intermittent. (AT&T data service was good, though.) Of course, if you're vacationing in Tahoe, why are you on the internet?

It's not a 5-star resort or a ski-in lodge, but it is a safe, comfortable place to stay with enough flexibility to accommodate the varied needs of familes, couples, and other travellers.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, so make sure you discuss any particular needs or wants prior to booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Pher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pescadero
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

The Fireside Lodge is the most relaxing B&B I have ever stayed at. We stayed in the mariner room. When I walked in I felt an overwhelming feeling of peace and relaxation that I have never felt before. Very positive experience and friendly owners. A+ rating!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

The Fireside Lodge is our favorite place to stay in Lake Tahoe at any time of the year. David and Christine provide exceptional hospitality and a welcoming atmosphere. We really enjoy being escorted to our room by the friendly dog Kona. Fireside Lodge is the perfect combination of vintage log cabin decor and modern facilities all at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkbuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

What a fabulous hotel in South Tahoe. This was our first trip to Tahoe, and with all the small motels in the area, I was happy to be staying at the Fireside Lodge, as it exceeded my expectations of a motel, but also outshines all the other trucker-looking motels in the area. Stayed with my boyfriend for four nights and upgraded to the larger Moose Lodge, which we were glad we did, it was spacious, cozy, and well decorated. Upon arriving, you feel like you are visiting old friends, as there are many unexpected add-ons the add to your stay that make everything about this lodge worthwhile. After full days on the slopes it was great to come home to this lodge, pet the live-in dog, have wine and cheese and chat with fellow guests, or utilize the dvd library and cozy up in your own room.
I loved that the fireplace was the heat source of the entire room, the waffle bar in the morning, and chocolate covered strawberries at night. I can't wait to go back again- Kathy, Christine, and Dave have thought of everything to make your stay in South Lake Tahoe magnificent.

Room Tip: Upgraded to Moose Lodge, peaked in Bears Den as well- both would be worth the upgrade if there fore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
5.5 km away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
6.3 km away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
7.8 km away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
7.9 km away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 515 Emerald Bay Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6505
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Lake Tahoe
Price range (per night): $154 - $460
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe's only all-inclusive premier bed and breakfast lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fireside Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Fireside Lodge b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing