We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,417)
Filter reviews
1,417 results
Traveller rating
688
386
197
94
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
688
386
197
94
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden base camp live music fire pit granola hot tub cool place fun hotel bunk beds adirondack chairs corn hole ping pong boutique hotel continental breakfast heavenly village across the street heavenly gondola
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 1,417 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Basecamp was WONDERUL. It was so nice to relax in the beer garden in the evening. Our room was perfect- a bunk bed in another room for the kids and a king bed for the adults. The decoration was adorable. Free s’mores were delightful. We’ll be back!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kateanne2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J, General Manager at Basecamp South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay here at Basecamp! I am so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed a wonderful family getaway to Tahoe. Thanks again for your kind words. I hope your travels bring you back this way soon!

- “so glad your kids enjoyed the bunk beds and camp feel of the property”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

It was a great experience and was very homey it was a good size room and had enough beds for 6 to sleep. There was free parking and amazing views of the ski slope, it was near everything and had a heated pool and a hot tub. There was breakfast included and s’mores at a small fee to have by the fire pits above reception.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 378karlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J, General Manager at Basecamp South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay here at Basecamp! I am so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed our close location to Heavenly as well as the hot tubs on property. Thanks again for your kind words. I hope your travels bring you back this way soon!

- “so glad you had a chance to enjoy s'mores by the fire pit during your stay”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Awesome spot to get a group together. You are truly in the heart of it all. Steps from the gondola. The on-site brewery is an added bonus. Plenty of room types for all group sizes. The hot tub was a perfect to get our apres started.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J, General Manager at Basecamp South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay here at Basecamp! I am so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed our awesome spot in Tahoe to hang out with your group. Thanks again for your kind words. I hope your travels bring you back this way soon!

- “so glad our convenient location close to Heavenly and our on-site brewery "Outpost" added to your stay”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

While the property has had a charming lobby makeover, it feels like a run down motel. With no elevators, prepare to walk up to three flights of dirty cement stairs from the parking garage to your room, with a roof leaking on you and saturating the carpet outside your front door. This is the same staircase you will take to walk over an icy path to and from the hot tub. The lobby is charming, however at 9pm there was only caffeinated tea stocked and an empty hot water container, empty popcorn machine, and staff was too occupied on their phone to assist. Staff was also non responsive to a request for extra towels. The café in the back sells supplies to make 2 s'mores for $5, which is a cute idea, however prepare for the supplies to be stale and roasted over a fake fire. And last, be aware there is no mini fridge or coffee in the rooms. Camping indeed. Not worth the price, you are better off having a beer here and staying someplace else.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J, General Manager at Basecamp South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your recent stay at Basecamp. We always value feedback that can help us improve our operations. I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. While it is always our goal to create raving fans of Basecamp by providing amazing guest service in a great location, we missed the mark with your stay.

We are looking to renovate some areas of the hotel such as you mentioned and they will done this Spring once the snow melts. I have taken your comments regarding the staff being on their phone and shared that with all the staff as a training situation . We are also looking to add on fridges and more amenities to the rooms in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Our heater did not work . We froze all night. Staff was great We loved the beer garden. Breakfast was not all that. not much variety. good location. close to everything. favorite part was the fire pits in the beer garden at night.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lillylaylalugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J, General Manager at Basecamp South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that the heater was not working correctly during your stay. We are gald that you had an opportunity to enjoy the fire pits and beer garden during your stay at Basecamp. We always appreciate feedback from guests, and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews