We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious and clean!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tahoe Beach and Ski Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tahoe Beach and Ski Club
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Tracy, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spacious and clean!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We just got back from our Tahoe ski trip and had the pleasure of staying at Tahoe beach and ski club. At first, I was a bit weary based on the reviews. However, after staying for two nights, we were pleasantly surprised and would not hesitate to return. The staff was very friendly during check-in and check-out. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. The room didn't seem old at all (as based on other reviews) and as a matter of fact, we were wondering if they did some renovations. It was nice to have the space to spread out in. We were traveling with our two little boys and appreciated the extra space. The partial kitchen was great as we were able to bring our own food and eat breakfast before heading out to the ski slopes. The hotel is right on the beach. While we didn't use it this time around, we were able to walk out and take in the nice scenery. great beach location.

There is an old smell as you walk into the hallways. Not sure what that is but the rooms did not smell at all. That was the only con we could see. Rooms were great, staff was friendly and location awesome. Especially if you have little kids. Great beach and nice little playground.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SkiMom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    96
    24
    21
    8
See reviews for
139
146
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

We have stayed at TB&S at least 3-4 times. Most recent was in summer 2011.
Great location: right on lake w/beach, near restaurants, Heavenly tram, and short drive to most any other activities, shows, casinos, restaurants, or shopping. Car is required.
Things we like about the resort: Spacious Rooms (we usually stay in 1 Bdrm Deluxe) with two bathrooms, very clean & well kept, staff courteous & helpful, Private Beach (lounge chairs under pine tress on beach are great), Courtyards between bldgs (grassy, open), Quiet, Free Parking, Free Internet, Plenty of Luggage Carts.
Things that one should be aware: Although large fans are furnished units do not have A/C (on hot days I can see this could be uncomfortable, but nights usually cool nicely), Furnishings are nice but consider this resort is older, but very well kept & clean. Comfortable but not a plush 5 Star type (perhaps this is why we find it so relaxing). Rooms with balcony's adjacent to Tahoe Blvd should be avoided due to noise with opem windows.
Favorite Restaurants: Artemis for great Greek/Mediteranean food, Goodfellas for Pizza, Red Hut for Bkfst/Lunch, Margaritas for local family owned Mexican Food, weekend dinner buffets at Mont Blu or Harrah's (at Harrah's call ahead for table reservation at window for great lakeviews), steakhouse at Mont Blu for higher quality meal-atmosphere-service.

Room Tip: Units with balcony facing Tahoe Blvd can be noisy (avoid these and units at end of bldg near gas sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimBob_and_Wanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

First, the positives:
1. On a beautiful stretch of beach (too bad there's snow on the ground)
2. Walking distance to shops and eateries
3. Nice front desk personnel
4. It's in Tahoe and we absolutely love Tahoe.

Negatives:
1. Powerful smell of moldy carpets in the halls--hits you as you open the entry door to the building.
2. An even more powerful stench of stale cigarettes hits you when you open the door to the unit itself. And, this is a a non-smoking room!
3. Desperately needs updating. The place (can't call it a resort) must be aware of this because it looks like they have just given up on it too. For example, where the wood is rotted (bathroom cabinets, kitchen cabinets, wood trim around shower, etc), they have just tried to control it with a clear coat of wood seal (cabinets) or a clear silicone caulking (around showers). So you can see all the wood rot still there. Pretty gross. And where the trim had to be replaced, they have used random pieces of wood that do not even match. Basically, there are reminders everywhere they don't think it's worth fixing properly and that their only objective is to just hold it together somehow.
4. Ant infestation. We tried to control it by washing them away with water and keeping all food containers tightly closed. Judging by the type of place this appears to be, I wouldn't be surprised if their response to a complaint would be spraying down the unit with RAID. We have two little kids here and we can't take that chance.
5. The kitchenette is smaller than the smallest powder rooms I have ever seen. Maybe 5ft by 4ft at most. The refrigerator is a hotel-mini bar size. The open freezer compartment froze everything on the top shelf of the refrigerator--(yogurt, cheese, eggs).
6. There is no cook top in the unit, which is not the fault of this place since they do state "partial kitchen". We're peeved at our exchange company for misrepresenting the unit. But, the no cooktop is a warning for those who assume a cooktop is a basic standard for a timeshare unit. You can check out a hot plate and a pot at the front desk. (What? Strange). Unfortunately, you'd be cooking at the breakfast table since there is absolutely no space in the kitchen for such a contraption--and no ventilation.
7. The upholstered furniture is very old and the cushions are mangled looking. Can only imagine how dirty this is. Tried to do the best I could to cover it up with extra bedding (assuming at least the sheets get washed every now and then).
8. The mattress on the sofa pull out bed is so old that you can't get it to flatten out (curves up like a U). Didn't have the heart to make our 5 and 3 year old boys sleep there last night so we let them sleep with us--we'll worry about the consequences when we get back home. For now, I don't want them anywhere near that dangerous contraption--metal parts everywhere, too small/old mattress to cover it up.
9. The game room--again, powerful ashtray and mold smells, super old everything, couch too disgusting to even think about letting the kids sit down. Had to find things to distract the 3 year old from wanting to stay and play with the old toys. The 5 year old actually noticed the place was dirty and didn't mind getting out of there and never mentioned going there again.

Why aren't we getting out of this hellhole? We're here right now, and the first thing we're going to do today is contact the timeshare exchange company that put us here and have them find us something else. But, given this is thanksgiving week, I have a feeling they are going to tell us the entire town is booked up. Very disappointed already. We're going to put on happy faces for the kids though. Would hate to ruin Tahoe for them.

Room Tip: I think building 5 (closest to the water) might have been updated. But, that's also the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WAFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

The resort is older, but very clean. Very close to all kinds of good eating and right on the beach. We walked on the beach in the morning, my husband and I were alone on this trip, but next time we will bring the kids.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn,CA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Great location, super beach, heated pool w/spa next to beach, clean workout room w/good equipment, free wi-fi and free computer terminal available, sauna room, rec-game room, 1-mile to casinos, free bbq's to use on beach, within easy walking distance to McDonalds, KFC, Chevys and other restaurants, upgradable units with 1 and 2 bedrooms(which have micowaves & refrigerators), next to Tahoe Queen paddle boat, and many more pluses most other hotels/motels do not offer.

Room Tip: The deluxe 1 bedroom units have a drop dead view of the lake. They also have discount tickets for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garyd210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.7 km away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.4 km away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
1.6 km away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.8 km away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Beach and Ski Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Beach and Ski Club

Property: Tahoe Beach and Ski Club
Address: 3601 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8946
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price range (per night): $115 - $352
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tahoe Beach and Ski Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Tahoe Beach and Ski Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Beach And Ski Club Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Tahoe Beach And Ski Hotel
Lake Tahoe Beach Ski Club
Tahoe Beach And Ski Resort
Tahoe Beach Ski Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing