We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizzas and lovely people”

Trulli Woodfire Pizzeria
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Meeniyan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 11 - USD 17
Cuisines: Deli, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Our menu is based on family recipes and cooking methods passed down for generations. From our woodfire pizzas to our char-grilled meats and desserts, everything is made by hand and in house. Start your meal with a Rosa dei Venti, stuffed with basil & sun-dried tomato, topped with San Daniele prosciutto and fior di latte...for main, perhaps the bombette; speck wrapped pork, stuffed with caciocavallo, garlic and parsley, skewered and char-grilled...and finish with a classic Tiramisu or Italian doughnut. Don't forget your amaro! Bliss!
Reviewed 30 June 2013

On the third leg of our British Lions 2013 Tour and stopping in Meeniyan after a great day on Phillips Island. The owner of the Meeniyan Motel (good value accomomdation) recommended the restaurant to us. Wandered in around 8 'o' clock to a very warm welcome from Rhia and team who explained they weren't licenced but you could buy tinnies from the Bottle Shop next door. The place was packed out but we were invited to grab a place by the window and imbibe a drink or two. table was available within 15 minutes.
Some very orginal pizzas on the Aussie side of the menu plus the normal Italian options, Pizzas were excellent and the staff excellent. If you are in the area you should make a beeline for the place.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LizT189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

Andy is the genuine article. He certainly takes his time with the hand crafting of each pizza but it is well worth the wait. We had the quatro formaggie and you could taste all four cheeses. Paper thin crusts - just superb. Great staff - it was raining heavily when we were there and the place was packed. Only open from 5.30 to 8.30 pm

Date of visit: March 2013
1  Thank FOSSHILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R N, Owner at Trulli Woodfire Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Hi there!

Thank you so much for your review. We do put effort into everything we make, trying to make the flavour unforgettable.

Just so you know, Francesco is our resident Italian! He is the one with the magic pizza hands, as there is no Andy working for us. And if you call in again, as we hope you will, we're open 5-9pm, Wednesday-Sunday.

Thanks again and we'll see you soon in our own Little Italy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had the pleasure of having an "all time" Italian favourite dessert...Pizza with Nutella!! It may sound strange but Italians love Nutella. The saltiness of the pizza base is complemented by the sweet hazelnut spread that melts slightly, with the heat of the oven.You must try it!! You won't be disappointed!

Francesco went out of his way to prepare this special treat.. thanks for keeping my "eat pray love" journey alive:)

Next ... orrechietti!!! Ciao Presto

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Juliedk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R N, Owner at Trulli Woodfire Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thanks to YOU for giving Francesco the opportunity to make the Pizza Nutella. He loves that one!

We've got the Nutella for your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We are so lucky to have this pizzeria in Meeniyan. We purchased takeaway pizza for the first time today. The service was efficient & friendly. We tried three different types of pizza - we were delighted with our choices. We would definitely return. Congratulations!

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R N, Owner at Trulli Woodfire Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Thank you so much for your review, Michelle!! Our smile always gets wider when we've satisfied a local, as it's always nice to see familiar faces walking through our door! New yummy-ness will be available soon, so stay tuned!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

I recommend this place highly. The pizzas Italian style were very good and the marinara had great flavour. The couple who started this a few months ago are very friendly and genuine in providing very Italian tasting food. Wish we had time for the desserts. In a region of few culinary choices, Trulli does stand out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cmac808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R N, Owner at Trulli Woodfire Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Thanks for your review and for coming to see us from Woodend! We hope next time we can tempt you with sweets. Also, we will look to improve on our weak points. We want to be an all-rounder!!
Remember, say hi to Kate if you see her...she's got an American boyfriend and heaps of tattoos... can't miss her!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trulli Woodfire Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Trulli Woodfire Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing