We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect San Blas experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom Bedroom2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Bedroom
Bedroom2
Bed
Life is...
Bathroom
Kitchen
Cockpit
Puma 34
Cozy cockpit
Living room
Your paradise!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
El Porvenir, San Blas Islands, Guna Yala Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Katrin B
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect San Blas experience ”
Reviewed 21 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed on Mariana’s & Borja’s boat for three nights and had a wonderful time! If you are looking for an unpretentious, individual San Blas adventure, this is the right address!
Firstly, the hosts are super-nice and make you feel very welcome on the boat, which they call home.
The boat is small, but pretty, clean and well organized.
They sailed us to picture perfect islets and organized everything tailor-made for our needs.
The food was tasty and every meal fresh and different. The highlight was certainly grilling lobster & pineapple on the beach!
Mariana & Borja, thank you so much again for the unforgettable days on your boat!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2018
Thank you very much, guys! It was really nice to have you on board. We had such a great, funny time with you. Hope we can see you again another time... maybe in the Mediterranean... who knows??? All the best for all the family! Lots os hugs for the parents and a huge kiss for Dante ;)
Mariana&Borja
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Writeious...
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“San Blas, No Blast!”
Reviewed 18 January 2018 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

With much regret, not even 48 hours before our arrival aboard the Dutty Free in San Blas, we were informed by Mariana that the boat engine was inoperable. Due to the high volume of bad-to-horrible reviews with different captains being incompetent and not wanting to sail, I asked for a refund. Mariana agreed, but the next day she advised me that Tripadvisor advised her that they would not process a refund, she had to give us "other" options. We were actually sitting at the airport waiting for our flight to Panama and hand no way to plan anything. With much deliberation, I agreed to be reaccommodated. Mariana assured me she would greet me on this boat. She wasn't there.

Sadly, this trip went from bad to worse, turning into something like a scene out of a movie. Our driver from Panama City to the port was supposed to stop so we could stock up on food and water. He never stopped, so we had no food or water with us. The captain, Alejandro, and his partner didn't speak English. There were dangling live wires in our state room, a damp mattress and bedding from a bad leak in the state room, a dirty bathroom, a messy galley, and a captain who didn't want to sail.

There were other safety issues, too, on the Aventura. The motor on the dinghy was broken. The anchor motor was broken and our anchor kept slipping. This was bad on the first night during a thunderstorm when we couldn't escape as another drifting boat slammed into us. We had no life jackets, either.

We paid a lot for our stay on the ship and our travel to and from San Blas. We planned our whole trip around our stay.

It was my observation that many sailboats in San Blas were in need of repair or updating to be of any good standard to host paying guests. The local sailors are friendly and a tight community, but paying to sail is risky, I think.

Not only because of low standards, but most of the time, it seems, the weather is not good and you will be really lucky to get a postcard view of San Blas. The Kunas, the indigenous people, almost never smile and are not friendly, and the sand fleas abound. I really wish we had planned our trip to the Pearl Islands, instead of San Blas. The weather is usually better, I hear, as well as the accommodation.

Neither Tripadvisor, nor Mariana, wanted to take responsibility or compensate us in any way.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great unique experience!”
Reviewed 16 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for two nights and it was a really great experience!
Fishing surfing and we visited some of the most beautiful islands in San Blas.
Great experience and excellent hosts!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2018
Thank you very much, Chris! Hope to see you again, guys... it was really great have you two onboard. Lots of hugs ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaKip
1 review
“2 nachten San Blas”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We had an amazing experience on the boat of Mariana and Borja. They are very kind and do everything to make you comfort at their boat. Delicious breakfast and when you want Borja brings you to one of the many islands. I had a bit problems with sleeping in small spaces, but when you don't I highly recommend this trip. One night is to short, you definitely must do 2 when you can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2018
Thank you very much, guys... you are very kind! Hope to see you another time...maybe in Holland ;)
Best for you!
Lots of hugs,
Mariana&Borja
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YuliaG287
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a very pleasant 3day stay with Borja in San Blas. He is a organized and experienced captain, we've visited all the islands we dreamt of inspite of the limited time, even the furthest ones of San Blas!
He is a kind host too, we felt welcome guests and enjoyed conversations with him.

Unfortunately we haven't met Mariana as she was away those days but she kindly responded to our numerous questions promptly and with all details.

Thank you for the great experience!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing