We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So quiet”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Fern Cottage

Welcome to Fern Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Fern Cottage
Living Room with woodburning stove Roomy kitchen/diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Welcome to Fern Cottage
Living Room with woodburning stove
Roomy kitchen/diner
Dining area
Family bathroom upstairs
Main bedroom with kingsize bed
Twin bedroom upstairs with pine furniture
Single bedroom downstairs
Comfortable living room furniture
Main bedroom
Beams in hallway
Living Room
Courtyard garden with table and chairs
Summer evening view from front of cottage
The Bell pub, Iden
Rye, Church Square
View from Rye Parish Church
Iden Recreation Ground
Country walk
Country walk
Country walk nearby
All Saints churchyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Iden, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs Lee H
1 review
“So quiet”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Location easy to find The area was very peaceful nice walks.Cottage was cosy
Would like to go back in the summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RowenaC29...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good...could be great!”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A good property in so many ways; very comfy beds, lovely light living room, useful downstairs toilet, lovely location, post office and pub just round the corner BUT there's definitely a cleaning issue throughout, particularly in the kitchen. The back garden is not as seen on the photo. It needs a good tidy up in order to enjoy sitting in it. Also, check with the owner beforehand if you are allergic to feather pillows/duvets. We did let the owner know about these issues and "they will bring to our cleaner's attention where necessary." If the cleaning issue is genuinely acknowledged and dealt with, we would consider booking again. Only on this basis would I recommend it to a friend.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
We were genuinely surprised to receive criticism of the standard of cleaning, as we and most of our guests have found the standard of cleaning to be high. However, we have acknowledged the concerns expressed relating to certain items of cleaning and to the overall appearance of the garden.
As we renew items of soft furnishings we will address the issue relating to bedding. We hope that this will assist future guests and further improve their experience of staying at Fern Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didaoui P
1 review
“A very beautiful Cottige”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The house was awesome, our stay was great at this place.
There was all in this cottage to have a good holidays !
Thanks at Tessa and John :)

We will back a day in this cottage !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to welcome you again soon. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing